Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2012 Ram 1500 Crew Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 227 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Absolutely fantastic truck. Best vehicle.

By on Thursday, May 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle. Best bang for the bucks."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this truck

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, comfort, fun to drive, solid build, great v"

Cons: "Parking spaces are not designed for trucks :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this used after test driving the other major players in the sector (Ford, Chevy, etc.). Love it. Doesn't have the toys my other car has but at the end of the day it's a truck not an SUV. Room for 6 and can haul a lot of stuff. Doesn't feel like it has any power issues when towing, 4WD is superb in snow/ice or off road. I actually choose to drive this rather than the SUV, that should say a lot. Only issue I have had is not the trucks fault, it is down to whoever decides how big parking spaces are. Some places are impossible to park in, too narrow or short or the turn into a space is too tight."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck ever

By on Tuesday, May 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of power joy to drive"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"drive it twice a week has retractcal running boards lighted"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid vehicle, so far.

By on Friday, April 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, good value."

Cons: "Front seat leather too thin."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good comfort and performance, very reliable. Front left vibration when coasting or at certain speeds. Might be a wheel bearing. Will have checked. Leather heated/cooled front seats may not last 100,000 miles. Leather is wearing out quickly. No significant rattles and there shouldn't be. Oil filter located in a hard to reach area. I change my own oil (Mobile 1). Great vehicle to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT RIDE PLENTY OF POWER

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "RIDE, INTERIOR, TOWING, QUIET INTERIOR"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"LIKE THIS TRUCK GREAT RIDE NICE FEATURES"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A Complete Surprise!

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,130

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Heated/Ventilated Seats, Sound System, Exhaust.."

Cons: "It sits high up.. But it's a truck!! its expected!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have the 2014 Ram 1500 Laramie, Let me just say I didn't expect a very luxurious interior! Heated Seats and a heat wheel! Ventilated Seats.. The Exterior is well designed and the power of the 5.7 L Hemi is outstanding! The only thing I can't speak of is Reliability I baby this truck so it should be good! Overall this truck is awesome! Definitely check it out in person."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Handles/rides well. MPG's- poor local, good hwy.

By on Saturday, August 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,200

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good highway mpg's, excellent interior storage."

Cons: "Poor local mpg's. Too many initial problems and recalls."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned 4 new trucks since 2001, 3 GM's and now this 2011 Ram SLT Bighorn. All have been V8, 4X4 extended cab models. The Ram has a smoother ride, a more comfortable and useful interior and handles better then those GM's. Performance-wise the Ram is not that much quicker and it gets worse mpgs and the 3 GM's I owned did not have cylinder deactivation (had an '01 w/4.8, '03 w/5.3 and '06 w/5.3 H.O.). I averaged 18.2 mpg w/all 3 GM's and 17.1 mpg with this Ram driving the same way (easy on the throttle), same roads and all 4 trucks have had similar rear gear ratio's. That might seem close but with gas pushing $4/gallon every little bit helps. The Ram has had 1 recall (rear axle) and 4 rapid responses in my 7 months of ownership. I had 1 recall (tailgate strap) in 10 years of driving the 3 GM's, so the GM's have been more reliable. I am hoping to see an end to the recalls and rapid responses and would also like to see local mpg's increase as the truck breaks in. I also notice that the 5.7's power wheelhouse is at too high an rpm, by the time the engine really starts to pull I am already at the speed limit. If I was at the track and launching at 2800 rpm this wouldn't be a concern but when I am merging onto a highway I want the power then and there, not when I am already at 65mph. As you can probably tell from the above text I am not a kid and am a function over form type of guy. I see a lot of reviews that talk about having a "Hemi" and how cool it is and rate the vehicle high for that reason alone. Not me, any truck must do all the things a truck is meant for and be reliable and that is what I based my ratings on."

42 people out of 49 found this review helpful

Never had any trouble since I own it.

By on Friday, March 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,999

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "$2000.00 easy to handle"

Cons: "has two cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Just need a larger truck."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good truck

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ive only had the Ram for about 6 weeks but so far I love it. The inside is very nice, I like the interior of rams better than all other trucks. The hemi has a pile of power, if I tromp on it I'm going 40 it'll still spin tire."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

total package, excellent truck

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drive it and you will see, everything"

Cons: "none yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this truck is great, all the comforts of a SUV with the capabilities of Truck when needed. Power and looks, can take this truck to any venue and fit in, Games, dinner, night out on town, church. This truck is the total package."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ram 1500 Crew Cab near Honolulu. See local deals