Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 smart fortwo

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 207 Ratings for the 2008 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best value for the money in an city vehicle

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,550

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good price, low maintenance, great warranty, fun!"

Cons: "no spare"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven small cars for years, but this car has taught me a lot about being a responsible driver. I was having accidents and tickets, which are normal in a city like Dallas. But being in a true SMALL car has taught me to be a good driver, no speeding, no trying to beat the stop lights and letting other people into traffic. For the past 4 years, no tickets, no wrecks. I love the car. Because of the car and the discussions it brings up, I have met a TON of people everywhere I go. I have dropped my gas and maintenance costs, no more problems finding parking spaces and LOTS more friends and "contacts"! It's wonderful and I am thinking of buying a new 2012 model. They have only gotten better because the management of Smart USA listens to its drivers. Everything that we have thought about improving, Smart has done in the 2012 model! It's incredible! Drive one! Curt"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Excellent concept, but needs a few things.

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good resale value, fun ride, a memorable vehicle."

Cons: "Poor transmission, few service areas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I like the room for my 6'2" frame, enjoy the fun ride, and love passing gas stations. However, I live in a rural area and the nearest place to have it serviced is 165 miles away. Unfortunately, I've had to spend $2400 in the past couple of months on service. The dealer says I'm just having bad luck at 29,000 miles, which I figure translates into "You've got a lemon." Therefore I'm having to sell it. I don't want to get rid of it, but it just doesn't make sense to hope it won't cost me any more in the next little while. Too bad. It has a lot going for it, but unless you live quite near a city with a dealership it's probably not the right car for you."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Excellent gas mileage, fun to drive

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, fun to drive, reasonably priced"

Cons: "rear wheel drive, but ok on snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased to relieve the gas cost driving back and forth to work. The two and half years I have owned this car it has almost paid for itself in gas savings compared to drivng the Suburban. Great for tailgaiting, always gets inquistive people wanting to know about it. The atomatic transmission shifts a little like a manual, but when you switch it to manual you can control the smoothness. Heated seats and side mirrors a big plus. Roomy inside, will hold 2 sets of golf clubs. Funniest question from 10 year old girl, Is that a Mario Kart?"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Friday, December 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I traded my Volvo C30 for this car and have not looked back. I drive 5 miles back and forth to work and the mileage of the Volvo was atrocious! I went into the dealership knowing that I was going to lose something in style, power and cargo capacity but you can't have everything. Contrary to some of the reviews, I have no problem on the highway. I have had it up to 90 mph without a problem. It gets blown around some, but so does every other small car - even the Volvo did. It has plenty of room for me and carries way more than I thought it would in the trunk and front seat. I do have horses now and sometimes wish I had more cargo, but overall it lives up to my desires. I get much better mileage if I don't shift but let the transmission do it, but it does respond better if you shift, so may be a better choice when entering a highway entrance ramp. The smiles, waves and comments I get add to the fun. Its a great car and does exactly what it was designed to do. Comfortable, economical, green transportation."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Just love it

By on Monday, June 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I waited 10 months for my Smart in 2008. Now it's been 2 years and 48,000 miles and I'm dumping my 2007 Yaris to replace it with a 2nd Smart. From Boston to Florida last summer on a 10 day vacation and less than $170 in Gas. Loved my Volvo, Audi, BMW and MR2 - but these beat them all. It just plain fun!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching smart fortwo near Honolulu. See local deals