Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2006 Subaru Outback

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 344 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 67 68 69 | Next

Disappointing

By on Monday, August 20, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"My first Subaru, I heard lots of great things and seemed like a great value as I downsized from a larger SUV. I cannot recommend the dealer, but that should not reflect on the vehicle. The car is great on the highway, good around town. Fuel Economy is decent, seats are quite comfortable, NAV system is basic but works well. The Satellite radio is a disappointment, it fades out on open roads with no obstructions. A/C is terrific. Lots of rattles. I mean lots of them. I thought the speakers were blown the second day I had the car, the dealer is no help at all. Check engine light came on at 2500 miles, dealer said to disconnect a plug under the dash? Latest problem is that the car wants to stall when taking foot off brake and pressing accel at lights, etc. The dealer is useless, we're trying better gas if that does not work it's getting traded in."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great cam-ccord alternative

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent handling, OEM M+S tires are loud and short on dry grip, more torque would be nice. All interior materials that are touched regularly are high-quality lightly- textured and soft to the touch. Fit and finish is great but silver plastics on console should have a more durable finish. Great seats front and back, contrasting colours and wood applique tastefully used in a Volvo "swedish minimalism" style. Ergonomics are superb with exception to the AM/FM seek "+ -" button on the right side of the unit; the steering wheel seek button cycles the tuner and not the preset station. I'm very satisfied and will likely buy a Legacy GT next time around."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Some Problems

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Brakes wear out fast. Check engine lights do not reflect actual problem when tested with meter. Check engine lights and cruise control lights stay on with no apparent problem with the engine. Mechanics cannot identify some problems."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Loving my "new" 2005 ...

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I finally upgraded my old '98 Legacy Outback for a 2005 L.L Bean. I love this car so far! IMO, it offers the perfect blend of luxury and ruggedness. The L.L. Bean has all the bells and whistles -- heated mirrors, seats, and windshield wipers, automatic climate control, day-running lights, sportshift transmission, auto-dimming mirror with compass, embossed leather seats and a fantastic moon roof! Yet, as an Outback (and a taller version than prior years) its as rugged on the roads less travelled as one would expect from an Outback. The H6 engine definitely provides a nice power boost, but unfortunately the Outback's reclassification to a truck means Subie can get away with lower MPGs -- mine averages about 21. As it prefers premium fuel, the consumption is a bit of a disappointment. The only other performance complaint is that the transmission (in normal mode) upshifts too quickly, which can cause a bit of jerkiness in the car. That's solved by putting the transmission in sport mode, which forces shifting at higher RPMs -- and creates a much smoother upshift. Of course, higher RPMs means slightly less fuel consumption, so ... There aren't too many L.L. Beans out there -- I guess most people didn't want to pay the extra $10K over the base 2.5i -- but on the used market, I picked up all this luxury and ruggedness for a great price -- about $10K that a comparable new L.L. Bean, or the same price as a new 2.5i. For a two-year old car with 30K miles, the luxuries are worth it to me! Its a beautiful-looking and driving car -- take it camping sometime!!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best bang for the buck

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Had this care two and a half years, very comfortable, goes through deep snow like a Jeep. Fun to drive."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 67 68 69 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Outback near Honolulu. See local deals