Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1994 Subaru Legacy

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 139 Ratings for the 1990 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

Excellent vehicle, had since 7/97

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 296,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent gas mileage, around 30."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Replaced engine at 192,000 miles with partly-used engine from Japan. Very reliable cooling system, but don't use non-Subaru thermostat! Braking system is very dependable, also exhaust system. The engine just keeps humming along. Goes up hills easily in high gear, unlike older Subaru. The air conditioning system needed work one time only. We'd get another Subaru in a minute. After 20 years, the air bag worked perfectly!"

exelant car

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car it has never let me down but the rust is so bad they could use a better quality of steel to build these cars they keep running until the body gives out and it still wants to run"

I OWN A 92

By on Tuesday, September 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "i feel safe and i never have to worrie if my car w"

Cons: "old nothing fancy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had HORRIBLE luck with cars i had a 04 kia rio and the enogine blew but i needed a car for school and getting to and from work , a family friend sold me their 92 subaru legacy with 92000 miles a year later i have 95000 and it is running strong best 1000 dollars i have ever spent and i will be driving it until it stops working i love it and it has a oil leek and i need a axe but both are nothing to major yet i love this car i have no words i will be buying another subaru and nothing else from now on"

Best vehicle Ever !

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliablestart-up and drive"

Cons: "Body rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Although just front wheel drive I never got stuck in the class 4 roads, mt. roads or any in VT. Passed many 4 wheel drivers who were in snow banks. Always started even in -30 degrees F. Handles Great and at 20 yrs. old there is still a lot of power in the engine. With 150,000 miles it still amazes me! Many years of life still left in this car! Biggest downfall is having to repair rust on the body. It's always good to go!!"

A truly wonderful car

By on Monday, May 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,666

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Low cost, great to drive."

Cons: "Weak axels, engine oil seals."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"With over 200000 miles this car always starts and gets me to and from. My cost of ownership has been by far the lowest of any car I've had. This car was rode hard and put away wet. I did replace both front axles which is a known weakness and there is a seal leak in the engine but after all these miles and time I only replaced 1 headlight and 1 taillight. Unlike most American cars of 1994 there have been no electrical failures, no failed shocks, an indestructible automatic transmission. I most like its drive ability. It is by far the easiest car to drive of any I have tried including my wife's 2009 corolla"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A 'Legacy' to be Proud Of!

By on Thursday, April 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality, 4wd, handling, power, style, room, "love""

Cons: "Have to nit-pic to find any:fuel economy, leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Dory!

"I bought "Dory" a few years ago from an estate with only 40,000 miles on her! I still have her and probably will for many years to come! Mine happens to be the Alpine Sport edition wagon with heated seats and mirrors-very useful in the tropics! These first generation Legacy's were really Subaru's venture into the more upscale niche market occupied mainly by Volvo and Saab, intentional or not. Good move Subaru! They are everywhere in places where outdoor activities are popular, with good reason. These cars are extremely well built, with solid steel and excellent fit and finish. Power is quite good even with the automatic and lacking turbo. Handling is excellent, especially in foul weather or on gravel, thanks to the 4wd (as it was labeled then. Reliability is fantastic, on par with other Japanese makes. The interior is quite nice, especially in the dark grey as I have-some hard plastics, but mostly very nice. Fuel economy is soso, but not awful considering they 4wd (awd) and heavily built. I would not mind a little more room (as they are mid-size cars and Im over 6'), but she luggs my surfboards, dive gear, fishing rods, and other such things nicely. Any time Im in for maintenance, wherever I am, they ask if I want to sell her, or trade her in. The answer is always the same--NO WAY!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Dory!

Good Transportation

By on Monday, October 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Run's Great!"

Cons: "Has some rust that needs some TLC"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs great and great in all weather. Great on gas too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wonderful car all around

By on Sunday, August 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, repairs are cheap."

Cons: "Older car means things will break, sound system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first car that my parents bought for me with 147k on it. Lots of power and rides perfect. I still own the car it now has 217k on it the motor has not been rebuilt ever and still runs great. Had to replace parts which is going to happen over time, but nothing that was out of the ordinary. After owning this vehicle with the AWD I will never own a FWD vehicle it can go places my parents truck will now go! Only left my on the side of the road twice which weren't things that could have been found out until they happened. a blown hose line once and my fuel pump went the other time. I would recommend this car or any Subaru to anyone honestly they know how to build a good solid car. The only downside is that the body is rusting slightly."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

my 1993 Subaru legacy

By on Saturday, July 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,166

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car from my mother and I love it. It has some wear and tear but the engine is still solid and has no leaks. for this car being 20 years old I am sure that I has another 20 years as long as oil,tire are changed on a regular basis."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever

By on Thursday, April 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You can't find a better car anywhere else. I own a 1990 Subaru Legacy Wagon. it has 217,000 and is still going. I am looking into purchasing a 1992 SLW because the struts and bushings in the front have fallen apart, but I am having a difficult time parting with this car. My brother is a Subaru mechanic and built this car from scratch. Basically, when he bought it the lady had let it rot away. He rebuilt everything and it is still going. I love it. Always pick a Subaru. You'll never go wrong (my mom has a 2010 Legacy)."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

awesome!

