Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2009 Subaru Forester

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 234 Ratings for the 2009 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 47 | Next

Great car for ice and snow

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Solid value"

Cons: "Parts too expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"During my career of snow removal in the Sierra I have driven many vehicles in the snow, and the Forester is as good as any."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good value in base model, good handeling, sturdy"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Forester 6.5 years. Bought it new. It is a 2nd car for us used in severe winter weather. Keep Michelin snow tires on year around as do not use much in good weather. Winter is where it shines. Love the handling. Paid $21000 new in 2008 still worth $12,000 . Could sell it in a day. No repairs yet. Brakes will be soon. No rust . I plan to use 4 more years at which time it will have 65000 to 70000 miles . It will still sell in a day in my driveway for a lot. Like $7900. People here in the back country hunt for these when used but clean. It makes a good match with our big loaded Honda Pilot. I believe the basic Forester is the very best value in a basic safe winter car. Load them up and like any car the value goes away ."

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

mosr unreliable vehicle i have ever owned

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "check engine lights light up the dash very well"

Cons: "can't see on dash led light."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I was told not to buy this car even by the dealership. not sure why, as the vehicle had low miles, looked at the carfax and that was good. this is the 5 speed manual transmission. I purchased an extended warranty and my first unpleasant surprise was that the worry free driving was about to end. the throw out bearing($1,000) had premature failure, and was not covered by the extended warranty(read the fine print). Next the catalytic converters failed, another $1,100 and now replacement of the timing belt and water pump, another $1,000. this past weekend it snowed in MN and now I have more engine work related to the exhaust system, another $200+. none of this work covered by any warranty and the dealership told me to call the Subaru USA number. they offered $200 out of pity, but still have not received the voucher in over a month. my advice is to run, not walk away from this "rugged, reliable vehicle" and to read closely any aftermarket warranty sold by Subaru. read the posts from consumers with multiple problems with the 2009 and newer Foresters, you will be shocked how the quality of these vehicles has gone down hill. I purchased the Forester in 2011. i'm retired and these repair bills have been devastating."

7 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Reliable car with awful local dealer

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value solid reliable"

Cons: "dealer service dealer service dealer service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"After 4 years with this Subaru, I am impressed with its solid feel and consistent reliability. Great for carrying large items like bikes - easily. Comfortable as well. Downside: mileage is about 21 MPG - expected better. Brakes do not inspire confidence. Transmission thumps into gear, but that's how it works. Had I known the dealer service before buying, I would never have bought the car. When I asked about the spongy brakes, they question my driving skills. There was 1 minor recall that took several appointments to resolve. Routine maintenance like an oil change is $$$, twice or three times as much as any other car. 30,000 mile service is like a down payment."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

It's the little things

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
7/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"No temp gage ---- sun visor not wide enough--noisy---xmission down shifts often--seats to short for good support---leather fair quality--overall no problems, but would not buy again"

10 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 47 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Forester near Honolulu. See local deals