Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2011 Scion xD

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 137 Ratings for the 2008 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

I love my 'Yip yip'

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "decent price, good looking, flexible"

Cons: "128 hp, 33 mpg top, hard to find"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I went with this particular vehicle because of my personal need to transport large kennels (big dogs). It's really met my needs well, whether I'm traveling with my friend or siblings (comfortably, I'm proud to say) commuting on my own, transporting my dog, or packing a surprising volume in the back for a move, it's been great. No issues to date, and Scion's warranty and reputation was definitely a contributing factor in the purchase. There are faster and more fuel-efficient options, but you'd be hard pressed to find one in the same price range with the same space flexibility and good looks (I looked extensively for months before going with what I now refer to as "Yip yip." My significant other drives a heavily customized Subaru Forester built for Tarmac racing, and greatly enjoyed the drive in my little XD, referring to it as "peppy", despite its lower horse power, but with a very pleasant response with its light weight and size. I personally love a nice sharp small turn radius and great visibility for safety. Nice full audio range certainly doesn't hurt either. My favorite car I've owned yet"

22 people out of 37 found this review helpful

Fun car to drive - manual trans., elderly access

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price and great mileage."

Cons: "some road noise and noisy tires."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for driving in congested traffic . . . peppy, but not a lion. I really loved having it for these past eight years. New tires all around about 5000 miles ago. No mechanical problems and excellent mileage - 32-34 MPG."

14 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Fun car to drive - manual trans., elderly access

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price and great mileage."

Cons: "some road noise and noisy tires."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for driving in congested traffic . . . peppy, but not a lion. I really loved having it for these past eight years. New tires all around about 5000 miles ago. No mechanical problems and excellent mileage - 32-34 MPG."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Fun car to drive - manual trans., elderly access

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price and great mileage."

Cons: "some road noise and noisy tires."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for driving in congested traffic . . . peppy, but not a lion. I really loved having it for these past eight years. New tires all around about 5000 miles ago. No mechanical problems and excellent mileage - 32-34 MPG."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Fun car to drive - manual trans., elderly access

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price and great mileage."

Cons: "some road noise and noisy tires."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for driving in congested traffic . . . peppy, but not a lion. I really loved having it for these past eight years. New tires all around about 5000 miles ago. No mechanical problems and excellent mileage - 32-34 MPG."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Good first car

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,100

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good cup holders, Two decently sized glove boxes"

Cons: "Seats, ride quality, Interior Space, Wind Noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"If you want a cheap, reliable first car, then this is the car for you. I'm averaging 36 mpg which is above the quoted dealership mpg. The engine, all be it really small, is peppy through the first few gears. There's good feed back through the steering wheel, peddles, and gearbox, while the gear box (with the manual gearbox) is notchy, and its very hard to miss a gear, although it doesn't like to be forced/rushed into gear. For what it is, it handles surprisingly well, even though there is quite a bit of body roll. The car is not a sports car, but it rides like a sports car, the seats do hug you decently, but are way to firm. This is not a comfortable car to take on long road trips, not only because its seats are to firm, but because its cramped in the interior. The seats sit way to high up, as well as the lack of overall leg room. Its also a sea of plastic, but more high quality plastic, it wont break just by going over bumps. All in all, it's a great first car that is easy to learn on (especially if you want to learn to drive stick), pretty economical, and cheap enough to break in."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

2008 Spunky & roomy

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: business needs

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, loads of cup holders"

Cons: "no way to open backhatch directly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My dad was 6' tall and was amazed by the leg room and head room in the front and back of this car. Plus the fact of how easy it was to get in and out of. This car is so fun to drive. I bought it new, because it was cheaper to buy new than a used car similar to it. Since this was new style. I had it for 3 years, put 66k miles on it, VERY dependable. I loved the way the seats supported the back of your legs, sets like a truck seat (non-Toyota truck)"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car! I am short (5 ft 1 inches) and this is one of the only cars I've owned that I can see out the back! Fits me perfectly. Handles well in the snow (Minnesota) for a NON 4 wheel drive! Only complaint is turning radius, can't do a U turn on a city street...have to do a Y turn instead."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Good for a single person or couple."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been by far the most economic car I have ever owned. Excellent power and really fun to drive."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the best cars we have owned

