Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2002 Subaru Outback

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 616 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 124 | Next

I love this car!

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Carries all my stuff, always sticks to the road"

Cons: "Slow to accelerate."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I'm very upset a kid on a cell phone just smashed into the back of mine, totaling it in the eyes of the insurance co. I was fine. Not a bump, scrape or ache. I'm already looking for a new one. Haven't even considered considering another vehicle."

could use a little more power

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "sturdy car, responsive handling, comfortable ride"

Cons: "could use more oomph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"very responsive and stable on the road with easy handling even when driving at high speed with a very smooth and comfortable ride but could use a little more power and a little better gas mileage. also tends to have high road and wind noise in certain situations. I bought it as a 5 year old second hand car with 21,000 miles on it and had several costly repairs over the years including having to replace a leaking head gasket at around 90,000 miles but overall though has been very reliable and predictable to own and operate. I have owned 3 Subaru cars in the past 22 years and in general was very satisfied except for 1 pre owned 30th edition year 2,000 model legacy sedan that turned out to be a serious lemon and gave me nothing but trouble the whole time until it suddenly blew an engine one day while driving it on a busy street."

Amazing value

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "value. dependability. Safety"

Cons: "pull out cupholder is jammed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought in 2004 for $6000 put 90000 miles on it, now has 248000 miles . Only systems that ever failed were the A/C compressor and the alternator. Never a problem with any of the power systems or accessories. Amazing reliability."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good and reliable

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was kept in garage, mechanical maintenance kept up to date, no accidents, minor body issues. Most suitable for college student who needs reliable and safe and serviceable wagon. Just had new brakes done, new rubber and no mechanical problems. Have service records."

great car. Parts are hard yo find

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, safe,fun to drive"

Cons: "expensive parts and repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this car for 14 yrs. It's reliable, comfortable and practical. The only flaw I can find is that parts and service are hard to find in Puerto Rico and when you find them they are quite expensive. I would recommend this car to others."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 124 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Outback near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details