Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Subaru Impreza

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 257 Ratings for the 1993 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next

very good running car

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 97 Subaru with only 81,000 miles on her man i thought is this for real. I must tell u these cars are a beast in the snow ive gone thru my yard with 1 feet of snow and it was up hill didn't even spin a tire it totally blew me away. very reliable very dependable car cheap on gas and fun to drive a must have car for these horrible winters in Ny Hugs corners good 2"

would hug my impreza if I could. Instead, wash/wax

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "fun to drive on hilly curvy backroads"

Cons: "the Brighton model has no A/C"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"As the Impreza Brighton does not have a listing on this site, I chose the most similar on the site menu as the place for my comments. I like hatchbacks and this one is still going strong after 15 years. Was terrific for outings into Canada, all seasons, the first decade owning it. Totally reliable as my means of relocating: driving alone through a major snow storm in Oregon, and inclement conditions on the Grapevine in Southern California. It then became my weekend surf wagon. The cargo space with a split seat to fold down is perfect. A tip I learned at an Independent Subaru shop long ago: replace the PCV every 40,000 miles or so, for optimal performance."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very good car

By on Thursday, November 27, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive I like the short throw shifter"

Cons: "After some years they may begin to rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I think that the car is very fun to drive and am going to buy one ."

It's an above average,very nice car!

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 226,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It had a great price,well below BB value!"

Cons: "The AWD doesn't work!! May be FrontWD!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I rated this car a 2 on value because I bought it as an AWD & it may turn out it's a FrontWD! I rated it a 2 on design because,while it's clean,it has tears on seats,which will require seat covers. Everything else rates very high: quality,reliability,comfort & convenience,& driving dynamics are all excellent! Overall,it's alot of fun to drive & I've had fun cleaning it up,washing,vacuuming,etc. Now,it's a very nice car,inside & out!"

4 people out of 12 found this review helpful

1996 subi impreza outback 2.2 wagon

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great work vehicle for me, i work construction i can fit all my tools in the back, 4x8 plywood on top, decent mileage and very reliable this has been a great car for me."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

If you can't afford to be late, this is THE car.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, corners as if on rails, loves winter"

Cons: "Limited legroom."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ALWAYS starts. LOVES snow and rain. GREAT handling. EASY parking. SIPS gasoline. CHEAP TO KEEP. Kind of a Plain Jane, but literally leads the pack during a blizzard (during winters, my neighbors wait for me to make the way out of the alley here in the Milwaukee area). I love this car. Got another Subaru, our 3rd."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Most reliable car i have ever owned

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,120

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliabilty, handling, mpg, reliability"

Cons: "lack of take off power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive 130 miles a day and have had this car for 5 years. Only regular maintenance has been done and she has not left me stranded at all. 166k miles we have spent together, it does lack some power and leak some oil but i never get in the car in the morning wondering if it is going to start. Wish they would recreate this one again as i would buy it brand new."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best value for my money - 16 great years!

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price and incredible reliability!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have honestly never had to make a single repair on my Impreza. I have only had to perform normal maintenance for 16 years and 196,000 miles. I truly love my Subaru and will buy another one this year."

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

It gets from A to B well enough

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,111

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good winter car. AWD is good help."

Cons: "Rust. Engine Noise. Leaks? Roof rack. MPG suffers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I had to have work on it, but its a good car. rust is bad around the back hatchback key port. It is also bad around the wheel fenders. I had to replace the catalytic converter. The car has had a leak when bought that i didn't know about. it is also loud engine noise while driving. I think this is typical subaru tho. The roof rack or baggage rack is a pain and i have not used it at all. Used subaru's are hard to find- good ones without too many miles."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Longest ownership history - 13 years & counting!

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle used in 2000 right before my daughter was born in Colorado. I've put over 200,000 miles on it personally. It now has almost 216,000 and still runs great. It does leak oil, but regular oil changes take care of that. I've never had any major mechanical problems with it and hope to put at least 35,000 more miles on it! Would buy another Subaru in a heartbeat!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Impreza near Honolulu. See local deals