Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2002 Saturn S-Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 211 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

My LifeLine

By on Wednesday, February 09, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car from a direct owner for $1000 flat. It had 177K miles at that time. I bought it in Nov-2009 and still today I am using this car. Today (Feb-2011) it has 216K miles on it and i am driving everyday 110Miles to and fro for my job. I has never ever given me a single problem. Just regular Oil Change and got Tire changed. This is the best car for me and I am never ever gonna sell it. Believe me its the best car with a great mileage even today."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Okay for the price

By on Wednesday, September 26, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I've always owned Toyota and Honda because of reliability issues. I decided to give GM a shot. 2001 SL, purchased new, has been a reliable car with good mileage and spirited to drive. However, there is definitely a reliability difference from the Japanese models. The car went back to the dealer 3 times to replace warped brake rotors. Every 12,000 miles like clockwork. After warranty expired, I replaced them with aftermarket rotors, and the problem went away. Also, the intake gasket has to be replaced every 35,000 miles due to (what I believe is) a flaw in the design of the manifold and the gasket material. Other than that, the car is a good, reliable vehicle - if you add rotors and intake gaskets to your regular maintenance schedule."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Loved my little Silver Plum!

By on Sunday, November 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas milage, fun to drive, affordable to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our 1998 Saturn SW2 was bought brand new by my parents then I bought it from them three years ago. It out did all my friends cars in gas milage and reliability. They always joked about it being an old tin can but they always called me to pick them up when their Saabs, Chevys, Subarus and Hondas broke down. My little car drove everywhere and even got through some rough winters and had some fun drifting around Vermont dirt roads. It's design even saved me from being seriously injured when someone rearended me at a high speed while I had stopped to turn. Best car I could ever ask for and so sad to have to say good bye to my poor crumpled wagon. I really wish they still made Saturns the way they used to... not just at all because I do agree with everyones posts about the Chevys with Saturn badges :)"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Affordable and Reliable

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, great price, great handling."

Cons: "Sound system is mediocre at best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"#1 - GREAT GAS MILEAGE!!! Next, it's Very reliable. Normal maintenance is very easy, and parts are cheap! Mine is not the most comfortable (no P/S, P/W, P/L). But that's just less to go wrong. And HANDLING!! It sticks to the road! With snow tires in winter, I could climb a mountain on ICE! (OK, a little exaggeration) I always felt safe in this car!!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Would love to have bought a 3rd Saturn

By on Tuesday, September 10, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Got a new Saturn

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car, back seats fold down for hauling"

Cons: "Headliners in both cars came loose."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought 1991 new and drove it 247,000 miles commuting 668 miles on weekends after job transfer. When I retired in 1998 the Love of My Life bought me a 1999 Saturn for Valentine's day and I finally let it go last year with 267,000 miles. A HALF MILLION MILES on 2 cars for less than $28,000 was a bargain."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Saturn S-Series near Honolulu. See local deals