Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2000 Subaru Outback

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 615 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

could use a little more power

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "sturdy car, responsive handling, comfortable ride"

Cons: "could use more oomph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"very responsive and stable on the road with easy handling even when driving at high speed with a very smooth and comfortable ride but could use a little more power and a little better gas mileage. also tends to have high road and wind noise in certain situations. I bought it as a 5 year old second hand car with 21,000 miles on it and had several costly repairs over the years including having to replace a leaking head gasket at around 90,000 miles but overall though has been very reliable and predictable to own and operate. I have owned 3 Subaru cars in the past 22 years and in general was very satisfied except for 1 pre owned 30th edition year 2,000 model legacy sedan that turned out to be a serious lemon and gave me nothing but trouble the whole time until it suddenly blew an engine one day while driving it on a busy street."

Amazing value

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "value. dependability. Safety"

Cons: "pull out cupholder is jammed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought in 2004 for $6000 put 90000 miles on it, now has 248000 miles . Only systems that ever failed were the A/C compressor and the alternator. Never a problem with any of the power systems or accessories. Amazing reliability."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good and reliable

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was kept in garage, mechanical maintenance kept up to date, no accidents, minor body issues. Most suitable for college student who needs reliable and safe and serviceable wagon. Just had new brakes done, new rubber and no mechanical problems. Have service records."

great car. Parts are hard yo find

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, safe,fun to drive"

Cons: "expensive parts and repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this car for 14 yrs. It's reliable, comfortable and practical. The only flaw I can find is that parts and service are hard to find in Puerto Rico and when you find them they are quite expensive. I would recommend this car to others."

Sturdy and reliable, drives like a race car!

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very reliable, amazing handling, sturdy body"

Cons: "Go with leather even if after-market."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driving hundreds of miles on and off road this car never failed to perform. With stick shift handling in snow, mud, gravel, and heavy rain has been a pleasure. Mechanically sound and reliable it never complains. I took good care of it and it never let me down."

Good car, just wanted to upgrade.

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Excellent in snow conditions"

Cons: "A little to low for older folks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I am just replacing with a new Subaru Outback. This was my 4th Subaru, so now my 5th."

Never Let Me Down

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great little Traveler!!"

Cons: "Not the best comfort!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used as a spare to leave at my vacation home. I have used it to drive back and forth to my home and 20 gal in my regular vehicle verses 6.5 Gal in the Subaru it has 5 speed and every hill I am in neutral going about 60 to 70 miles an hour down hill!! It may not have the best pick and go but as a very dependable fuel economic driver it has my vote!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car, she is just starting to show sign

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, handles great in winter driving"

Cons: "con is how the snow builds up on tires so quickly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"signs of aging, oil leaking , some rust around car door"

My family purchased her 3'years ago subaru love

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great solid stable car great gas mileage for a 6cy"

Cons: "None absolutely none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this 2004 Subaru llbean edition with the h6 cyl loaded and we love her we have put over 60000 miles on it ourselves. When we bought it it had around 110000 miles now 168000 and counting. Only regular maintenance needed brakes battery etc. just Mobil 1 oil changes and lots of love it has come in very handy and it's features are very luxurious. Heated wiper are mirrors and side windows. Just amazing.car drives amazing and is unstoppable in the bad weather! Period. We love it and would recomend it to anyone."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drives well, a workhorse -but with Deluxe features"

Cons: "I love this car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just recently got this car (~ Feb. 2014)- paid cash and have since re-packed one set wheel bearings, fixed AC leak - and brakes all around. These fixes brought the overall price up to approx. retail value around Boston - around $8k. 19 mpg combined, leather, moon roof - excuse me: Dual Moon Roof package. And still well under 75k miles. Other important info: My 1st Subaru, following long term (since new) of 2005 Chev. Cobalt LS, with 150K miles - complete with death-trap ignition accessory. Any Questions?"

I'd keep this car for the rest of my life!

By on Monday, June 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "In snow, it is the best!"

Cons: "I can't think of any!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this car with very little need for repairs, however, it does have 184,000 highway miles on it, and I have put some money into it recently. It has new seals and head gasket, new brakes, new tires, and the engine doesn't leak oil. I've had new timing belt put in January, not that it was needed, but just that it was easier while working on the head gasket & seals. I've also had serpentine and power steering belts replaced when they looked worn. My only accident in this car was when I was rear ended at about 15 mph while stopped at a light. There was no real visible damage, but they replaced the rear bumper. This has been the best car I've ever had. The visibility is the best, the comfort is wonderful, and I would keep it forever, but I feel I need a newer car. I have had it gone over throughly by a very reputable shop, and the only thing they said needed attention sometime in the future is the rack & pinion, but that there was no hurry on that. In the snow, friends would call me for a ride when their own cars wouldn't be able to navigate the snow and ice. I've stopped in the middle of a Seattle hill, and been able to put it in gear and continue up the steep hill. What a great car!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

No the best but fear enough.

