To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.

2015 Subaru Forester Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $21,181 - $22,303.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $23,045

Fair Purchase Price $21,203
Fair Market Range ($21,181 - $22,303)

Invoice $21,845

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser�s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Info valid for your area through 09/29/2016

Advertisement
Advertisement

KBB Expert Rating 9.2 of 10

10/9.2

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment
Advertisement
Advertisement

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 158 Ratings for the 2014 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

terrific car EXCEPT the navigation which is AWFUL!

By on Thursday, September 8, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "wonderful safety features, great mileage"

Cons: "DO NOT BUY THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love most everything about my car. Getting fabulous mileage (have reached 36.7 MPG on the road! but I paid a pretty penny to get the navigation system I had to buy with the "eyesight" system in order to do this - so the cost was high. It has taken me to non-existent places several times, doesn't show traffic (yup my wifi and Bluetooth are connected) so the arrival time is wrong every time. When I ask at the dealership they say they're sorry, they know it's not a good system and no they are not planning to do anything that I could update. Just use your phones or get an aftermarket navigation. Amazing that they can build a car with great safety features but not the Nav. The interior fabric is also only mediocre, stain easily and resists complete cleaning - I suggest leather."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

My second Subaru)))

By on Saturday, September 17, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "AWD, Well equipped, good MPG."

Cons: "Low towing capacity (Only 1500lb). CVT is slow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Let me start with saying that I’m a Mazda guy. I owned 8 Mazda in 15 year period. My wife drives 2016 CX-5 GT model and we love that car. I had 2011 CX-9 GT with to many miles, so it was a time to get a new car. Went to Mazda to see what I can get for cheap, like $250-$300 per month lease. Liked the new 2017 CX-9, but it was to expensive. Then my brother told me that Subaru has cheap lease specials. Same day went to see what will I like. I liked the Outback but it was to slow with 2.5i engine option. Outback is much heavier then Forester. So I end it up leasing 2017 Forester because the cheap lease special ($250 per month tax included. $400 down) and the way it drives. This is my second Subaru. The first was 2007 Impresa 2.5i. I loved that car. Drove 95K miles with zero problems, that’s why I decided to get Forester. So far I’m very satisfied. Good acceleration, good MPG for AWD, very comfortable seats. AWD is a big plus. Good handling, very nice and quiet ride. I love all the safety futures, lane assistance, blind spot monitor and break assist. New entertainment system is awesome; 7” touch screen is very easy to use. Backup camera is OK, low quality when it’s dark. The only concern I have is the towing capacity only 1500lb. I have a trailer with 3 dirt bikes on it. Total weight is 1400lb, so I should be OK I hope))) I drove both 2016 and 2017 Forester. 2017 has a better CVT transition (more responsive), less road/wind noise, better interior and looks meaner))). Over all I enjoy driving this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Forester does it all! And, 31.3 mpg

By on Saturday, June 4, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value and function everywhere."

Cons: "Rear cargo area light poorly located and weak."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What's not to like about the newly designed Forester (2014)? Hardly anything: the shorter wheelbase creates a bit of a bumpy, firm ride. The CVT transmission revs up loudly when you push the pedal down to accelerate onto the freeway. That's it! But things to like far outweigh those. A true 31.3 mpg driving over thousands of miles in the mountains and on interstates at 70 mph. An interior that is huge and comfortable for all---even the backseat passengers. Tinted side windows that block lots of sun. A huge sunroof. Electric driver seat that moves forward-back, up-down, tilt forward-back, and the lumbar adjustable seat back that tilts too. An oil filter on top of the engine that's easy to change. Beautiful metallic paint. A price negotiable to under $25000 for the premium level trim. No repairs as of yet after almost 60 K miles. All-wheel-drive that handles Colorado's deep snows with 8 inches clearance. A fairly decent information monitor with lots of different data screens. (The newer ones are even better (2015 and 2016). Subaru has things all figured out with these cars. It's our second after the 1998 Forester's engine finally died at 273,000 miles."

