Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1999 Subaru Forester

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 303 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Here's what I like! Great Visablity Comfortable Flexablity - good enough gas milage for an around town car - but also enough car to handle towing, big loads on car top and lots of room inside the back for hauling everything from full size file cabinet for office to a load of rocks from the country for my garden. I have occationally used it on some pretty rough low maintenance forest service roads with a high degree of confidence in my ability to get home again! I have had some maint. issues that have made me less then perfectly happy - including wheel bearings, engine seals and clutch replacement."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love my Subaru

By on Tuesday, May 05, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my 6th Subaru. I've owned it for 9 years. My last one i owned for 8 years. They just keep on running. Because I care a great deal about the vehicles I own, I take care them mechanically and keep them clean inside and out. I believe this extends their life and their reliability. Subarus are sturdy & built to last. I feel safe in mine but I drive safely. I love the snow and I am not hindered from driving in it. They are good on gas but I just wish they were even more gas efficient."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Car I have ever owned!!!

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my forrester!!! I have a 2000 Forrester with 250,000 miles on it. 100,000 of which were added since 2009. It is a 5 speed manual transmission, 4 cyclinder and all wheel drive. It gets me through anything. I have taken it two tracking on ATV trails and backpacking in nomans land and no problem. Great on gas and for a small family, no problem with being roomy. For its small engine size it has a whole lot of zip. I would and do recommend this car to anyone I know, that is either looking for a new or even a used vehicle. As long as you are willing to put the love into them and keep up with their maintenance they will last virtually forever!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great in Snow, Expensive to Repair

By on Sunday, October 19, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"First the good stuff: this 2001 Forester has been with me for seven Minnesota and Colorado winters and it is a champ in the snow, on hills in the snow, and getting out of on-street parking. The ABS has saved me from crashing into oncoming highway traffic. The cargo capacity of this car is terrific, too, for a smaller SUV. Onto what has gone wrong. Had I gotten rid of this car at 75k miles, 10k miles ago, I would have been thrilled with its performance to that point. The last month, after I hit 85k the car began to tank. First the rotors and an O2 sensor. Fine, those are sort of normal for an aging car. Then a fluid leak. THEN, I got an undiagnosable engine misfire which caused the failure of the catalytic converter. I haven't fixed these last two problems yet, but that's at least a $1500 bill, over $3000 on that car this month alone."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

One of the best cars I have owned

By on Sunday, August 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I got below book and am very happy with it."

Cons: "No CD player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for about 6 years for the last three years the only maintenance other than new sticker and oil changes has been new front brakes and replace a small piece on the exhaust pipe. This car has 3 separate pieces on tail pipe. I only had to replace one. I plan to keep it for a long time. No rust."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Forester near Honolulu. See local deals