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, great mileage, low maintenance."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I ever bought! We purchased this car over one weekend in the summer of 1992, and have never regretted the purchase. It consistently exceeds the gas mileage expectations, and has had no major issues, just routine maintenance over the years. Got us throught the baby, preschool, and school years for our first child, and now our second child is almost 15 and hopes to drive the Subaru in a year or two. We love this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

She's my "Tina".....!

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"That's right, her name is Tina, she thinks she's a racing/sports car. I got her for $250.00 almost 5 years ago, and she hasn't given me any problems! She's a trooper and I wouldn't give her up if "Enzo" himself walked up with the keys to a Ferrarri!!!!!"

really happy with this car

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"trading for a new outback wagon"

Best car ever made!

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Not the greatest turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, safe, "zippy"... wonderful!! This is the best car that I ever owned, and I would still own it if someone hadn't stolen it!! She had 265,000 miles and I never had 1 single issue. It went everywhere with me, was comfortable enough to sleep in the back (did that often), put the seats down and had TONS of room!"

This car changed my opinion of car buying forever!

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value and lots of groceries too!"

Cons: "Doesn't look like a sports car! LOL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I ever purchased. Kids loved that the hatchback was the door to the "doggie seat", and our Lab could take rides with us. With a few minor engine issues, we managed to put lots of miles (hard miles--You should see the way my husband drives), and when it finally quit, I loved it so much that I parked it out back and use it as a shed!"

one of my favorite cars ever

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: got newer subaru

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "non, I dont have it anymore"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My sexy soobie

"great gas mileage, very reliable, I'm the second owner and put well above 150k in 3 years. I keeped up with the maintence and it lasted. Down the road i would definetly buy an another one. I had nothing break or anything. The car is really fun, reliable, and cheap. The design of the subaru is in general really easy to work with and around. I love this car!!!!! I give it 5 of 5 stars Best Car EVER!!"

My sexy soobie

Love the second as much as the first!

By on Sunday, January 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After my first Legacy was totaled in an accident, I found my current Legacy, both 1993 models. My children joke about the car being as old as they are, but it doesn't let us sit, and the engine turns over every time I start the car. Not a lot of glitz, not lot of glam, but solid reliability. I'd buy another without hesitation!"

Truly best car ever!

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 292,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car surpasses all expectations. Sturdy, incredibly reliable, an excellent work-horse. Subaru's engine is amazing - no major work needed in almost 300k miles."

Excellent reliable versatile vehicle.

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handling, value, reliability, durability"

Cons: "older model lacks newer model technologies"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this vehicle for over a year now. My next car will be a newer model year of the same vehicle."

it was my first...and my favorite

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,985

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything!!!!!"

Cons: "nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this was my first car and we have been through a lot togeather we almost died togeather but now im afraid i must let her go ... so sad:("

best subaru ever made

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 344,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"awd is amazing"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car!!

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our car has been great!! 210,000 miles"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I've become a Subaru junkie since

By on Monday, November 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Long durability, decent gas mileage, comfortable"

Cons: "cup holders in front of radio, automatic seatbelts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I initially went to the dealership to buy a Jetta and ended up qualifying for the Subaru instead. I needed a car for my upcoming birth of my daughter and it had to be a 4 door. Well I drove it off the lot and was thinking would I love this car? 250,000 miles later, my 18 year old daughter is driving it as her vehicle. We joked about it and she always thought it would die, but never! The only major repairs were 1 clutch, replaced the radiator and a blown spark plug cable. Other than regular maintenance, religious 3K oil changes, and tires, this has been the best car I've ever owned. I hope my newer Subaru lasts as long."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The energizer bunny! Keeps going

By on Saturday, October 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage great. AWD great in snow. Safe."

Cons: "90's color green is too feminine for males"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this car for 10 years. Purchased with 125,000 miles for $3000.00. The best money ever spent! THE BEST IN THE SNOW!! Went through my husband 3 years, then our older son for 2, then our younger son for 3, and our EXTRA car for 2 years, bopping around town, going to gym, hauling items, etc. Still use 4-5 days a week. Rusting due to age is our only complaint. Planned on keeping it until it hit 300K but just inherited a new car and have to say goodby to old reliable - it is painful to let go!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Only car that rivaled my Subaru was a Honda Accord

By on Wednesday, August 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been all over the states and she never stops, never slows, never has a cough, a sneeze, not even a sniffle. An amaaaaazing vehicle through and through! I'm so very grateful."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Legacy near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details