Go

2012 Scion tC

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 81 Ratings for the 2011 - 2016 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Fantastic car

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, price, utility, reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely love this car. Great engine and transmission, good MPG I usually always get 28 or better in mixed driving. Lots of interior space for small car, including the back seat and trunk. Blast to drive, big 18" 225/45R18 tires give lots of grip and solid ride. Responsive steering, nicely weighted, ride is a good balance between stiff and comfort."

22 people out of 40 found this review helpful

Fun and peppy!

By on Friday, June 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great handling and sound system"

Cons: "I am questioning the durability of the paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have had this for two months now and love it. I have the 6 speed manual and it is great. You can have fun off the line by turning off the traction "nanny" with the touch of a button. Corners are fun when come from 100+ mph into tight off ramps. Performance really happens in the 4-6000rmp range. Only draw back is that is is a little sluggish in the 2-4000rmp range. Speakers and interior are wonderful with controls on the steering wheel. With bluetooth for my Pandora off my phone I really don't miss passing up the Bespoke Audio. *Only major issue* The paint is not very durable to small pebbles and such. I did not get the optional front applique and wish I had. I have noticed many small chips in the paint where a very small rock was kicked out of a tire. I would recommend getting the applique for the front bumper and hood."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

The best vehicle for the price.

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best price for a sporty fun to drive coupe!"

Cons: "interior colors are limited"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been very reliable and the vehicle is loaded with lots of equipment for what you will get for the price of others in the same class. The reliability of this tc I can say is the best I have seen. It also provides more leg room & head room in its class. Sporty, and fun to drive! You definitely get more for the buck! I'm completely happy with my Scion tC and I plan to trade up to the 2015 tC."

15 people out of 29 found this review helpful

NOISES EVERYWHERE

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"SUNROOF POPS WHEN IT IS WARM OUTSIDE AND OVER BUMPS - INTERIOR CHEAP PLASTIC - TIRES BAD IN WINTER - VEHICLE RUNS LOUD - NO REAR WIPER - DOOR LOCKS AND SOME SWITCHES HAVE NO LIGHTS - NO AUTO LIGHTS - NOT WORTH THE MONEY"

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

13 TC

By on Monday, March 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sunroof, sound system, steering wheel & hatchback"

Cons: "squeaky suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"my 1st Scion. Wanted a coupe with fwd due to weather. Great value, comfortable car. Steering initially heavy but gotten used to it. 6 speed manual is smooth but a bit vague. Power/torque feel great, dont feel like I can run it on rails, but the dynamics can make for decent fun."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Good performance, good looks

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, steering, acceleration, reliable"

Cons: "Terrible paint quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased my 2014 tC in black back in August. This car is very fun to drive aggressively, or just taking it on a cruise. I had this car for about 8 months now and enjoy driving it everyday. The car is perfect on power for the average person and both transmissions offer great performance. The pioneer system is much better than other companies offer. The interior is very spacious, even for people sitting in the back seat. Nobody can believe how much leg room there is in the back even with the front seats moved back. The seats are comfortable and supportive for longer drives, and they hold you in tight when turning around corners. The only problem I have with the car is the POOR paint quality. My car is black and there are about 5-10 white chips on the hood, and my front bumper's clear coat has about 50 holes in it.I know cars get marked up, but this is just unacceptable for a car that isn't even a year old. I will have to get it repainted when it starts to look worse and get a quality job to avoid this problem in the future."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

love it! thinking of buying another one.

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"own the 2006 manual one, still love the ride. only complain the wheels and limited side views."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car for the price!

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, I get so many compliments where ever I go. Amazing handling and awesome styling. An aspect Toyota/Scion could have done better with was the turning radius, too wide. My SUV makes tighter turns. But nonetheless, its a great vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE IT!

