Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1994 Subaru Impreza

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 256 Ratings for the 1993 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

would hug my impreza if I could. Instead, wash/wax

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "fun to drive on hilly curvy backroads"

Cons: "the Brighton model has no A/C"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"As the Impreza Brighton does not have a listing on this site, I chose the most similar on the site menu as the place for my comments. I like hatchbacks and this one is still going strong after 15 years. Was terrific for outings into Canada, all seasons, the first decade owning it. Totally reliable as my means of relocating: driving alone through a major snow storm in Oregon, and inclement conditions on the Grapevine in Southern California. It then became my weekend surf wagon. The cargo space with a split seat to fold down is perfect. A tip I learned at an Independent Subaru shop long ago: replace the PCV every 40,000 miles or so, for optimal performance."

Very good car

By on Thursday, November 27, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive I like the short throw shifter"

Cons: "After some years they may begin to rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I think that the car is very fun to drive and am going to buy one ."

It's an above average,very nice car!

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 226,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It had a great price,well below BB value!"

Cons: "The AWD doesn't work!! May be FrontWD!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I rated this car a 2 on value because I bought it as an AWD & it may turn out it's a FrontWD! I rated it a 2 on design because,while it's clean,it has tears on seats,which will require seat covers. Everything else rates very high: quality,reliability,comfort & convenience,& driving dynamics are all excellent! Overall,it's alot of fun to drive & I've had fun cleaning it up,washing,vacuuming,etc. Now,it's a very nice car,inside & out!"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

1996 subi impreza outback 2.2 wagon

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great work vehicle for me, i work construction i can fit all my tools in the back, 4x8 plywood on top, decent mileage and very reliable this has been a great car for me."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

If you can't afford to be late, this is THE car.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, corners as if on rails, loves winter"

Cons: "Limited legroom."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ALWAYS starts. LOVES snow and rain. GREAT handling. EASY parking. SIPS gasoline. CHEAP TO KEEP. Kind of a Plain Jane, but literally leads the pack during a blizzard (during winters, my neighbors wait for me to make the way out of the alley here in the Milwaukee area). I love this car. Got another Subaru, our 3rd."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Most reliable car i have ever owned

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,120

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliabilty, handling, mpg, reliability"

Cons: "lack of take off power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive 130 miles a day and have had this car for 5 years. Only regular maintenance has been done and she has not left me stranded at all. 166k miles we have spent together, it does lack some power and leak some oil but i never get in the car in the morning wondering if it is going to start. Wish they would recreate this one again as i would buy it brand new."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best value for my money - 16 great years!

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price and incredible reliability!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have honestly never had to make a single repair on my Impreza. I have only had to perform normal maintenance for 16 years and 196,000 miles. I truly love my Subaru and will buy another one this year."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

It gets from A to B well enough

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,111

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good winter car. AWD is good help."

Cons: "Rust. Engine Noise. Leaks? Roof rack. MPG suffers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I had to have work on it, but its a good car. rust is bad around the back hatchback key port. It is also bad around the wheel fenders. I had to replace the catalytic converter. The car has had a leak when bought that i didn't know about. it is also loud engine noise while driving. I think this is typical subaru tho. The roof rack or baggage rack is a pain and i have not used it at all. Used subaru's are hard to find- good ones without too many miles."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Longest ownership history - 13 years & counting!

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle used in 2000 right before my daughter was born in Colorado. I've put over 200,000 miles on it personally. It now has almost 216,000 and still runs great. It does leak oil, but regular oil changes take care of that. I've never had any major mechanical problems with it and hope to put at least 35,000 more miles on it! Would buy another Subaru in a heartbeat!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Snowcar

By on Wednesday, October 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Guess it HAD to have a coffee holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It is fun to drive. This model is the same design as the 3 time World Rally Cross winning cars. It is put together properly. Easy to service. Interior is serviceable but nothing special."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car, AWD, 30mpg!

