Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2009 smart fortwo

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 191 Ratings for the 2008 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Excellent car. Fun to drive.

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great 2nd car and easy to drive & park."

Cons: "No cons as I relish my smart car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have not had one issue since owning the car. Great car to drive & has many bells and whistles that my Lincoln has."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

eh is all i have to say

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,490

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "gas mileage"

Cons: "no room, expensive to maintain, expensive gas,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"bought the car with 74k on it the car now has 80k and i have had nothing but issues with it airbag light is on TPMS light is on i have had the car in the shop more than iv driven the car i bought it for 10k and i am now trying to get rid of it. the new value is 4,500 how does the price drop that much within 7 months.....i have only put 6k miles on the car. will never buy a smart product again. very unsatisfied"

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. and see above"

Cons: "See above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just minor problems: 1. Distance to service it is 300 miles. 2. Occasionally just from automatic to 5 speed. 3. Automatic locking system constantly has to be repaired. Postive aspects: 1. Love that it only has to be serviced every 10,000 miles. 2. I get 45 mpg; husband gets 39 mpg. 3. Safety features are great and is built by Mercedes. :)"

13 people out of 19 found this review helpful

fantastic car

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "seat belt no shoulder adjustment"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"puts the fun back in driving well made super fast excellent gas use only the brabus model."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Better than my old lover..

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, fun to drive, easy to park"

Cons: "Rough ride on bad roads.Lots of ? from people!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"OK, first my "old love" was my 1969 VW Bug. I loved the quick sterring, ease of parking, cute design, and good gas milage. But, now I'm a "Senior Citizen" and I prefer to have a car that has all that PLUS heat, air conditioning, GPS, heated seats, CD/radio etc.(add in the 8 air bags and tridon Safety Cell) I love driving this Smart! I'm mostly traveling around alone, so why do I need a mini van? There is plenty of room in the back compartment for groceries, etc. Plus if you have something larger, the front passenger seat folds down! you can even take your golf clubs! My only complaint would be the ride is a bit rough, but expected with the short wheel base. I bought this car to pull behind the RV, but I drive it everyday, in every kind of weather. It was good in the snow last winter as long as the drift is less that 2 feet! Most importantly, it sits about 9" higher than the normal car, has large door openings, making it easy to enter and exit like my van was. Love it!"

12 people out of 21 found this review helpful

never had so much fun

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun, mileage, comfort"

Cons: "$200 for oil change, navigation, winds"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"we have owned the 2013 smart for 6 weeks. 47mpg on first tank. averaging 42 since then city/hwy. learning transmission does take some time. paddle shifters like driving a stick with no clutch. bought it on impulse, but overall happy. only cons: high maintenance cost. pay Mercedes rates but drive s mart car. navigation system horrible with $500 for upgrades. now our fiat 500 sits in the driveway."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Most fun vehicle I've had.

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Size, easy conv top, fun factor"

Cons: "Shifting in early modes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I used to get bored with a car after a year. I'm going on 3rd year and don't even look at anything else. It's useful, inexpensive to own and operate, practical, reliable and useful. Everyone told me "it wouldn't do well in the harsh Nebraska winters. Wrong. No issues. I did opt to put in winter tires for added safety - Bridgestone blizaks which are inexpensive and made a big difference. Shifting on these early models were a bit query, however the newer ones have remedied that."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Spunky, Well built baby Benz

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sip gas, excellent fit & finish, value !!"