By on Wednesday, September 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, comfortable drive, very roomy inside,"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got my 2011 Scion tC in November. I love the new more aggressive look to the car. Since I got it I have had no problems to date. It is a very stylish car, is a comfortable drive and has great fuel economy. I will be driving my car in the years to come."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Thumbs up

By on Tuesday, June 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Compared to other cars this same size I have owned in the past---better than most. Muffler a little noisy, but I think they have marketed this car towards young males. Clutch pedal goes a little too far to the floor, even after it was adjusted."

14 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Second best car I've owned

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Sporty, Fun to drive, Pretty Quick For A 4Cylinder"

Cons: "No Leather, No Auto Lights/Seats, No Seat Heaters."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I wanted this vehicle because I liked the "sporty" look it had. But once I got into the vehicle.....it didn't have anything that made me fall in love with it. It looked the same inside as every other one. I was trading in my 07 Jetta, and going from a vehicle that had leather seats, seat heaters, electric seats, automatic headlights, it just wasn't a very good trade. The tC is a nice car don't get me wrong, but it wasn't what I was expecting when I walked into the dealership to do the trade. It's a great teen car, but being 26 years old, I don't feel like I should be driving it.If I could, I would go back to a Jetta in a heartbeat."

19 people out of 40 found this review helpful

Great car fo the money

By on Saturday, November 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun and sporty"

Cons: "Plastic cheap interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Too much plastic in interior. Sunroof cover is a joke come on Toyota you can do better! Great looking sporty car so far no issues."

17 people out of 37 found this review helpful

My 2nd tC

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, fun to drive, sporty, big sunroof, mpg"

Cons: "no automatic lights, stock tires don't last long,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had a 2011 tC that I foolishly got rid of for a Fusion. I missed the gas mileage and sportiness of the tC."

11 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Never Buy Another Scion

By on Friday, October 09, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Cheap, Problems, Rattles, Noises, Bad Fuel Economy, Low Resale Value

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Looks cool like it stated too cute"

Cons: "whole car need to be redesigned"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Horrible fit and finish, Mold smell from a/c, whole car rattles, squeaks, noises from everywhere, it's a over priced TOY CAR, very bad in resale value, take my lost and move on to different brand."

7 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Not as sporty as it looks.

By on Saturday, September 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good stock sound system, good gas mileage, roomy, cargo room, sporty looking"

Cons: "Performance for price, fwd, driving gets dull after a while."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is nice for a daily driver or a college student but if you want a car for sportiness and acceleration you're better off buying a new camaro for about the same amount of money. Very comfortable and roomy and a ton of cargo room. The fact that its fwd doesn't help if you want a sports car though."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle for first time car buyers.

By on Tuesday, June 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 643

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sporty design, Great value, Very fun to drive"

Cons: "No option for leather seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"As a young professional this car is really all I can ask for and more. It handles very nicely, it's fun to drive, and being a hatch back allows for a lot of cargo room."

13 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Cheap, but still NOT worth the money!

By on Tuesday, June 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Relatively unexpensive, spacious , nice exterior"

Cons: "cheap interior, sticking gears, bad cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"INTERIOR: very cheap, air conditioner knobs are difficult to turn and feel like they are going to break at any given moment, dash makes a rattling noise that will sometimes stop if the driver presses the break, driver's side floor mats had holes in them within the first month of purchasing the vehicle EXTERIOR: looks nice, no issues ENGINE (automatic): gears stick to the point where the driver needs to let off the gas so that the car will shift to the next gear (applicable to lower and higher gears), cruise control knob needs to be bumped up/down THREE times to change the speed by ONE mile"

6 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Good performance, good looks

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, steering, acceleration, reliable"