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, feels solid, gas, fun to drive"

Cons: "HUGE blind spots. Rear headroom is bad +6"er"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The perfect run around car. Front seats are great-really great. Great in traffic, with kids, excellent gas mileage. Sound system is good. Engine has good snap."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I like this car

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "saving money"

Cons: "slightly cramped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not much leg room. My legs get cramped. The car is designed beautifully for lowered expenses, also with the first two years of dealership mechanics doing free 5,000 mile checkups. It gets up to speed faster than other cars I've had. Everything is working properly, like heat and air conditioning. The Bluetooth phone sounds nice. The seats are comparable or better than other small cars, but I find them a little bit uncomfortable. I save more money with this car than any I've had, except maybe an old Volks bug a long time ago. It's fun making hairpin turns. Enough room in back to carry an average load of things."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Underrated Car

By on Monday, October 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Standard options, great price & fuel mileage"

Cons: "Small spaces, no leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2010 Scion xD with only 7 miles, and it now has over 71,000. I really do not understand why it is not rated better nor why more are not sold. I frequently make a trip that is nearly 3800 miles, round trip, and it costs me around $325 or less. I get great gas mileage in this little car, love the way it handles, and will purchase another Scion in the future, provided they have the hatchback I need."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Super value!

By on Friday, October 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Versatility, price, fuel economy"

Cons: "Road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new. Reliability has been stellar. Fuel milage has been remarkable. The versatility is amazing. The only downsides I've found are the road noise and slightly underpowered engine when all the seats are full. I tend to drive my cars until they die. This car will probably be with me for a long long time. This car has had zero issues. Change the oil and watch it keep running. This car can fit huge packages in it with the seats folded down. The seating will fit 4 people comfortably (5 less so). Be aware this is a small car that can pretend to be big in one way at a time. Fill it with people and the cargo space seems small and vice versa. With the great gas milage, driving this inexpensive car for work was a money maker (milage allowace > cost to own & drive). In the end this car is what you would expect, a great value. The ride can be a bit noisy. The finish isn't luxury. But if getting from point A to B reliably, efficiently and inexpensively sounds good to you, this might be your car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This car rocks

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, ride, economy, fun, audio, versatile, price"

Cons: "still looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the release series 1.0 new in 2008 as it had everything on it that I would have added, only needed custom wheels. I travel a lot for work and this car has never failed me and is a ball to drive. Everyone loves the release series color and styling. It has always given me great gas mileage (33-38) average. I have put a cold air intake for more pep and done a lot of upgrades to the audio and sound proofing, it is a ball to drive as it handles so well. I have shown it it many car shows and taken first place in some for it's class. Did I say how fun it is? PS. I have a roof rack and load this thing up with a hobie kayak and tons of fishing gear for a mini SUV that takes me everywhere-cheap!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most dependable and fun car I've owned

By on Monday, September 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great handling, sporty looks, great pick-up"

Cons: "no center console but aftermarket available"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven this car for close to 80k miles now and I love it! Been a trooper in the snow, plowed through 10" blizzard and got me home safely! I have the RS 1.0 model with the factory body kit and it handles like my racing kart. I have to pull out into interstate traffic every morning and it has great pickup. Up to 70mph very quickly. The handling is amazing for a car in this class, my husband thinks the steering is too sensitive but it's just quick and helps you avoid the idiots on your morning commute. I do feel a little intimidated on the highway, going from an SUV to this but with the great gas mileage, I'll deal with it! Mostly highway driving and averaging 32-35 mpg. It has all the basic features you need and I can even hook up my phone to the aux jack and talk through the stereo if I put phone on speaker. Bluetooth would be nice. Overall a great car, it is a Toyota after all!!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability and cost"

Cons: "Ride quality."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my xd for 5 years and have changed the oil, put one set of front brakes, and tires on it. It still runs great and I don't foresee any upcoming repairs. It currently has 94,500 miles. Great value considering I only paid $17,500 for it!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability and cost"

Cons: "Ride quality."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my xd for 5 years and have changed the oil, put one set of front brakes, and tires on it. It still runs great and I don't foresee any upcoming repairs. It currently has 94,500 miles. Great value considering I only paid $17,500 for it!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability and cost"

Cons: "Ride quality."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my xd for 5 years and have changed the oil, put one set of front brakes, and tires on it. It still runs great and I don't foresee any upcoming repairs. It currently has 94,500 miles. Great value considering I only paid $17,500 for it!"