Cons: "slight shift lag"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

The 09 blue with 13 Ice Shine in reflection

"I love, love, love, my Smart car !!! Despite it's size it has the heart of a lion. My 2009 averages 42 mpg's and I drive it hard testing the limits almost daily. Being built by Mercedes Benz and having a Mitsubishi 3 cyl with just about all the bells and whistles ? Major value for the buck. 20 minute brake pad change (can it get any easier)fit and finish of an E class Mercedes this little car packs a punch. Heater leather seats built to last, a surprising amount of storage space (folks watch us at Costco all the time load up)we love this car. We were so impressed by this one we went out and purchased a 2013 "Ice Shine". With a 5 star crash rating, fuel consumption at a sip we can zip in and out of traffic with ease. Never a safety issue we love these cars. Perfect for the daily commuter, college student or new driver. Being a 2 seater no distractions from lots of passengers. This is a perfect car. Having a muscle car history this little lion changed our minds. The auto stick in the car tends to have a slight lag but I can paddle shift to avoid that. Be it in auto mode, drive it with the stick shift or paddle shift this car is a blast to drive. And the best part ? Both cars fit on one side of the garage so we have room for 4 more !!! No worries on taking it out on a long drive very comfortable and you can dress em up with lots of ideas, body wraps, different wheels endless possibilities. Love these cars !!"

13 people out of 15 found this review helpful

The 09 blue with 13 Ice Shine in reflection

blast to drive

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive very fast a wolf in sheeps clothing."

Cons: "hard ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"runs forever on 20 dollars worth of gas"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

blast to drive

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive very fast a wolf in sheeps clothing."

Cons: "hard ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"runs forever on 20 dollars worth of gas"

Great in every way except these two

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "great price, fun, surprising headroom & storage"

Cons: "can only be towed on a 4-wheel dolly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have had the car since spring 2007 and loved everything about it except to two items. My husband and I move often and also drive long distance (such as round trip Florida to Rhode Island) once or twice most years. The first problem is this car cannot be towed normally, which is a hassle due to our lifestyle. It has to be towed on a four-wheel dolly, which is a hassle with our Subaru Forester. The second problem is that the passenger seat does not lay flat so that the passenger can sleep while the car is being driven. Taken together both problems are very minor compared to all the enjoyment this car has provided."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fantastic mileage, fun to drive, towable

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles like a go cart on steroids!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Silver and black with motor home towing package. Always garaged and only used once to tow. Power windows and doors, A/C, power brakes only 8175 miles."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great mileage, open air fun"

Cons: "Ride can be bumpy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for over 5 years. During that time the only service has been for oil changes and recommended maintenance. It is a blast to drive and I'm always getting stopped and asked questions. The convertible top is easy to open at any speed."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Love Love LOVE our Smart Car!!

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good mpg, EASY to wash & wax"

Cons: "NONE that we've found"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've had our 2012 for two years. (Less than 10,000 miles as we leave the AZ heat for five months each summer.) It took my husband a little while to get used to driving it as this replaced a 5-speed Miata - Zoom Zoom. There is really nothing offensive about this car. More storage room than you would expect. We average 37 to 42 mpg, depending on A/C use. Have taken it on 200+ mile road trips and it was wonderful. You can't beat it for in-town driving. You can make a U-turn in a driveway!!! Absolutely NO problems. Plan to drive this little gem for another 10 years or so."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not a car for everyone, but a terrific car for me.

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Great mileage. Curious onlookers."

Cons: "Relatively high price for size of car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It may feel like driving a go-cart with a gear box. It does bounce over bumps more than a regular sedan 3 times it's length. But if you are not over 70 and don't need a snoozer of a ride, this car is fun. My wife drives it about 5000 miles a year around town and loves every bit of it. It has more leg room than most sedans. It's reliable, quick and fun to drive by shifting the gears with the cute paddle shifters on the steering wheel. I wouldn't drive this thing at 90 mph which I am told they will go, but for an economical drive around town, you can't beat the mileage or fun."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

dissapointed

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned this care for 3+ yrs.PROS: Loved it for size and comfortable interior. Hate it for driving dynamics and minor but costly malfunctioning's. CONS: Driving: makes jerky mvnts when changing gears if you are not careful enough to push it very slow.(Great on highway tho, makes 70mi/hr w/o effort) Horrible on speed bumps. Costly , minor malfunctioning: radio broke down: would cost me $800(w/installation) to replace it! screeching brakes (still good but screeching) and cleaning didn't help it, mechanic said nothing he can do about it. Once the battery in the key died: I could open the car manually but would not be able to lock it manually. I can't open the car's hatchback door while car's keys are in and car is running. I am said, I love the compactness of this car, since I use it for commute only, but... because of above - will get rid of it..."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

We love this little guy....