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very decent car for the money back when I first bought it. I still own it and it runs like a rock. Just a typical wear and tear maintenance. Never trouble on winter time so far."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Head Gasket leaked at 105,000 miles.

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great in winter"

Cons: "older models head gasket issue"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I bought this car in 2010 for 5000.00 with 102,000. At 105,000 miles the head gasket started to leak $30.00 per gallon antifreeze antifreeze. $2200.00 later head gasket was replaced. Worst factory sound system I ever heard. Window whistles. I will say my wife loves it and we both agree it is a fun car to drive."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Safe, durable and like a tank through snow.

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A safecar."

Cons: "Hard to get in and out of if you are elderly."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Whenever the weather has been bad or conditions are dangerous, we always say,"Take the Subaru."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good driving / handling car

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 301,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Was very reliable."

Cons: "Head Gasket issues, CatConverter/O2 sensors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought this Outback used with 260k on it for $2500. Reportedly had a new motor put in at 220k!? Had a perpetual oil leak but ran like a champ and with a 5-speed, was just fun to drive. Had typical rust spots at rear wheel wells. Replaced a muffler and driveshaft at 290k. Has had CEL issues due to catalytic converter and O2 sensor codes, but inspectors helped me through it. Just recently went to severe overheating issues (mechanics say likely Head Gasket) so forced to junk it as it also needs tires and brakes. Definitely looking for another 5-speed Outback."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Well cared for 2001 Subaru Outback LL Bean Edition

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "condition, care, new tires, recently serviced"

Cons: "some rust starting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Get a great car for a good value. Our 2001 Outback is in great shape in spite of the mileage. It has been garaged for it's life with us and has many great features that are standard with the LL Bean edition."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Subaru on and off road

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable powerful versatile great for traveling"

Cons: "A little more head room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I go to Lake Tahoe, to the desert, off road, in snow, over creeks, and down wash board roads. San Diego to Sedona Arizona. I have had my Subaru since she was new and now is 11 years old, and she runs with great power. I did pay a pretty price for her luxuries since she is an LL Bean edition. Leather interior still looks phenomenol. I take her camping and to the ocean. I have slept in her when I forgot my tent, I am 5 ft 3 inches and it works for me. I will say that my boyfriend is amazed that I can put down the seats and he can haul timber and packages from Home Depot."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

i keep buying them

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "sticks to road like glue, fun to drive, dependable"

Cons: "grocery bag clips in break easily (at least for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"4th one, just keeps getting better!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

good fuel mileage

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only repairs battery&alternator switch quit aded pushbutton"

Subaru is awesome!

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is my 4th Subaru. I love the dependability and performance of Subaru...period. This car handles well in all kinds of weather and road conditions. I would recommend it to anyone. Currently I am searching for my next new Subaru. Time to pass this one on to someone looking for a value. Yes, I have put a lot of miles on this car, but my first Subaru (1984) had nearly 400,000 miles on it before I could part with it in 2003. I didn't want to let it go even then. Every Subaru since, has met with the same dependable performance as my first. I have matured somewhat since my first Subaru, I am not nearly as hard on them as I was with that first one. That, in a nutshell, is why I love Subaru...They are not the deposable car that I see so often. They are reliable. The only negative are the cv joints. Not a big deal, but seems that they need to be replaced more often than most cars. May be that I just push my Subaru to its limits. And they have met with my demands."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Ever Owned

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car used and have had it for 7 years. I love it. Drives great in the snow, perfect size for transporting dogs, my trike, plants, furniture. Handles well- drives like a car, not a truck."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Green with gold siding

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Its a Subaru great safe car reliable"

Cons: "Sunroofs fixed and interior cleaned up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Mechanical wise this car is in great shape have all receipts just put in new clutch and had alot of other work done. The interior is leather but needs to be cleaned up. Along with the rest of the interior. A great driving safe car. Just needs some clean up on the inside and a new grill which is easy to find. I just don't have the time."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,516

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this has been one of the best cars I've owned. It has been very reliable and I haven't had any problems with it and it gets great gas mileage."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

one of the best cars i have ever owned

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"awd heated seats power everything"

Have had to replace engine 2 times

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,800

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I really like the Subaru, except that at 76,000 miles I had to put a new engine in it - was never told why; then, recently, after only an additional 58,500 miles on new engine, I was told there are metal shavings in the oil pan and that the engine needs to be replaced again. I bought the Subaru new and have maintained it according to the maintenance schedule in the book. I don't understand why the engine would fail 2 times. I am going to either sell it or just drive it until it dies. I would never buy another Subaru."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Outback near Honolulu. See local deals