Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2003 Subaru Legacy

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 121 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

I loved this car, is hard letting it go.

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very dependable. Only issue may be when it is snowing heavily, and sticky, there isn't a lot of clearance . The snow sticks under the wheel well."

Worst car I've owned

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Pretty color. Good on the highway."

Cons: "Poor fuel economy (23-25 mpg), lots of servicing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This vehicle spends more money in the shop than on gas. It needs a new part every month. It's like a delicate flower that must be handled just right. I wish I never looked at it at the dealer."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Well built, drives great

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "build quality, drivability, HVAC, grip, AWD"

Cons: "33xxx lbs and only 165hp"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car off of a person whom thought it needed a new motor due to the ticking noise. Turns out that it is the notorious piston slap. I brought the car up to snuff and have been driving it ever since with no issue. Gas milage is 23-24 mixed and the power is OK for this size car. Visibility is great and the driving position is good overall. If your car has excessive wind noise there are 2 things that may need to be done. 1. if it is coming from the MIRROR area, replace the gusset that the windows slides into. This will run you about $40 and you will have to remove the inner door panel and mirror to replace it. you can verify this by placing your hand on the rubber and pressing it to the glass, if the noise stops, replace gusset 2. If the wind noise is going from other areas around the glass, lower the window all the way and then slowly bend the window gusset towars the inside of the car (pull it in) while bracing the door with your body. For those of you with a constant engine rattle that sounds like a rod bearing. Remove timing cover and inspect your timing belt tensioner and idlers, replace anything that is leaking or making noise. they typically start going out around 60K miles (mine was leaking at 63K miles) Overall impressions? very reliable, well built, easy to drive car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my car

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lasts forever, fun to drive, lots of room"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Subaru. I have never been brand loyal...till now. I can't see ever buying any other car. My only wish is they would design and build a hybrid."

Everything you really need a car to be.

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, holds value, practical, awd, versatile"

Cons: "gas mileage, definitely not a race car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Every Subaru I have owned has been a great car. They seem to last forever if you take care of them. I sold my last one with a measly 175,000 miles (which as far as I'm concerned means it is just broken in). My current legacy wagon has around 200,000 miles with no issues and only has needed regular service and maintenance, and my first one had 276,000 and still ran strong when I sold it (although it no longer passed inspection. If it had I wouldn't have sold it). These wagons aren't the fastest, most powerful, or even the "coolest", but they are everything you need a car to be. They do their job and they do it well. If you drive a Subaru, it's only a matter of time until you fall in love with it. The older it gets, and the longer you have it, the more you love it, and the more the thought of any other car in the garage seems ludicrous. We take it on camping trips, to home depot and treat it like a truck, pile it with kids and coolers and strollers and cargo, we even tow our small boat with it. It seems like part of the family. Heck, she even has a name! Overall, I'd say it's a great value, extremely practical, and there's not much on the market that can compare. I'd buy one again, and I'm sure I will (in about 200,000 more miles)"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Legacy near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details