By on Thursday, October 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "AWD, Great MPG, Seats 5, Cheap car, Reliable"

Cons: "Small power drop with ac on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best used car i have had yet. It gets great gas mileage for the age of the car. Strong engine, I have over 200k miles on it and it still runs great. The best MPG i have got so far is 29.68 and i get 27.09 on average and i don't drive easy on the gas peddle. I haven't had any major problems with it yet. It does awesome in the snow. I had bad tires on it last winter and slid down into a ditch but the car just came right out of it with no problem. The same night i pulled a big heavy car up a hill it was stuck on and then had some fun plowing right through piled up snow that was blocking my path to get a co worker home after work. The snow was piled about 3ft high but the snow was not too heavy at that point. Subaru's AWD system is awesome. I know allot of it has to do with the driver but i have seen these cars outdo jeeps in the snow. I just moved to the hills of WV and for it being a 4 cylinder it does great on the hills, even with the ac on!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My first car, best bang for your buck

By on Sunday, August 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "afordable, lots of aftermarket custom options : )"

Cons: "no pass through from cab to trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car for $2,300 from private owner in 2002 with 112,000 miles on it. They were the first owner, and were owned other Subaru cars a well. The owners kept real good care of keeping up service records. It was their daughters and aside from a dent in the drivers side fender and broken passenger visor the car was in excelent shape with no rust. The car's ride and power have always been solid even though its a 1.8 liter. I've had no issues. Because the car uses struts the ride is firm, but that also allows turn and directional manuvering to be very sharp and exact. The enterior is true to the times of its model year. Not many soft touch surfaces, more hard plastics, but fixed that with a custom dash cover. The seats are plush, but not attractive, but nothing a seat cover cant fix. The enterior of my car is tan and exterior winter white. I was disapointed that this model didnt come with a pass through to the trunk. What made this car attractive to me is that, even though it was stock in every way, the body type had not changed from 1993 all the way to 1999. I had always wanted a Subaru Impreza 2.5 rs 98'. With just switching out the hood, the headlights, the grill, and front bumper. Tot $350. I made this car look 5 years younger. That was just in the first year of owning it. As of late I've given it a new aftermarket rear bumper and a rally style spoiler on the trunk lid so it looks like a Subaru WRX STI from 01' model year. This car has so many potentual aftermarket modifications avalaible. I have and still do recomend this car to everyone, because they are light, afordable, all wheele drive, excelent and fun in snow, ice, and dirt. Its a fun little car to drive. The turning radious is amazing! Its my daily driver and I smile everytime Im in the drivers seat."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Worst electrical system ever!

By on Tuesday, April 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Engine, fun to drive, cute"

Cons: "Electrical system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car runs fine, holds up well, is quite cute, but has more electrical problems than I've ever seen. I've spent over $10,000 replacing a computer, and various other electrical issues."

4 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great car, fun to drive!

By on Wednesday, April 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, handles good, will go anywhere"

Cons: "none its a great car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've got a 97 Impreza L with the 2.2l motor. It is a fast little car and does great in the snow. I bought mine just before the winter so I got some time to get used to it before the winter but when winter came along I got to have some fun in my Subie. My car has never lost complete control when driving in the snow, although there was some times where I got it side ways for fun. But over all this car preformes really well and I don't see it quiting on me any time soon. I also plan to buy a newer verison once my current one dies and I get the money. other wise I'm just going to stick with my current one."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever!

By on Monday, April 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Seats are not the best for long road trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Subaru 2.5 RS is an amazing vehicle. I have absolutely loved driving it. The responsiveness is fantastic and I get compliments on the car all the time. You will not be disappointed."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

the most reliable AWD car i,ve ever had

By on Thursday, April 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"a very reliable car even at a high mileage.. only thing it starts rusting at the wheel well which is minor and sucks more oil than an average car so check oil level regularly."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome car