Bought XD used, a 2009, with 157k miles on it.

By on Monday, July 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable for lots of miles"

Cons: "Somewhat noisy .. better tires work well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought this Scion XD in Missouri while traveling there in July, 2013. The car was maintained IMPECCABLY for five years before i bought it. (Manufactured 8/2008) After 160K miles, if maintained, they drive almost like a new one. I drove a new 2013 XD a few months ago, and I believe that a well maintained used one performs the same.) (IT IS a TOYOTA) same(Make sure the previous owner changed the oil and filer every 3K miles, or so.) I paid a little over 1/3 of the new price for my XD. If you are going to keep an XD for many years, I would recommend buying a new one. The quality is excellent .. Sheepskin seat covers are also wonderful."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, easy to configure seats, great power"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Awesome little car!

"I have loved this car since I bought it. There is nothing comparable to it, quality wise, for the price. My manual transmission gives me lots of power, while I consistently get over 30mpg. I love that the seats fold completely flat, and I am able to carry just as much music gear as I did in my previous car, a Toyota Prius. For the money, this car is much better than what you get with a Prius, while getting the dependability of a Toyota. I put in a pioneer after-market nav system, and this little car is perfect. I paid it off this month, and know it will last me at least another 5 years! That's what I call value for the money. I can't think of anything I would change about it. Visibility is great out of all windows, power doors, windows, and locks, security system, cruise control. It looks cool in white, and I have gotten compliments on it everywhere I go."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome little car!

Wish It Would Wear Out - Want A New One!

By on Monday, April 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "100% reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Totally reliable, change oil and go... average 38 mpg (mostly hwy driving)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very bumpy and extremely noisy car.

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "price, look,"

Cons: "poor fuel economy, noisy engine, poor ride comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"The average MPG is 24. The car is very bumpy and noisy. It looks nice in and out but its lemon. I would not recommend it. The warranty service is very poor. I will never buy Scion neither Toyota again.."

1 person out of 12 found this review helpful

scion xd 2008

By on Sunday, March 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "very nice to drive"

Cons: "noisy engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Fun car to drive,great gas milage,except to cheap quality,it looks like they made them not to last,and I noticed that the engine is kind of loud!! But the car is good enough to attract others,(I usually get comments...) and save money overall!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Aweome little car for the price

By on Monday, March 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, sporty, customizable, and horsepower"

Cons: "noisy on highway, non-standard center armrest"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I recently started working for a car dealership so I have plenty of resouces at my disposal for researching cars. My mom has the original version of the xD when it came out in 2008 (which she LOVES), so I am familiar with the car. My orginal choice of car was out of my price range in the end, so I had to look for cheaper options. I saw the xD sitting on our lot and decided to look more into it. I liked the price, it had everythign I needed, and I know they are good quality because of my mom's experince. So I got it and I do not regret my choice at all. For being a compact car, it has plenty of horsepower and it handles nicely. They are easily customizble (both from the manufacture and post-market). The only things I do not like is that the center armrest is not standard (to be honest that bothers my boyfriend more than me and I am the one who drives it more) and that it is a bit noisier than I expected on the highway. And the dealership my mom bought hers from is already begging her to sell it back and get a new one because there is a demand for them used. So great potential resell value."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

not comfortable

By on Tuesday, February 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,300

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "cheap to fill at the pump"

Cons: "no arm rest, buttons in odd places"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

dealer pic

"I wouldn't recommend this vehicle,I have owned this vehicle for less then a year (July 2012),you will find the arm rest on the door is very uncomfortable an is not proportioned properly, the steering wheel needs to have a telescope feature other wise you'll be reaching for the steering wheel (tall or short persons),it doesn't ride very smooth,arm rest doesn't come standard,seats are not comfy for long rides,(re-sale/trade in value is very poor)"

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

dealer pic

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Scion xD near Honolulu. See local deals