Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2000 Subaru Legacy

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 120 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Worst car I've owned

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Pretty color. Good on the highway."

Cons: "Poor fuel economy (23-25 mpg), lots of servicing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This vehicle spends more money in the shop than on gas. It needs a new part every month. It's like a delicate flower that must be handled just right. I wish I never looked at it at the dealer."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Well built, drives great

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "build quality, drivability, HVAC, grip, AWD"

Cons: "33xxx lbs and only 165hp"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car off of a person whom thought it needed a new motor due to the ticking noise. Turns out that it is the notorious piston slap. I brought the car up to snuff and have been driving it ever since with no issue. Gas milage is 23-24 mixed and the power is OK for this size car. Visibility is great and the driving position is good overall. If your car has excessive wind noise there are 2 things that may need to be done. 1. if it is coming from the MIRROR area, replace the gusset that the windows slides into. This will run you about $40 and you will have to remove the inner door panel and mirror to replace it. you can verify this by placing your hand on the rubber and pressing it to the glass, if the noise stops, replace gusset 2. If the wind noise is going from other areas around the glass, lower the window all the way and then slowly bend the window gusset towars the inside of the car (pull it in) while bracing the door with your body. For those of you with a constant engine rattle that sounds like a rod bearing. Remove timing cover and inspect your timing belt tensioner and idlers, replace anything that is leaking or making noise. they typically start going out around 60K miles (mine was leaking at 63K miles) Overall impressions? very reliable, well built, easy to drive car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my car

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lasts forever, fun to drive, lots of room"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Subaru. I have never been brand loyal...till now. I can't see ever buying any other car. My only wish is they would design and build a hybrid."

Everything you really need a car to be.

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, holds value, practical, awd, versatile"

Cons: "gas mileage, definitely not a race car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Every Subaru I have owned has been a great car. They seem to last forever if you take care of them. I sold my last one with a measly 175,000 miles (which as far as I'm concerned means it is just broken in). My current legacy wagon has around 200,000 miles with no issues and only has needed regular service and maintenance, and my first one had 276,000 and still ran strong when I sold it (although it no longer passed inspection. If it had I wouldn't have sold it). These wagons aren't the fastest, most powerful, or even the "coolest", but they are everything you need a car to be. They do their job and they do it well. If you drive a Subaru, it's only a matter of time until you fall in love with it. The older it gets, and the longer you have it, the more you love it, and the more the thought of any other car in the garage seems ludicrous. We take it on camping trips, to home depot and treat it like a truck, pile it with kids and coolers and strollers and cargo, we even tow our small boat with it. It seems like part of the family. Heck, she even has a name! Overall, I'd say it's a great value, extremely practical, and there's not much on the market that can compare. I'd buy one again, and I'm sure I will (in about 200,000 more miles)"

4th Subaru - That should say a lot

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4WD, tight handling, good value"

Cons: "A little more maintenance than average"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is our fourth Subie. Others were: 98 Outback, 00 Legacy Wagon. Currently have this and an 06 Outback. I don't usually write reviews, I just leech off of others, however, Subaru deserves a few minutes of my time. These cars are well made. Feels/rides like a much heavier car. NOTHING can touch it in the rain/ice/snow, a foot of snow and it's like driving on dry pavement(almost). I was a car mechanic for many years. They do require a bit more maintenance than say, Honda, but I think it's worth it. The engine just went in the 06 Outback, timing belt failure, 157,000 miles. I trusted the previous owner that it had been changed. It has been changed now, along with the engine($3400). But that's how much I like and trust these cars. I put a new engine in an eight year old car(it's mint). So now I expect at least 300,000 miles out of it. Never had any major issues like that before in any of our Subies. The reason I put the engine story in is that these cars, underneath, haven't really changed since... a long time. Same 2.5 engine, same transmission. BTW, Subie automatics are more reliable than their sticks. Weird. Strong, safe, hold their value and the road. I can't see driving anything else."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Weak car overall

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good in snow, nice feel on the road"

Cons: "disappointing gas mileage, way too many problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I like the way this car drives, but that's about all. The AC quit at 7 years old and would cost $1500 to fix. The radio stopped being reliable at 5 years - now and then it works, but not always from the same speaker. It's on its third clutch (I've owned 14 standard transmission cars with no clutch replacements and with more miles on the car). It developed a head gasket antifreeze leak at about 90,000 mi. The catalytic converter needed replacement at about 50,000 mi. I got the car new and have maintained it regularly, but that hasn't helped."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car, good gas miliage, easy to maintain

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Easy to maintain"

Cons: "rust in rear door frames, wind noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very nice car."

