Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

1996 Subaru Legacy

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 282 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

great snow machine, and reliable.

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good value and very utilititarian"

Cons: "tiny and somewhat noisy, road and engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is my fourth Subaru. I started with a Brat, which I think was a 1972. Yeah, I'm an old codger, but I love cars and have owned many. (30+) Suby's are great, economical and perform well in snow, rain and icy conditions."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car awesome value

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"honestly may not be the "coolest" car but extremely reliable. Never had any problems with the car. Great all around love the awd great in all weather"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great in bad weather

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Drives good in snow and ice. But has a lot of road noise all the time.."

Inherited this car; dependable but uncomfortable

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good winter car in upstate NY"

Cons: "uncomfortable and console controls locations odd"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Very reliable but front seats are very uncomfortable and have had trouble with back lift gate not operating. Gas mileage is good, but not great about 25 mpg."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

the car has only very minor issues.

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"the color chart did not allow me to enter that the car is black/grey with grey interior."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

best vehicle in the snow. always been good to me.

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great winter driving car."

Cons: "things get lost in space between seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car will drive through 2 feet of snow and a foot of slush. It is a great car for northern New England winters. Not too many things repaired other than regular maintenance."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I adored my first car!

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Interior/Exterior, Runs forever"

Cons: "My power outlets/outside antennae never worked"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Subaru Legacy GT is such a trooper. The only problems I EVER had was due to my fluids neglect and luckily, still runs like a champ. I believe the quality building for this model is spot on and I hope to continue to own Legacys throughout my life."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

got me thru thick, thin,Very reliable. feel safe!

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,914

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable. Safe, Solid, and it GOES!"

Cons: "dash brd. layout & floor mats weren't great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My out back has been great! I feel safe in it (solid), reliable, nice amount of cargo area. I do not know engines, but the pickup when I step on the gas is one of those things that make me feel safe. The body has held up what I would say as great! under WI winters & humidity. One small bubble by rear hub, and only a couple of door scratches (not dings) that show no signs of rust. Not bad for a '98. Design wise: door map pocket need rain/snow protection, cupholder design sucks, smoother control panels would be easier to keep clean, grey fabric choice ugly. exterior paint color is kind of a peacock green, Awesome! air scoop on hood looks sporty but am not sure if it's functional ( all the guys like it :) removable cargo tray super. Big picture, GREAT CAR!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

What a Car!!

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Superb car"

Cons: "AROUND Dallas almost unknown"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Handles better than most sport cars; only best Audi AWD compares in snow and ice; most reliable car I know. Also own Porsches; my Porsche dealer lent me Subaru when 928 in shop (often, long and expensive) then realized Subaru much more reliable and almost as much fun to drive (stick shift ONLY). SW has great balance and great capacity. Showing some wear at 150000 miles !!"

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,614

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, handling, sportiness, driving in snow"

Cons: "Paint has faded, but it is 15 years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable. Only failed to get me where I wanted to go once, because of dead battery. I have the 30th Anniversary Legacy GT with sports suspension. The car handles well and is fun to drive. It feels like it is glued to the road. The paint has faded some, but it otherwise looks great. It drives great in snow."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very dependable n comfotable

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"engine w 40,000 miles replaced 3 yrs ago, new tires w < 4000 miles, all new transaxles in front, radiator, water pump, timing belt, thermostat. small paint dings on exterior, interior nice."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best, like energerizer bunny-keeps going

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "*endurance*"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I think you could take turns driving, go straight to California, come back non-stop and the little car would be ready to go again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good work and/or second car

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,600

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "4 new tires plus 4 rims with snow tires"

Cons: "high milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"good work car"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

This car has new head-gasket, full tune up, works

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "one of the best cars I HAVE OWNED, FUN TO DRIVE ,"

Cons: "NOT MY FAVORITE COLOR white"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent car to drive and own very SPORTY CLEAN,CLEAN,CLEAN nice car everyone says it a cool looking car, looks fast and is"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most reliable car ive ever owned. fun to drive

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable Roomy AWD 25MPG Looks Good"

Cons: "its not a ferarri"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love driving my subaru its fast enough and handles great on the corners super reliable never left me stranded its comfortable and has plenty of room to sleep in camp in move stuff with or bring the dogs to the lake. its a joyful Subie and i have had toyota's honda's mazda's but will never go back after owning a Subaru"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fabulous car; over 228,000 miles, no problems

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 229,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Absolutely reliable car."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car. I bought it new. I have the 30th anniversary edition, and I'd like a new car, but this Outback just goes and goes and goes. I keep up the maintenance, and I've never been left stranded with this vehicle. When I buy a new car, it's going to be another Subaru Outback, and at my age, it'll probably be the last car I'll ever buy if the new one is as good as this 1999 Outback."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A 1999 car that is outstanding for a 15 yr old car

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, smooth running, comfortable"

Cons: "Sedate" acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

These four photos show the car from different angles

"This is a 1999 Subaru Outback, white, with lots of options except for a sun-roof. It has 148,000 miles and had a $2,000 transmission and cylinder head gasket replacement about 2,000 miles ago. It runs very quietly and smoothly, starts easily in all weather, and almost everything works. The tires are good all-seasons with about 60% tread remaining, brakes are good front and back. Engine uses virtually no oil. The last 10,000 miles it has covered have been on commutes between central Vermont and Hartford, CT; pretty much 65 mph on cruise control all the way. The two things that don't work are: 1) speedometer, which works intermittently; and 2) the rear gate locking mechanism is corroded so rear gate presently does not open."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

These four photos show the car from different angles

Loved my Subaru - I will miss it.

