Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

1999 Subaru Forester

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 297 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next

Best car I have ever owned-owned 7 previous cars.

By on Tuesday, December 23, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: trade in to new car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, fun to drive and sturdy"

Cons: "seat could be a little more comfy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No major problems with this car. Always felt safe driving this car."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

A super-great car. Both mechanics agree

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Reliable as an old friend. Good milage & comfort"

Cons: "Getting old/ lacks bells and whistles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I allternate between 2 mechanics for maintainable. Both believe I will be able to get at least another 100,000 miles on the car, which has 180000 miles already. It has never let me down, and is so safe even in snow. I' m buying a new sabaru and giving this one to my son. I believe it's worth more than $4,000 in value. It truly is the best car ever!"

18 people out of 26 found this review helpful

see below

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"When we first purchased this vehicle we had consistent problems with the catalytic converter/O2 sensor. Both were changed several times in tandem or individually. The dealer was reluctant to make repairs often until we demanded action. Finally the problem was rectified and the vehicle has been mostly problem free. There has however been the recent onset of rust in the undercarriage. Perhaps this is not a quality issue but I would think that a vehicle marketed to people such as us and in heavy snow& ice areas in which we live should have better undercarriage protection. The major issue is not with the rust per se but with the exposed lines, (brake, fuel etc)"

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fair interior design poor cup holders, fair radio , excellent heated seats, excellent engine body style for the time is good overall cheap and easy to maintain with minor interior improvement excellent car."

17 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Great In snow or Wet Roads

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Supper in Snow or Wet or Low Sand -"

Cons: "Not good in High sand/"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It does the job required."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Super visibility; dependable, right size.

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Driver visibility; very good in bad weather"

Cons: "does not have electric seat adjustment"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is wonderful--the size is excellent; easy to pack up and move things; visibility is super. I feel safe driving this car."

12 people out of 20 found this review helpful

reliable

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "never fails"

Cons: "hard ride and no flash"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very reliable"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Won'quit!

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependable and reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned this car for 12 years. Had the motor overhauled and new tires all around. Good for another 130,000 miles. Now is my daughter's college car."

13 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Great car, highly recommended.

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Feels solid and safe, more so than most cars."

Cons: "Not high maintenance but a bit higher than some."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm 78 years old and I've owned 22 cars in my life, mostly used cars. This I bought with 30K miles now has 90. So far my favorite car. Comfortable, dependable, and a feeling of safety and connection to the road no other car has had. Try to buy a used one, hard to do, nobody wants to sell."

13 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Great till 90,000 miles.

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cost Of Ownership."

Cons: "Everything started breaking after 90,000 miles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought in 2008 at 58,000 miles. Normal driving. Great till about 90,000 miles. Clock went out before 90,000 miles. CD never worked. Radiator bad. Alternator replaced. Starter replaced. Both Front CV Axles replaced. Rear bearings replaced. Headlight bulb socket replaced. O2 sensor bad. Rack and Pinion leaks. Driver side window works but makes a noise on up and down. I think that is it. A lot of $ pats and present. But handles any moderate off road great. Sand at beach. No problem. The woods, no problem. I just really like the symmetrical AWD. It is really important."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Forester near Honolulu. See local deals