45 people out of 46 found this review helpful

So far so good

By on Thursday, December 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 450

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great visibility, comfortable driver's position"

Cons: "Somewhat awkward nav system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I owned a 2003 Toyota Highlander that I purchased new that had a little over 100,000 miles on it. I had been wanting to replace it for a while if only to get something that gets better gas mileage and because I don't need something as large as the Highlander. I started looking at Hybrids and EVs, but at 6'5" tall I didn't feel comfortable in any of the ones that I tried. I also need to carry a tuba or 2 in my car, so I need something with a decent sized cargo space. Based on this I decided to check out all of the new smaller crossover SUVs. I tried out the Mazda CX-5, Nissan Rogue, Ford Escape, Toyota RAV4, Honda CR-V, and the Subaru Forester and outback. My wife bought a 2013 CR-V last year, so I had already driven that quite a bit and was seriously considering getting another. Then I drove the Forester. Of all of these the Forester far and away had the best driving position for my size. It also had to be something that my wife (5'3") would also be comfortable driving. With the power seat in the Forester she could adjust the driver's position to a perfect height for her. I didn't like the visibility in the Nissan and Mazda. It felt like the roof-line was too low for me, even with their seats all the way down. I liked the RAV, but not as much as the Subaru, while the Ford felt cramped to me. Now that I have had it for a week or so and have driven it over 400 miles I still think it was the best choice for me. I decided to get the 2.5i Touring model. I initially considered the premium, but I wanted some of the features that were only available in the touring trim level. From a practical perspective I don't think that the Touring is worth the difference in price for what you get vs. the Premium, although I think it is worth it vs. the Limited. For the extra money I got the Navigation system, which isn't as bad as some have indicated in the reviews. The touch screen buttons for the radio portion of the entertainment system are a little small, but it seems to work fine. It also adds leather seating, dual automatic climate control, power back lift gate, and the X-Drive mode, which I haven't had a chance to try out yet, plus a few other bells and whistles. None of these are things that I couldn't live without, but they are nice to have. It isn't the plushest of fanciest car in features of finishes, but everything works well for what I need. We tried a 2013 Forester last year when my wife got her CR-V and it felt much cheaper and was significantly less comfortable and had worse visibility. The 2014 seems like a major improvement over last year's model. So far I have no complaints about noise or ride. Some have said that the right is very rough, but to me it just feels like a little more road feel rather than being rough. I also don't find it noisy at all compared to my Highlander. I have averaged 28.8 MPG so far on one and a half tanks of gas, driven about 60% highway, 40% local roads. I expect to get very close to the EPA estimates in my normal driving based on my experience so far. Another thing that sold this car for me was the visibility. The large windows all around give me what feels like a commanding view of the road. I find it significantly better than on my wife's CR-V, especially out the sides towards the back and out the rear window. Overall, I haven't seen any cars this year that I would prefer for my specific needs."

242 people out of 250 found this review helpful

Great visibility and very comfortable

By on Friday, April 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Incrediblity versatile vehcile"

Cons: "None to think of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Green Subaru

"I have been test driving cars for 3 years trying to find the right one. When I tested the 2014 Forester, I knew this was the car. I love the great visibility and the looks of the interior and exterior (I bought a green Limited). The backup camera is great. Excellent leg room for back seat passengers (I'm tall and so is my family and many of my friends.) As for the seats, they are extremely comfortable, I have the light gray leather - I could use them as livingroom chairs. I do drive on bumpy steep dirt roads to access great hiking. The X-mode is really nice, it almost drives the car for you. This is a car you can take off road and to nicest country clubs and feel right at home. Lots of really nice options on it - like reclining rear seats, fuel comsumption displays, integrated bluetooth with excellent sound quality and mircrophones."

52 people out of 54 found this review helpful

Green Subaru

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Advertisement
Advertisement
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
Advertisement