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We had a lot of miles together. I kept telling people that I was going to have to shoot it. Sure, it was on it's third clutch, but that was me, not the car. It had some minor repairs over the years, but all in all it was a very reliable car and I would not have had to replace it except for the fact that it was totalled when another driver ran a red light and hit me. ;0("

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

The best cars I've ever owned- 15 Years

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good value and dependable"

Cons: "seats uncomfortable for a big guy;not roomy inside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Subaru makes a great vehicle all things consided ; I have owned 4 Subarus."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Overrated

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Spacious. Economical. Safe."

Cons: "Motor. Aesthetics."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Before buying this car: (1)Make sure the head gaskets and timing belts have been replaced. (2)Consider buying a 2.2L H4, 3.0L H6 or the 2.5L H4 turbo. Blowing an OE/stock head gasket on the 1996-2004 DOHC 2.5L H4 motor is very common, but the aftermarket/replaced head gaskets should last for the life of the car. Also, breaking timing belts and pulleys is common on Subarus with more than 70k on their timing belt. And, if the one of the timing belt pulleys wear-out or if the belt breaks the DOHC 2.5L motor will be destroyed, due to valve-piston interference. The AWD transmission definitely helps it excel in the snow. Put snow tires on it, and it seems unstoppable. However, it's more FWD, since its torque is divided 80/20, and therefore it doesn't compare to the newer (05+) symmetrical AWD. Its 165 horsepower is hardly sufficient for driving up mountains, but it does fairly well on flat highway and city streets. I get an average of 23.6 mpg. Overall, it's an okay car if you get it for a good price and if its head gaskets and timing belt and pulleys have been replaced. But if I were to repurchase in the same price range, I would buy a Subaru with the SOHC 2.2L or SOHC 2.5L motor or the the 3.0L H6 motor, as they do not have the same head gasket/timing belt issues, making them a lot more reliable. (Although, it's still a good idea to insure the timing belt, pulleys, and water pump have been replaced on a car with more than 100k, as well as other parts such as shocks and spark plugs.)"

21 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Terrific car! NEVER had any problems.

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It's the very best car I've ever owned."

Cons: "Developed the "Subaru slap""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I want a new car, but I hate to give this one up. It's been (and still is) fabulous. The only annoyance is that at around 100,000 miles it developed the "Subaru slap," but the car is totally reliable. I'm definitely going to buy another Subaru, and I really like the Outback. I just can't give this one up!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE this car!

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, long life, great space, safe"

Cons: "Low riding, difficult for older ppl to get out of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is soooooo reliable! Every time I've had to get something fixed the mechanics will tell me how great of a car it is! One time my car started making a terrible noise. I drove it up to the mechanics and they showed me that somehow a bolt (don't remember what it was called but it was about 1/2 inch thick and had something to do with the gear shift) had severely bent and had to be replaced. They said any other car would not have been able to run but that Subaru's will just keep going and going. I'm up to 240,000 and my car is still in great condition. I've had to replace a few things but it's very reliable and I do NOT want to get a new car that I can't trust. When the time comes I will stick with Subaru."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Dependable, peppy wagon

By on Saturday, December 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, peppy, dream car"

Cons: "cup holder stuck in open position"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Smooth riding, dependable, peppy vehicle. First time Subaru owner. Bought it used (15 years old) with about 155000 miles. Didn't pass smog 1st time, 1.11 CO at idle, and only 1.00 allowed to pass. So, after research, changed oil, added Chevron Techron fuel injector cleaner to full gas tank, then did an "Italian tune up" (get on freeway and "floor it" to 80-85, a few times, then took in to re-smog it. PASSED. (But this time HC were really high, but passing, at idle as a result of the "tune up", I guess.) After just a couple of hours of driving, and 2 days, have fallen in love with this little gem! It's a dream. Previous owner took great care of it and was in excellent condition. Lovin it."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I am original owner ,its been their for me ,(best

By on Friday, November 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Leather.heated seats, AC,cargo shade,mat,net"

Cons: "Minor exterior nicks and scratches"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"vehicle ever)never to break down and the best buddy I ever had.With a little bit of care ,it will do the same for you. Its me that is breaking down and can't give it the upkeep anymore and will break my heart the day we have to part. two new michlen tires Rear, SKIPPY"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my Subaru

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "love the sun roof, easy and fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holder is jammed shut :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Got it used, has a few parking lot dings, but its comfy and roomy, gets good mileage and it runs, runs, runs. We're in southern Oregon and taking her 4 hours north to Portland is a breeze and I don't get tired going on an 8 hour road trip to Seattle. She's easy and comfortable to drive. ^.^"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Legacy near Honolulu. See local deals