Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2004 Subaru Impreza

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 854 Ratings for the 2002 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

Very good inexpensive car

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Durability,off road capabilities,good size trunk"

Cons: "fuel economy,rear seats leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is very well keep. very good condition in the outside and nearly new inside. Has decent acceleration and handling.very practical and basic,perfect for day to day duties. Great off road capabilities. This is my 5th Subaru. Downside: fuel economy. I wish that this car at least reach the 20 MPG on average."

great

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A great small car, with guts and good looks too

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good looking and extremely reliable"

Cons: "If one wheel blows, all four must be replaced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love this car, my second but not last Subaru. It is small enough to park in tight spaces, but with the hatchback design it has plenty of space for luggage. The all-wheel drive makes it a comfortable drive on rough roads, but it still looks sporty. The fire engine red makes it easy to find in a sea of beige and white. It has been completely reliable and I have been very happy with it."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I will never part with this vehicle.

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and superb handling."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most awesome car I have ever owned hands down. Have to drive or own one to understand it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely love it!!

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great handling and quiet engine"

Cons: "uncomfortable seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just recently bought a 2006 Subaru Impreza 2.5i back in mid September and i truly do love this car. It drives and handles nice. Looks nice. And is the quietest car i've ever owned. The reason i gave it a 9 in comfort is for the simple fact that the seats aren't that comfortable but that's about the only flaw i have with it."

Loved it til headgasket then frame went 11000 km

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: frame rusted out at 10 years.

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive."

Cons: "Failed too soon. Poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Loved the car for its 4WD in the local snow mid Vancouver Island BC. Maintained by schedule. Head gasket started to leak around 85000 mi when 10 years old. 3500$ later new gasket/waterpump assembly. 6 months later mechanic pointed out could push a screwdriver through the front cross members in the frame. I bailed, traded it in. On a Impreza Cross Trek. Hoped the 2002 Impreza Outback Sport would have given me 12 or 14 years. No such luck!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

This is a great car , very dependable and is fun.

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,856

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good in ice and snow! All wheel drive makes this car very dependable."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great all around car for Northeast driving.

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "FUN, Reliable, Great in poor weather."

Cons: "Rear seat on sedan does not fold."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is incredible in the snow. It handles like a sports car, Can hold 4 people in reasonably comfort, Is compact enough for city driving, Punchy enough to have some fun on the highway, and In my opinion looks great. I own the sedan, which I like the looks of, but be warned the seats do not fold down which is an inconvenience. Also, with most AWD cars it seems to go through tires fast. Other than that I LOVE it. Ive had mine as the second owner for 8 years, and it has been a reliable friend."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very good looking, reliable and safe"

Cons: "insurance is very expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car was purchased for my husband and then he got another car. I took the opportunity to sell my car and took the cool WRX... that was around 2007. No regrets. The only reason why comfort & convenience got a '9' is there is no auto key trunk access. No big deal. Love my WRX xoxoxoxo"

Fast, easy to use

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun, fast, reliable, handles like a champ"

Cons: "uncomfortable seats, premium gas, stiff clutch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Really fun to drive! Handles very well in inclement weather and has been quite reliable. My kids always want to drive it! Lots of interior space, heated seats, acceleration"

Best car ever owned

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great handling; gives feeling of safety"

Cons: "Noisy, both road and engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have had car since new in Dec 02; only once did the engine malfunction after a very bumpy ride and then corrected itself; handling is exceptional and power is great especially at higher speeds. Both engine noise and road noise are high. As with most Subarus, no rattles or squeaks and after 12 years, still the original exhaust sytem, battery, and plugs. Engine and brake system leaks added some extra maintenance cost but everything else has worn well; still looks fairly new inside and out. And still turns heads after a wash!"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Fun car to drive...terrible reliability.

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Major engine damage

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive (when it works)"

Cons: "unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We were the second owners of our wrx and took great care of it. It was under a warranty at the dealership up to 100k miles, so we took it in for repairs there for quite some time (repairs were needed frequently). However, the last few years, we also had intermittent issues with the engine sputtering or jerking in the lower gears. The dealership tried to fix it numerous times, but could never figure out what was causing the issue. Then, on the way home from work, the oil pressure light went on. We took it to the shop and found that there was major engine damage. This was very disappointing because it had been well cared for and maintained. We will never buy another Subaru after our experience with this one."