By on Sunday, January 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great gas mileage."

Cons: "No spare tire or jack but has a "repair kit""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drove from Denver to the western slope of Co.(300 mi) bought this car new 2 days ago. Thus the low mi.It took the Eisenhower Tunnel (elevation 11,000 ft. @ 70 mi per hour in 3rd gear. The little engine was working hard but we passed full size cars with ease. Took Vail pass @10,000 ft at the same speed. And got 50 mi per gallon. (honest) The ride can be a little harsh on rough roads. But we not only kept up with the big guys but passed many. Even on the grades. Top speed on this little guy 92 mph. We leased the car for 3 years so if in the future we dont like it we'll return and walk. But if we like it we'll sign up for a new model. I hope MB makes it with this car because I think its a hit. You have to understand the transmission and why it works the way it does. When you understand why you'll learn to live with it and realize its a good tranny and perfect for this car. It doesnt ride like my Deville but its perfect for around town and short trips.."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Really Fun and Cute Car

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I've had this car for 5 years now, and I still love owning it! She is really fun to drive and one you learn to compensate for the fact that you're driving something that gets pushed around by air pressure, it's really relaxing. I always get complements on her looks and there is always a patron or two at a gas station fill up that has questions about it and what it's like to own (which I find to be fun). I've kept her on regularly scheduled maintenance and haven't had any mechanical problems yet. My only long term concerns are about the places that I can get it serviced. There are only five places in my state that are designated "Smart Centers" and it's near impossible to find any mechanic that will even look twice at it outside of those locations. It's inconvenient, but it's still totally worth owning. :-)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

with engine en drive in back has exellent traction

By on Thursday, December 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "its really fun to drive, easy to get in and out of"

Cons: "to meany smart coments from dumies"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"installed ball hitch tows trailer potable welder etc. works great ask dealer you can also do a 180 on a wide two lane"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

AWESOME Little CAR

By on Monday, December 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price, great resale, BEST Car I've ever ownd"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 5 years, Garage kept, and don't drive it in the winter. GREAT GAS mileage, super fun to drive. Looks GREAT! Head turner, Great way to meet people, Conversation starter. Good Storage space in back. LOVE THIS CAR."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Six years and not one problem

By on Wednesday, August 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "All mentioned above"

Cons: "No spare tire but haven't had a flat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have replaced tires, one brake light, one head light, brake pads & one blinker light. The battery is still the original and strong. Gas mileage is 45 mpg but have had 53 mpg twice. Love it!"

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Perfect city car Big $$ Savings

By on Saturday, August 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cost to own"

Cons: "Speed bumps are tough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Lowest cost to own and most reliable car I have owned. Dependable around town transportation and it only has to have the oil changed once a year. Gas mileage is great, fun to drive, and I don't have to 'climb down' to get in the drivers seat."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

First fillup 40.1 mpg.

By on Wednesday, August 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 340

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Room, Super Gas MPG, Fun"

Cons: "could use an extra 35 Horse Power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love this little yellow Bee. Comfortable and roomy. Capable of staying up with Xway trafic and fun to drive."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Car ever

By on Monday, August 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car ever, I fill up for $28 and it lasts me approx 360 miles. Love it, would be very useful in marketing as it attracts a lot of attention."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

My Screaming Yellow Zonker Smart Car Dazzles....

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun, driving with an attitude, gets attention...."

Cons: "Automated manual transmission could be better...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"When I pass Mercedes-Benzs vehicles at 94 mph (limited top speed), they look at their speedometers, tilt their heads, and again look at their speedometers. They start thinking, 'How fast is that dude peddling anyway?' A niche car that gives me 41 mph on the highway at 65 mph and is a real attention getter. I have 50K miles on the clock and it has not missed a beat over four very full years. Being a Screaming Yellow Zonkers color, it is a collectors item because they do not import those into the States since 2008.... Nice little hot-rod that has the name 'Screaming Yellow Zonkers'."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching smart fortwo near Honolulu. See local deals