NICE, PRACTICAL CAR

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good handling, reliable, pratical"

Cons: "Wind noise, transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I think this car is quite good. Handling is surprisingly good, Power is adequate. Ergonomics are better than average. The four speed automatic has large gaps between gears and seems to shift at unexpected times under kick-down conditions or when manually controlling downshifts. Wind noise from A pillar/mirror area is atrocious."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great dependable car

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Dependable, strong"

Cons: "Tight interior for 5 people, gas mileage is so-so"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought mine used and have had it a few years. The one thing they tend to get is a tap in the engine when they are warming up. Mine had the tap when I bought it and have driven it steady for 3 years without a problem, it goes away after the car warms up. The body is very rust resistant and mine has requires very little to no maintenance. Gas mileage is not so great even for a 4 cylinder it averages between 20 and 23 MPG. Interior is comfortable but 3 people in the back seat is tight. so if you have 3 kids look for something bigger."

All the production budget went to the drive train

By on Sunday, November 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Engine, AWD, affordability, reliability"

Cons: "Frameless windows, upholstry, stereo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a great little car but if you are going to produce a mid-sized sedan with all wheel drive in this price range it means a few tradeoffs. Namely most of the production budget went into the engine and drive train. So let's start with that drive train. It is excellent. 142,000 miles on mine and it still starts and runs like a top, shifts flawlessly and the AWD is astoundingly good. Rain and snow is never a problem, even for an inexperienced driver like my daughter, who drives the car the most. Feel secure buying this car if safety, reliability and a little fun are important to you. So where are the tradeoffs? Interior and structural design mostly. Now mine is a pretty basic L sedan so that is part of it, but things like frameless door windows, seats that are mediocre and a sound system that leaves a lot to be desired might turn some people off. The frameless door windows are the most surprising. Having no frame around the door window is something one does not expect from a mid-priced mid-sized sedan. And at about 60 mph you do get some wind noise which is obviously about the frameless windows. Not a ton, but enough to notice. The upholstery is pretty cheap feeling, kinda like a Honda Civic. The stereo is passable but nothing special. Now, having said that, I'm surprised at how tight everything on the inside still is. Knobs, buttons, hinges, lights, windows etc all feel tight and new. So if things like sumptuous seats, kicking stereo and bells and whistles are what you are looking for, look elsewhere. But is you are looking for a fantastic A-B car that will always start, always get you there and look good doing it, buy this car with no reservations."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

GREAT for winter. Fun/Sporty. Has flaws, though.

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, AWD rocks, nicely loaded options"

Cons: "Small interior, road noise, motor power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

My Suby in it's natural environment

"It's great for the Fargo, ND winters. I've had it for 2 winters and you have to try and get stuck to get stuck! I bought it at 100K miles, and a lot has been repaired: Clutch, front brakes, timing belt component kit, tires, front/passenger bearing, catalytic converter, etc. The engine light is on for an O2 sensor and the Air Control Valve. The road noise is pretty bad. When driving into a strong head wind the lining around the windshield creates an annoying whistle. The manual can be frustrating at times. DESPITE all of this, I like it. The winter package is great, love the sun roof, the driver seat is comfy (not passenger) and it's sporty for summer, yet reliable for the winter. This really has been a great car, I just wish I would have been smarter when buying it. I guess it's common for this car to get bad head gaskets soon so if that happens she will be for $ale!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My Suby in it's natural environment

Absolutely loved this car

By on Saturday, September 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great fun to drive"

Cons: "older car with fewer safety options than newer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has never gotten stuck in the snow, never failed to start, was fun to drive and always got noticed by other drivers on the road. Loved the two-tone styling. Very comfortable and easy to handle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sour Apple

By on Monday, July 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Space, weather handeling"

Cons: "Too many repairs and expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I was super excited when I knew I would own a subaru. That ended quickly. We bought it used with 30K miles. It had some sun damage in the paint but its held up and hasn't needed anything. About every year I am spending $1,000 to 2K plus in repairs. I've had the Catalytic converter go out before time, any repairs done are double or even tripple the cost than that of US makes. It's been explained that the parts and labor is more because of all the safety features. I've had to do shocks, struts, swaybars, boots, Air Intake valve, Hatch door hydraulics, power seat, power sunroof repairs. There's more but every year I am am dug into a hole with this car. :( However it is comfortable spacious (more roomthan the forester, or even many small SUV's) and does well in the snow."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

very reliable, safe, durable...all in all awesome!

