Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2004 Subaru Outback

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 616 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 62 | Next

I love this car!

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Carries all my stuff, always sticks to the road"

Cons: "Slow to accelerate."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I'm very upset a kid on a cell phone just smashed into the back of mine, totaling it in the eyes of the insurance co. I was fine. Not a bump, scrape or ache. I'm already looking for a new one. Haven't even considered considering another vehicle."

could use a little more power

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "sturdy car, responsive handling, comfortable ride"

Cons: "could use more oomph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"very responsive and stable on the road with easy handling even when driving at high speed with a very smooth and comfortable ride but could use a little more power and a little better gas mileage. also tends to have high road and wind noise in certain situations. I bought it as a 5 year old second hand car with 21,000 miles on it and had several costly repairs over the years including having to replace a leaking head gasket at around 90,000 miles but overall though has been very reliable and predictable to own and operate. I have owned 3 Subaru cars in the past 22 years and in general was very satisfied except for 1 pre owned 30th edition year 2,000 model legacy sedan that turned out to be a serious lemon and gave me nothing but trouble the whole time until it suddenly blew an engine one day while driving it on a busy street."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing value

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "value. dependability. Safety"

Cons: "pull out cupholder is jammed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought in 2004 for $6000 put 90000 miles on it, now has 248000 miles . Only systems that ever failed were the A/C compressor and the alternator. Never a problem with any of the power systems or accessories. Amazing reliability."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good and reliable

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was kept in garage, mechanical maintenance kept up to date, no accidents, minor body issues. Most suitable for college student who needs reliable and safe and serviceable wagon. Just had new brakes done, new rubber and no mechanical problems. Have service records."

great car. Parts are hard yo find

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, safe,fun to drive"

Cons: "expensive parts and repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this car for 14 yrs. It's reliable, comfortable and practical. The only flaw I can find is that parts and service are hard to find in Puerto Rico and when you find them they are quite expensive. I would recommend this car to others."

Sturdy and reliable, drives like a race car!

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very reliable, amazing handling, sturdy body"

Cons: "Go with leather even if after-market."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driving hundreds of miles on and off road this car never failed to perform. With stick shift handling in snow, mud, gravel, and heavy rain has been a pleasure. Mechanically sound and reliable it never complains. I took good care of it and it never let me down."

Good car, just wanted to upgrade.

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Excellent in snow conditions"

Cons: "A little to low for older folks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I am just replacing with a new Subaru Outback. This was my 4th Subaru, so now my 5th."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Never Let Me Down

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great little Traveler!!"

Cons: "Not the best comfort!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used as a spare to leave at my vacation home. I have used it to drive back and forth to my home and 20 gal in my regular vehicle verses 6.5 Gal in the Subaru it has 5 speed and every hill I am in neutral going about 60 to 70 miles an hour down hill!! It may not have the best pick and go but as a very dependable fuel economic driver it has my vote!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car, she is just starting to show sign

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, handles great in winter driving"

Cons: "con is how the snow builds up on tires so quickly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"signs of aging, oil leaking , some rust around car door"

My family purchased her 3'years ago subaru love

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great solid stable car great gas mileage for a 6cy"

Cons: "None absolutely none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this 2004 Subaru llbean edition with the h6 cyl loaded and we love her we have put over 60000 miles on it ourselves. When we bought it it had around 110000 miles now 168000 and counting. Only regular maintenance needed brakes battery etc. just Mobil 1 oil changes and lots of love it has come in very handy and it's features are very luxurious. Heated wiper are mirrors and side windows. Just amazing.car drives amazing and is unstoppable in the bad weather! Period. We love it and would recomend it to anyone."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 62 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Outback near Honolulu. See local deals