Cons: "Terrible paint quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased my 2014 tC in black back in August. This car is very fun to drive aggressively, or just taking it on a cruise. I had this car for about 8 months now and enjoy driving it everyday. The car is perfect on power for the average person and both transmissions offer great performance. The pioneer system is much better than other companies offer. The interior is very spacious, even for people sitting in the back seat. Nobody can believe how much leg room there is in the back even with the front seats moved back. The seats are comfortable and supportive for longer drives, and they hold you in tight when turning around corners. The only problem I have with the car is the POOR paint quality. My car is black and there are about 5-10 white chips on the hood, and my front bumper's clear coat has about 50 holes in it.I know cars get marked up, but this is just unacceptable for a car that isn't even a year old. I will have to get it repainted when it starts to look worse and get a quality job to avoid this problem in the future."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Don't bother with this one

By on Tuesday, April 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Sporty looking"

Cons: "bad road, noise, jerky drive, heavy doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This was my first new car and I wish I would have done more research. The Scion TC looks sporty and the interior is pretty nice. Unfortunately this is where the "nice" stops. This car has more road noise than I have EVER had with another car. What is the point of having Bluetooth when you can't hear anything if you are driving faster than 45 mph. I have had a 2 door in the past, but never with such heavy doors. The shifting and ride of this car is lacking. Very "jerky" and more noise than performance. Yes this car is affordable and sporty looking, but next time I will go for a better quality car over the price. If you enjoy driving and like having a nice quite good riding car, this is not the car for you."

5 people out of 27 found this review helpful

never again!

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "sit high up-0-60 in nothing-great sound sys"

Cons: "everything else about this car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"There are two HUGE blind spots. Seats are hard and uncomfortable for long drives. There is no trim on outside to avoid scratches and dings from other cars. Scratches *easily*. Timing set too high, [but it's a computer car], too much energy starting out, jerks. plastic radio controls, shouldn't be so hard to find a playlist. Got extra car alarm, which is useless, cause as a woman, I want to be able to get in my car and lock it immediatedly in some instances. I can't do that AND then start the car. Horn blares and car won't start. I like sitting higher but there's barely enough leg room for long legs."

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

WORST CAR EVER...TOYCAR!

By on Sunday, June 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "hate it"

Cons: "hate it, fragile, toy like car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

Nice exterior- HORRIBLE MECHANICAL!

"worst car ever, 5K and its at the shop for the second time, fragile car, worst nightmare of my life,"

5 people out of 43 found this review helpful

Nice exterior- HORRIBLE MECHANICAL!

Great car. No so great build

By on Tuesday, April 19, 2011

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

"I think the TC is a great car that didn't get put together very well. I feel a coming and going vibration under the passenger seat floor board that translates into the driver side as well. The sun roof rattles like it's falling apart when it's not open all the way or closed all the way. Some rattle noises coming from the passenger area leaning towards the back seat. Something rattles when the door in closed from inside the car. Sounds like it's coming from the back. Car sorta wants to drift to the right. Almost all the time. Pitch of the road doesn't matter. Fuel ecomomy is getting up there. I'm up to an average 20 within 200 miles. Alpine radio sets its self back to 0 some times. Bass and treble settings etc. Subwoofer has to be turned off. Way too much. Unless you like that sort of thing."

Love this car!

By on Friday, December 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good price, love the sporty look"

Cons: "Wish it was a little better on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Used to have a Chevy Cruze. I've never hated a car so much in my life. It left me stranded 3 times and what kind of new car already needs a water pump? I've always liked the design of the tC. Bought my tC in March of 2014. With regular maintenance (oil changes, rotating tires) i haven't had any problems. Perfect for work and school. I love driving my car. Handles turns really well too."

Awesome

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice to drive"

Cons: "Some people don't like that it feels small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I was just curious as to its current value if I were to sell it. Many people compliment the car and say how cute it is....Since I am female, I suppose."

I love my 2012 scion tc release series.

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Convinent, smooth to drive"

Cons: "Expensive ha but hey Im only 19 with a $22,000 car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just bought the yellow 2012 scion tc release series car. I love the puts to start and the trd package.. I have the rear spoiler. Love the car! My sister had a 2008 scion Xbox that she bought new and just traded that in for a 2012 scion Xb.. We love our scions!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Scion tC near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement