Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Saab 9-3

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 590 Ratings for the 2003 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 118 | Next

Just as good the second time around

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,999

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Speed, Luxury Feel, Sexy Look and the Feel!"

Cons: "Not being made anymore :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is nimble and comparable to the BMW 3/5 Series and Audi. I previously had a 2008 9-3 2.0T and got around MPG 28 City/32 Highway at 50K miles (2011) I traded it in for the same color and model and it was equally exciting. I find the car to be very reliable with a classy and sporty feel. I can maneuver in tight traffic situations because the turbo is quite nimble and quick from the takeoff. As a result I plan to keep this one as Saab's are no longer being made and they are a niche vehicle type."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Oil pan fryolator

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great mileage, fun to drive, prices are very good."

Cons: "Possible motor oil starvation, cowl shake"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Educate yourself on the catalytic converter/oil pan/crispy bits/blown engine situation. Mine blew, motor was replaced (at my expense), and the oil pan was replaced with a specially modified pan which gives more clearance between oil intake screen and the pan bottom. Also, a heat shield was placed between the cat con and the oil pan cutout. No problem since. Oil changes done every 6K since and only a few crispy bits. If these mods have not been done, be prepared to change oil very often, or wait and change your engine !"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great fun car in excellent condition. Clear title

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price for a beautiful convertible"

Cons: "Manuel transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Sporty, classy convertible. No accidents and no refurbishing. Low mileage and has a transferable warranty. Have to see to appreciate."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR I OWN 2

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had two saab 9-3's for over two years they really are great no problems just oil and tire changes love them and don't plan on selling them anytime soon!!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Fantastic car - can't ever see myself selling

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, lots of storage room, unique, vroom"

Cons: "No flip forward hood! nothing else really"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'm one of those Saab people I guess. Had a 1990 900 prior to this, sold it when i bought the sportcombi. Mine is the 60th anniversary edition, sky blue metalic, 17" wheels, anniversary leather, a real looker in my opinion. Have never seen another one like it, much less another Sportcombi, in my area. Turbocharged four cylinders are the ticket - nice mileage, plenty of power. Only issue was having to replace the rear brakes&rotors at 20k miles, pads gone and worn through, how(?)i don't know, odd for sure, but something to look out for you Sportcombi folks."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 118 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Saab 9-3 near Honolulu. See local deals