6 people out of 29 found this review helpful

This has been the best car I ever purchased

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, reliable, fun, great in bad weather."

Cons: "I can not think of one."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been extremely reliable, comfortable, safe and fun! Plus it goes anywhere - rain, snow, ice, mud, you name it and it will go in any weather conditions. I was an interstate warrior in this car for years and I couldn't think of a single thing that I could change or add to make my experience in this car better."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great basic transportation

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "safe, reliable, lots of interior space"

Cons: "boring driving dynamics, underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased a 2004 Impreza Wagon in 2006, trading in a low MPG Jeep for better fuel economy. It had the best safety rating for compact cars in 2004, it is reliable, and for the size it has a HUGE interior. Over the past 8 years, it has had just one mechanical issue - a loose hose that sprayed coolant on the engine block and spewed thick black smoke. The repair bill was less than the cost to have the engine bay cleaned. But...the base engine seriously lacks power and the suspension does no favors to the driving dynamics. The base model is nothing close to the WRX. The car has been an excellent commuter vehicle getting me from point A to B efficiently, safely, and reliably. All-wheel-drive in a compact hatchback is a great combo."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

subaru Sti

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my 2004 Sti for a while and it is a very reliable car and extremely fast very good in snow. THe ride of the car is terrible but thats a subaru thing. there isint very much interior storage space but overall very good reputation and reliable car. i would recomend buying one if you get the chance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I've ever had.

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, safe, sturdy, rugged, good acceleration"

Cons: "Not enough rear seat room Not great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my Subaru. It actually saved my life when I slid off the road during an ice storm and down an embankment. I put over 15,000 a year on my car since I bought it used, and it is sturdy, reliable and a comfortable drive. I feel safe on wet, snowy and icy roads. It is a good looking car and has a sleek style for a wagon. The only negative is the rear seat could be roomier and more comfortable."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Iconically Quirky

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Personality - Performance - Safety"

Cons: "Fuel cost - Expensive Repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I think the charm of the WRX lies in two things … what it can do and how it does it. What can it do? It can go very fast. It can hold a lot of stuff. It can get you places in marginal traction conditions that other cars cannot … even other AWD cars. It can save your life in a crash. And it can do all that with reasonable economy and reliability. All that is enough to make it a great car. But what really seals the deal is how it does it … with a turbocharged boxer 4 driving all four wheels through an integrated transaxle. That’s essentially the same configuration as a AWD Porsche, with all the handling advantages. The short crankshaft offered by the boxer design makes the bottom end strong enough for significant modifications, and the unequal length exhaust headers make for the trademark Subie boxer rumble … probably the best sounding 4 cylinder engine on the planet. It’s quirky. The single spool turbo means there is a lot of turbo lag, so to get the most out of it, you’ve got to keep the revs up. The handling gives a hint of understeer before it comes alive with a sharp turn in. Controlled oversteer is possible, but only at the limit, as the AWD system allows you to rocket out of the curves with near reckless abandon. It’s not sedate. It’s not distinguished. You will feel the road while you are driving on it. You’ll hear the exhaust and the whoosh of the turbo. And to get the most of it, you’ll have to pay attention and work it. And maybe because of all that, there isn’t another car like it, and why it remains an icon of automotive engineering."

21 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Expected it to last longer

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, especially in the mud!"

Cons: "Expected it to last longer."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Has been a great car but at about 100000 miles started having problems with engine revving very high in idle and the headlights burn out every couple of months. Two trips to the mechanic (including one to the dealership) and several hundred dollars later no one can figure out what's wrong with it. I'm frustrated and trading it in... but I've liked it enough that I'm getting another one."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Buy a subaru hooked for life.

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Style, handeling, comfort of ride, reliable"

Cons: "100k service needed with the 2.5 liter but minor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my 05 RS wagon since November of 2013, and am absolutely in love with this car! I had a 95 Outback sport before this with the 2.2 liter and this is a nice power upgrade. Not near as much power as the wrx but is a nice amount for the 4cyl and the mileage that comes with it! Just had to replace the head gaskets, but should be good to go for at least 100k. The hatchback is a great option for outdoors lovers and active individuals.Besides my head gaskets I have not had any problems with this vehicle, and once out of school will definitely trade up to a newer Impreza! highly recommend this vehicle!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I bought it new, plan trade at 250k.