By on Tuesday, April 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Daily beater, great drive, 211K still going strong"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just recently got my first Subie and I already like it. I was going do the slick road, there was a moose crossing the road so I stepped on the brakes. The moose ran away, but I ended up in the ditch. I was going pretty fast so what happened was my Subie jumped over the bump of hard snow that it took head-on. I ended up on the other side of the bump so backing up isn't an option (Even though I tried it, proved unsuccessful) The good part - Ahead of me is someones front yard, well, didn't wanna call the tow truck - cause he wouldn't be able to help. I did a *burnout* in 1.5 ft deep snow and drove probly 30 yds through 1.5 -2 ft snow. The guy has some kind of bumps in his front yard, probly for dirtbikes/fourwheelers. My Subie drove up and down the bumps with all that snow. When I got to the guys driveway, there was a big bump of snow also, except this one wasnt that hard. After getting back on the road, I found that my front bumper took a piece of wood right on the edge of the fog light cover thing, also my rear bumper was torn off - holding on one clip - probly on the first hard bump, and also my clutch burned halfway, but I still got to the place I was going, and then back home, drived a total of about 25 miles before I noticed that I was revving my engine to drive 25 mph. Got a new clutch kit, attached the rear bumper, and still drive it. For all the haters out there - this Subaru had all stock components, no turbo, no "cool" upgrades during that snow dive. Did two full services, and its running strong, speedbumps, gravel roads, 2 ft deep snow - it takes it all quickly and head on, people complain about slow when going to pass - since mine is manual, i just downshift it and get more power that way..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful, reliable, comfortable, fun to drive

By on Saturday, March 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, peppy, reliable, roomy"

Cons: "Minor."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the way it drives. Direct, peppy, great MPG. Extremely few repairs until about 120,000 mi. Had extensive work done on engine then and a new clutch. Driving great since. It's been a great car. Only complaints: somewhat disappointing interior quality. Gear ratio not great (shifting smoothly has always taken some thought). Cruise control died. Some electric difficulties. But it goes and goes and goes. The interior space is amazing. Many trips with 3 dogs and baggage with room to spare. A fun, reliable, cost-effective car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car, it just keeps running!

By on Thursday, February 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "All-around, All-weather car! Good milage!"

Cons: "A little noisy at highway speeds, passing power."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the ultimate all-around car! I purchased this used from the local Subaru dealer about five years ago. It was second-hand with about 45,000 miles. I have driven this car daily in all kinds of weather, from 100F+ to -20F. It starts, it runs, it handles and drives very well. It averages 21 MPG in town, and 28 MPG on the highway. I have driven it in snow, ice, and slush that left full-size SUVs stuck. The Subaru just plugs on through! You can fit an amazing amount of gear or cargo in this car. I guess my only complaints are fairly minor. It is a little noisy at highway speeds, not so much the engine or drive train, but wind noise. The other small complaint is that it seems to be a little under-powered for passing. Power in most other situations seems to be more than adequate. I love this car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love it!

By on Thursday, February 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on gas."

Cons: "No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own a 2 door coupe, 5 speed. It's the best car i have ever owned. I took it up in the snow with my friends and there lifted trucks. It made it just as far without getting stuck(w/o chains or snow tires) They all want one now. VERY GREAT CAR!"

Subarus are the greatest automobiles. Great value.

By on Sunday, December 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the third Subaru I have owned. I just love these cars. Very reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Friday, December 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Only 1 cup holder--need at least 2!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for 10 years-just turned over 200K miles. Probably put less than $2,000 in repairs excluding oil changes and routine care. Reliable, zippy, and still pretty cute after all these years. I have taken road trips, hauled about 5 ton of landscape block (not all at once), and it is perfect for my dogs. I have hauled lumber,trees,ladders and multiple things with my kayak racks that fit on the Subaru roof rack. My best car ever! Shooting for 300K now!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Absolutely the best car I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, November 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All of the above."

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, sturdy, good fuel mileage (24+ MPG in town), no major problems, plenty of power and pick-up, drives very well, excellent breaking, smooth automatic transmission and good visibility all around."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very fun to drive

By on Monday, September 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great handling"

Cons: "Its hard to find someone to work on them"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Make sure you have the head gaskets check on these year models to be safe"

Beyond Incredible!!!

By on Thursday, June 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 352,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "NEVER breaks down and great mileage!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Going on 350K and still running strong! Most incredible car I have ever owned. I can't recomend it enough! Best car on the market!!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Impreza near Honolulu. See local deals