By on Friday, January 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "super reliable, easy to maintain, safe, good mpg"

Cons: "wish there was more power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is very reliable. I'm almost at 210k miles and its still running like its new. Since I bought it, the only thing that I've needed to fix (other than regular oil changes and general TLC) is the muffler started getting some rust holes (~180k miles--easily fixed with a good weld job) and the heat shield was coming loose and making a "clanging" sound (~195k miles--again, easily fixed with a good weld). Theres just too many good things to say about this vehicle. Its safe, reliable, mpg is great considering it was made in 2002. Its quite comfy too! Its AWD so getting through snow/ice is no problem either (and I live in Vermont so believe me, i know all about that)!"

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Very nice car

By on Monday, October 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its not a fast car but it is very fun to drive even on wet road conditions,it does about 20mpg combined and very reliable so far, Is my 2nd Subaru."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent car for the value. Gave no problem

By on Monday, October 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Price was great in 2003"

Cons: "could be uncomfortable for tall drivers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only problem is high cost of 30k, 60k, 90k, service. Otherwise a wonderful car. Need to maintain it well. Very happy in 9 years of driving this car. Treat it like your own child and it will serve you very well. Extremely reliable engine, body paint etc. This is our 3rd Subaru!!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Monday, September 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Well built, reliable, all wheel drive, safe"

Cons: "Needs more power, a better auto trans"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still looks and drives like new. Best car I have ever owned. Not a squeak or a rattle after 9 years and 165,000 miles. Paint is like new,and it is not garge kept."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Car

By on Sunday, June 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Seats don't fold down to allow access to trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Excellent, Reliable car, good acceleration, under steers when handling sharp fast corners. Not an Impreza WRX/STI, but for being the luxury model it's right up there, power everything, quit ride, nice sound."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Saved my life

By on Saturday, June 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe and solid"

Cons: "Little short on leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was broadsided (passenger side) by a truck doing 60 MPH and walked away with cuts and bruises, nothing else. Am I buying another Subaru? You bet!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

AWD Sedan - Great Value!!!

By on Tuesday, May 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All wheel drive sports sedan! Affordable!"

Cons: "30 mi. MPG on Hwy, mid-20s in the city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just love when trucks get stuck on icy uphills in the winter and I pass them by with ease in my car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

really, the best car ever.

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very good at everything, bad at nothing."

Cons: "only about 28mpg...not much of a con though..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car quickly became part of the family. I _feel_ safe driving it __ALL__ the time, not just on dry roads, or just on pavement. At 65 mph on the Alcan in the dead of night in the middle of winter, (Ok, so maybe a little slower in the snow storms due to visibility), but even then; I FELT safe. That is not something I can say for any other car or truck I've ever driven in the snow. The way it handles is phenomenal. I have driven several other cars recently, and come to realize that no other car comes close to this one. _If_ I could find something negative about this car, I doubt highly that it would change my opinion of it. There is a reason Subaru has so many cars on the road, especially in Alaska."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Subaru lover for life

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Subaru has been apart of my family for years. This is the first one I'm own for myself as well as the first car I've purchased bran new off the lot. Still own, drive and love this car today!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good car for a fair price

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy repair, Sleek look, Well equiped"

Cons: "Not very fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Reliable car that will get you from point a to b. sporty look for the price however lacking sport car performance when it comes to torque and horsepower. I recommend this car to anyone that wants a sleek look but isn't too concerned about how fast its quarter mile is."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

this has been a very reliable vehicle

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"dependable, very useful for camping, commuting and general driving with decent gas mileage... no mechanical failures so far at 115000"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2nd Best Subaru I have ever owned

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Gas mileage , fun to drive, fully loaded"

Cons: "no folding back seats,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Obsidian Black with a slight Red tint.

"My 1st Subaru was a 1998 Legacy 5 Speed. It was a solid car and it had the hill holding clutch! Where has that gone? After a few years of driving different cars I found myself back where I started. This time I went with a rare 2004 Legacy 2.5GT 5 Speed Manual. This car has been solid since day 1. Started with 32k miles and about to trade it in with 99k miles. Just a few bumps in the road along the way, I think it was mostly my part, I drive my cars hard and at times, fast. The steering on the highway was a little loose and didn't take the corners tight like other cars I have owned before. The engine was really easy to maintain and my wife and I loved the sunroof, leather and heated seats. Some of the other minor issues I had was the pulley's for the idle and ac, easy fix. Also the tubing for the radiator fluid. Another easy inexpensive repairs. Replaced the rear brakes at 65k and the front at 85k. Another tip that made the car run better was I had all the fluids drained and went with higher end stuff, included synthetic oil and better heat resistant radiator fluid. My mechanic loved working on it. Most expensive fix in the 5 years I had it was 4 new tires and brakes. I would recommend this car for any highschool or college student. And also added a STS (Short Shifter)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Obsidian Black with a slight Red tint.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Legacy near Honolulu. See local deals