Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

1998 Subaru Legacy

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 269 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next

This car has new head-gasket, full tune up, works

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "one of the best cars I HAVE OWNED, FUN TO DRIVE ,"

Cons: "NOT MY FAVORITE COLOR white"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent car to drive and own very SPORTY CLEAN,CLEAN,CLEAN nice car everyone says it a cool looking car, looks fast and is"

Most reliable car ive ever owned. fun to drive

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable Roomy AWD 25MPG Looks Good"

Cons: "its not a ferarri"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love driving my subaru its fast enough and handles great on the corners super reliable never left me stranded its comfortable and has plenty of room to sleep in camp in move stuff with or bring the dogs to the lake. its a joyful Subie and i have had toyota's honda's mazda's but will never go back after owning a Subaru"

Fabulous car; over 228,000 miles, no problems

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 229,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Absolutely reliable car."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car. I bought it new. I have the 30th anniversary edition, and I'd like a new car, but this Outback just goes and goes and goes. I keep up the maintenance, and I've never been left stranded with this vehicle. When I buy a new car, it's going to be another Subaru Outback, and at my age, it'll probably be the last car I'll ever buy if the new one is as good as this 1999 Outback."

A 1999 car that is outstanding for a 15 yr old car

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, smooth running, comfortable"

Cons: "Sedate" acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

These four photos show the car from different angles

"This is a 1999 Subaru Outback, white, with lots of options except for a sun-roof. It has 148,000 miles and had a $2,000 transmission and cylinder head gasket replacement about 2,000 miles ago. It runs very quietly and smoothly, starts easily in all weather, and almost everything works. The tires are good all-seasons with about 60% tread remaining, brakes are good front and back. Engine uses virtually no oil. The last 10,000 miles it has covered have been on commutes between central Vermont and Hartford, CT; pretty much 65 mph on cruise control all the way. The two things that don't work are: 1) speedometer, which works intermittently; and 2) the rear gate locking mechanism is corroded so rear gate presently does not open."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

These four photos show the car from different angles

Loved my Subaru - I will miss it.

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We had a lot of miles together. I kept telling people that I was going to have to shoot it. Sure, it was on it's third clutch, but that was me, not the car. It had some minor repairs over the years, but all in all it was a very reliable car and I would not have had to replace it except for the fact that it was totalled when another driver ran a red light and hit me. ;0("

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Legacy near Honolulu. See local deals