Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 Scion xB Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $16,709 - $17,030.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $17,725

Fair Purchase Price $16,870
Fair Market Range ($16,709 - $17,030)

Invoice N/A
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 6.4 of 10

10/6.4

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 248 Ratings for the 2008 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

I LOVE MY SCION!!

By on Friday, May 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FUN TO DRIVE, PLENTY OF SEATING ROOMINESS."

Cons: "1 BACK-UP LIGHT, NEEDS MORE UNDER SEAT STORAGE."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE MY SCION!!IT'S EASY TO GET IN AND OUT OF.THE SEATS ADJUSTS EASILY.IT HAS GET UP AND GO WHEN I NEED IT.IT HAS MORE ROOM THAN YOU WOULD THINK. THE ONLY DRAWBACK(2010) IS ONLY 1 BACK-UP LIGHT."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Roomy, Noisy, Heater Core Just Replaced for $1,000

By on Thursday, April 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Head Room, Roomy Back Seat, Good Handling"

Cons: "Very Noisy Interior, Heater Core Repair $1, 000!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"2008 Scion xB, 34,000 miles Heater Core failed (leaking, caused windshield to permanently fog up) - repair cost $,1000 ($350 part, available only from Toyota, plus $650 labor at my mechanic) -- Toyota wanted $1,200... That ALONE is a good enough reason to never buy this vehicle. Aside from that... Very roomy interior. Huge headroom all around I'm 6'3 and I still have at least 4" headroom. Back seat legroom is best I've seen in anything other than a limo. I can sit in the back and stretch my legs straight out. Crazy. (Front seats are pretty far off the floor, so there's tons of foot room beneath them for rear seat passengers.) I have the 5=speed manual, and the car is very zippy. Very good pickup, good transmission. BTW, when the clutch goes, it's going to be expensive. Labor cost is double that of comparable cars, due to the way everything's packed (inconveniently) under the hood. So, expect an extra $400 labor -- you can verify this yourself with any mechanic -- they can look it up. Biggest complaint I have with the car in day-to-day driving is how noisy the interior is. Really takes the joy out of listening to music. Tons of road noise, plus considerable wind noise and engine noise. MPG is pretty good, but not the best. I usually get 28 mostly city, and have gotten 36 on long trips. The heater core and the noisy interior ruined this car for me."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Poor mileage. Rear visibility impaired. Cheap.

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Exterior is cute"

Cons: "Poor mileage, interior cheap looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I fell in love with purple exterior color but the interior feels cheap. Rear visibility is a problem. Paint scratches easily. Poor mileage. Purchase was a mistake for me."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Mover! You can move a lot of stuff!

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Grat milage. Lots of room."

Cons: "Feel the bumps with stock shocks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the car that everyone calls (THE BOX). Friends laugh till they sit inside and notice how much room they have. I can carry more inside then my friends SUVs."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

flimsy flivver

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I suppose the car is dependable but it seems terribly overpriced to me(plus incredibly ugly) Bought it from an estate because it was a good value, I thought, but essentially I HATE it. Have had no trouble and it has good power but it is noisy, seats not very comfortable, rough riding and I feel like I am driving around in a box of Reynolds Wrap. Really dislike the speedometer in middle of dash. Air conditioner is not great when temps over 110. Will probably sell it before long since after 8 months I still detest the car and life is too short to drive such an abomination."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Nice Car with a couple flaws

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, very reliable"

Cons: "Small fuel tank, lackluster standard radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I like my Scion fine but I can't say that I am in love with it. It runs great, drives fine, and I have had no problems but it sure isn't exciting in any way. My biggest complaint about the car is the small fuel tank, it seems like i am always putting gas in it. I don't think you could take it on a trip simply because you'd stop for gas constantly. Its quite comfortable and the air conditioning is great, but the standard stereo leaves alot to be desired. My 2003 VW jetta stereo is a hundred times better. Other than that it has been a good car and the dealer has been great. One more thing, I do almost all highway driving and get 25 mpg."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good car

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "drives good, holds tons, good for trips"

Cons: "Crossed fingers on it holding up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good car...reliable, cheap to own, good driver, versatile. My only concern is the cars durability. It's been very good so far, but I hope it stays that way. It's really nothing more than a corolla in nicer clothes, but there's nothing wrong with that."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this thing.

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fuel mileage, 8 cupholders plenty of storage."

Cons: "I wish the cargo area was a little bigger."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car. Great fuel mileage. 32 mpg fully loaded with 4 adults in the car. I couldn't ask for more."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best BUY!

