Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1997 Subaru Impreza

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 257 Ratings for the 1993 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next

I love this car!

By on Friday, December 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Only 1 cup holder--need at least 2!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for 10 years-just turned over 200K miles. Probably put less than $2,000 in repairs excluding oil changes and routine care. Reliable, zippy, and still pretty cute after all these years. I have taken road trips, hauled about 5 ton of landscape block (not all at once), and it is perfect for my dogs. I have hauled lumber,trees,ladders and multiple things with my kayak racks that fit on the Subaru roof rack. My best car ever! Shooting for 300K now!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Absolutely the best car I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, November 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All of the above."

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, sturdy, good fuel mileage (24+ MPG in town), no major problems, plenty of power and pick-up, drives very well, excellent breaking, smooth automatic transmission and good visibility all around."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fun, responsive, stable and unique looks.

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quick, Fun, Agile, Reliable, Safe."

Cons: "Cheap Interior and 22-26mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First off, when buying a Subaru make sure you know its history because where its from and how the previous owners drove it will change how it treats you. IE I bought mine as a California car that had spent a few years owned by a member of the military who had taken it with him to Iceland and it came back with a problem i don't normally deal with.. a rusty undercarriage. Not only that but he was more of a "import tuner" than i would have liked a discovery made by the fact that it had an aftermarket clutch with a pedal that was far more firm than the brake pedal and after having owned the car for 3 weeks and it popped a head-gasket. 6 months after that the clutch finally annoyed me enough that i moved to change it and that is when the rust on the bottom of the car caused havoc. I broke more than my fair share of bolts getting the transmission out and ended up spending more money than i would have like replacing parts that normally would not need to be replaced. Getting to my point... 1- When buying a Subaru do your best to gauge the previous owner and his habits. 2- be wary of cars kept in the snow for part of its life as no matter how good the previous owner claims to have kept it, you will run into problem. --- After that the car has been stellar with no repairs needed for the past 2 years."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my subaru

By on Monday, November 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned the impreza for 12 years. It is the most dependable car I've ever owned. It takes me skiing no problem - the all wheel drive is terrific. I can't believe after 12 years that it has retained value as well as it has. Over the 12 years I've owned it it cost me $1,200 per year (purchase price less current value)."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

RELIABLE

By on Sunday, August 02, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been the most ridiculously reliable vehicle I have ever owned. I am at 317k miles and have had zero problems with the car other than regular service items and regular wear a tear. The 2.2 with the 4 spd automatic provide a good dose of power with bullet proof dependapbility."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Impreza near Honolulu. See local deals