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Traffic merge in rain, no wheel spin!"

Cons: "A/C is insufficient."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought when I gave daughter 95 Impreza (170k); she traded to 2008 Impreza at 270k. The WRX has performed better than I expected, with no major engine work nor any work on the Turbo. The only big headache has been the A/C, which has had significant work done. The only things not working are the clock and trunk release. The car has been pushed regularly, 90 in 3rd, and can still get to the next oil change with a half quart added. It is a commuter car, but has also been on numerous construction sites, but someone recently asked if it was newly repainted. It has been great in snow. Subaru has very dependable products."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Stop shopping, this is the car you need.

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, price, fun to drive, economical, practical"

Cons: "Weird cup holders, could have a bit more power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my Outback Sport in April of 2012. Nothing but good stories about this car and it's become more of a "friend" to me rather than just a car. It's reliable, looks good, has a limited slip differential from the factory, gets good gas mileage and has TONS of room. The only complaint I have about the car is the cup holders (not a big deal). It has one slightly awkward cup holder which pops out from the dashboard and kind of overhangs over the radio dins, however you can fit a large drink in it easily. It also has a slit in it for a coffee mug which is nice. The other cup holder is extremely small and awkwardly placed. It is next to the parking brake and can barely fit a small bottle of water or a can. Within the last few months, I've been beginning to modify it; another great thing about this car. If you're interested in modifying it, very many WRX parts are interchangeable and provide a very cheap performance upgrade. For example, a rear sway bar from a WRX wagon can make worlds of difference and it cost me less than $100. I am extremely happy that I decided to buy this car and still get a smirk on my face when I see it sitting in the parking lot."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Legendary car

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best handling car ever, great acceleration"

Cons: "cloth interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One of the best cars to ever come from Japan"

I really enjoy my 06 WRX Limited sedan!

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,453

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "AWD, body styling, leather, 6 disc, sun roof, fun"

Cons: "premium gas, rear seat doesnt go down, cheap radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My 06 Wrx Limited in Downtown Detroit, MI #FWDLOL

"Really like my Wrx, only real complaint is the back seat doesn't go down. There is a pass thru in the middle of the seats but its not even big enough to get my snowboard thru. The AWD is great in the snow though, with snow tires I have yet to lose full control. Average 21 mpg and the exhaust sound is one of a kind! Highly recommend!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My 06 Wrx Limited in Downtown Detroit, MI #FWDLOL

Absolute best overall car that I have ever owned

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value, performance, quality"

Cons: "Understeer, not overly attractive 2006-2013"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my 2004 WRX wagon for nearly 10 years now. And having owned everything from from Jaguars to Porsches, I can say that this has been the best value in an automobile that I have ever experienced. I modified it very early on to Stage 2 (Accessport, tuning, 3" downpipe and 3" exhaust) and that just made it faster/better without sacrificing anything other than ride quality (I changed out the springs too). The only things I have replaced outside of normally scheduled maintenance (timing belt, PCV, oil, filters, etc.) or mods (exhaust, brakes and suspension pieces) are the valve cover gaskets and the CV axles at over 100K miles. This was my first Subaru. But it's been so amazing, I'm passing on the 2014 Jaguar 3.0 AWD and the 2014 Mercedes CLA45 AMG and going for the 2015 STI when it comes out. For anyone who is a car brand snob (but loves pure performance), buy the STI, get a better (overall) car and buy a Rolex Daytona with the savings. Great little cars, IMO."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car...till 40K

By on Thursday, December 19, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Broke :(

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "You're face will quit smiling as soon you park"

Cons: "You wallet will be heavier as soon as you sell"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Had the 03 WRX sedan. The car was amazing, but the insurance cost me just as much as the payment. (I was 22 at the time) I was usually broke as a joke when I had this car. I drove it from Utah to New York and back over a summer, which was lots of fun. It had a grinding whenever you went into 3rd gear though, which got worse and worse until I just couldn't ignore it. I then got rear-ended and almost got totaled. I got it back, and the transmission seemed to just be undeniably bad and the paint was chipping on the hood for no apparent reason. My insurance went up again, being something like $360/month. I gave up, and sold the car for a steal, even for needing a new transmission. I would recommend this Subi if you have 0 tickets, and have good self-control; otherwise you'll be broke too."

5 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Impreza near Honolulu. See local deals