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Scion! I bought the xb in 2007 and have had NO problems with it. Great on gas. Picks up and gos. Tons of room. No big blind spots. Great Car for the price! There are only a two things I complain about.. Sluggish climbing big hills, and has a lot of road noise. I would buy it again !"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great commuter car and for short-med trips

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "a lot of car for the money, great mpg"

Cons: "when loaded w/ 4 people and AC, little underpower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car for commuting and day trips, great fuel economy, easy to drive, reliable, handles well, plenty of storage room. Good value, it's not "cheap" but it's not a cadilac either."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great value

By on Sunday, March 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fantastic price, very reliable, IPOD jack is great"

Cons: "no arm rest for passenger and loud road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very dependable car. Like the height of it, not low like a car, not too high up like a truck. Been just a very reliable car. Only complaints are that there is no arm rest for passenger and it's loud while driving (meaning the road sounds are not blocked out of the car--have to turn stereo up to hear music while driving at higher speeds). But dependable!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Bought it new and still driving it.

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and comfortable. I also love the look."

Cons: "Fuel mileage is good but could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my xB. I know this car was first designed for the younger generation but the comfort is wonderful for us old-er folks. I love not feeling like I'm sitting on the road while driving. This is how I feel in most smaller cars. I would love a few more miles per gallon and I would like a little better quality of interior but for the price, it can't be beat. I would buy another one if the need arose."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I LOVE my car!

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "handles like heavy car, smooth ride comfortable"

Cons: "bad blind spot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rides great, comfortable, roomie.....almost as good as a truck as far as being able to haul things in it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my box

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "read my review"

Cons: "read my review"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well, first of all I was never planning on investing in a Scion XB, especially the new body style. I was in LOVE with the older models, but the newer bodies didn't sit well with me at first. I went into the dealership to buy a FJ Cruiser (which they sold...) And ended up being talked into buying this gold Scion XB, limited 2008. I was gagging at the color, but I mean after about 2 days of driving it, I was IN LOVE fully! I couldn't believe all the features that came on this car! I was in complete and utter AWE! My car came with a pioneer radio (with the moving images and stuff), dvd headrest system with wireless headphones, and the usuals, like the floor and cup holders light up, accents in the seats, ipod hook-up, etc. I could not want for more in a car, not to mention the looks and STOPS I get so that people can take a picture of my car! HILARIOUS! Anyway, the downside I do experience is the fact that it sits so LOW to the ground, I have had to replace the body kit TWICE, and I think I'm on my THIRD time come TOMORROW...The ride is not smooth at all, beware of EVERYTHING you drive over, you'll feel it just as much as the car will! And the side mirrors block my sight, so I have trouble turning corners and things like that. Also, don't buy one with DUNLOP tires!!! I have replaced at least 8-9 tires so far since 2008 when I bought IT!! All in all, I wouldn't trade it in for anything, trust me, it's a great investment, but be prepared to take GOOD care of this car, because they are fragile and EYE CANDY (thieves are WAITING on you to buy one with ONLY the factory alarm)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great-Fun-Fast Car

By on Monday, February 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive eye catcher, great value, and OPTIONS"

Cons: "no arm rest for passenger, low to ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have a 2009 Scion XB with very minimal options and absolutely love it! Very reliable car and has excellent pick up for having a 4 cyl. The amount of options that are available for this car is astonishing. Great value and a lot of bang for your buck. Definately recommend it to a friend."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great value hold alot very reliable"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Roomy, handles great, Looks Great

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good value, roomy"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very satisified except with gas mileage"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my red Scion

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of interior space and everyone loves it"

Cons: "Arm rest not big enough, interior noise while driv"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would recommend this car to anyone looking for a reliable,affordable,spacious car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

excelent car for the money!!!

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excelent car for the money!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this ride!

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, lots of pep, fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have to admit that when my buddy got an XB I teased him about driving around in a toaster. When the 2009 model came out and they had rounded off some of the corners I decided to give one a test drive and I ended up bringing it home. This car is fun to drive and it has so much more room inside then people would ever guess from the outside, thus making it both fun AND Functional!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is my 2nd XB, and I runn the wheels off them!

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "I am a big Man (6'4" 275lbs) and I fit!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove my 08 XB to 90K miles and only put front brakes and tires on it, my 2011 now has 25K on it. No warranty work done on either."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car if your looking for affordable quality

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price fun to drive, design is amazing"

Cons: "little loud while driving and you feel more bumps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"price fun to drive, design is amazing,little loud while driving and you feel more bumps"

Love this little car!

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, easy to load."

Cons: "Seats could be a little more plush!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Scion XB. Only shortfall I can see is that the seats are a little skimpy. I wish they were a little more comfortable for the incredibly long driving trips we do. Other than that, this car is GREAT!!!! Fun to drive, plenty of pick up and really roomy inside!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

i love this car!!!

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"im 6'3 300lbs this is a great car for big guys. plenty of room. u can fit four guys, my size in it no problem . also get great gas mileage"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love It!

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price and driveability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car since May 08 and I continue to enjoy it. I am now a 60 yr. and am making "my statement" to the young folks. Plenty of cargo room when the back seats fold down. Enough room for luggage, 2 dogs, etc. Great gas mileage - more than rated. Fun to drive."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.