Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2011 Porsche Cayman

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 17 Ratings for the 2009 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25

Handles like a dream, great styling

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun, reliable, timeless styling"

Cons: "so much fun you don't want the trip to end"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Recently drove my 2012 from California to Pa. Comfortable, sufficient cargo space,great gas milage and a dream on both wide open spaces and curvy mountain roads.A real attention getter with its classic lines and throaty sound."

Wonderful drivers car

By on Friday, September 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Handling, Handling, Handling."

Cons: "Not the most practical vehicle for grocery runs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you've never driven a Cayman. Don't dismiss it until you have. It handles like nothing else I have driven. Well mannered in traffic. Comfortable on long runs and, most importantly it is a joy on a twisty road. Try it. You won't regret it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The Affordable Porsche; The Base Cayman

By on Saturday, March 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Performance, Handling, Styling & Affordability!"

Cons: "None worth mentioning, its a Porsche!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Upgrading from my 2005 RX8 & not wanting a convertible, i searched all exceptional sports car replacements that were also affordable. I was shocked to discover that a used 2009 base Porsche Cayman was within my reach. On average, $10k less then the S class Caymans w/only 40 less HSP. Debuting in 2006, the 2nd generation 09 Caymans received significant upgrades inside & out. Performance, handling, horsepower, styling, prestige & affordability exceeded all my expectations. My RX8's value was $12.5 w/31k miles. The base Cayman was $36k w/26k. Subtract that trade-in value & you'll see why i'm smiling along PCH unable to drive 55! Go test drive your Cayman today, you won't be disappointed!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

exceptional handling, a sensual profile

By on Monday, December 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "looks, handling , fun"

Cons: "none really"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The curvaceous, elegantly sensual shape of this car especially in black - is mind boggling! People just stare it. The handling is exceptional - usually drive a mercedes CLK500. What a winner!!"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Best driving car I've ever owned!

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "I drive it on a track and it handles great"

Cons: "stiff ride, options pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you want a drivers car, buy a Cayman over the 911. Better handling car at a much cheaper price. Only complaint is it could use more horsepower."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My video 

Laps on a track

great handling

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have been a 911 owner before. Cayman S performs as well as 911 and has better handling."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Dream Car

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gets your day going"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In reply to a review I read here about the engine blowing up and having smoke on a start up. This means that either the car was not driven correctly for the first 500 miles under 4,200 RPMs as stated in the manual and just went all out as you first received the car. Also this can happen when the car is driven in excess of speeds of 160-220kmhs (100-130mphs) for long period of times and doing without letting the engine to warm up properly. This causes the parts to reached tremendous temperatures and expand, as it cools down and the parts retracts; oil seaps into the combustion chambers and when you start it BAMMM you get your POOF of smoke at the start up. If this what your inner child is dying to drive then go and get it and enjoy it! I have no regrets with my purchase, waiting to see the new changes when the 3rd generation comes out soon. Just look at what they did to the new 911 models..."

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great but for the possibility of a blown engine

By on Friday, September 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, perfect handling, beautifule lines"

Cons: "engine has good chance of blowing up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"These cars are great except for the engineered-in engine failure at as close to end-of-warranty as possible. They get some wrong and they blow practically brand new. I get a huge plume of white smoke on startup and the dealer says it's normal. Do your research before you by this car. Google "smoking cayman engine on startup" before you buy. Good Luck."

14 people out of 21 found this review helpful

The best one for twisty roads.

By on Wednesday, July 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It's always a pleasure to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've got the old 245HP but I've never had any need for more horsepower. It gives always a very fair response. In my case the limit is the driver not the car."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A very fun car

By on Sunday, June 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, versatile, good mpg, reliable"

Cons: "bad cupholders, not 4WD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a new 2009 Porsche Cayman S two years ago. I have owned many luxury sports cars over the years, and none of them can compare to the Porsche Cayman. It's fast, handles great, reliable, and it gets about 24 mpg. When I bought the Cayman, I was a bit concerned about lack of trunk space. I was wrong. Every week I go to costco, fill my cart, and put it all in my Cayman. The Cayman is a very versatile car. I am also amazed by the quality of the car. It feels like its carved out of a single piece of metal. The only negatives to the cayman are that the cupholders don't hold cups that great, and that it isn't four wheel drive. Since its only rear wheel drive, I cant drive it in the Chicago winters. Other than that, the cayman is the perfect car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2010 cayman pdk trans

By on Tuesday, April 05, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great car, super handle, love bluetooth and heated seat, a lot of torque for a performance car. specially PDK trans is the best. No clutch and super fast with paddle shifters."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best porsche

By on Monday, January 10, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"purchased a 2009 cayman and knew i should have paid the extra for the S version. traded after 1 month and got killed but got the better performing S. having owned a variety of cars including turbo porsches, i find the 2009 cayman S truer to porsche legacy...styling, handling and outright performance than anything offered currently. the no spare is problematic and is never out of my mind."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, August 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Beautiful Toy!!!!!

By on Sunday, May 16, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Coolest thing I have ever owned. Can't believe how much fun it is to drive, how good it sounds, how well it shifts (6 speed), how gorgeous it is just to look at. Mine is a new '09 Non-S model, 18" S wheels, sand interior. And to think I almost bought a new GMC Sierra 4x4. God I love it. Makes you feel like Sean Connery from an old Bond movie."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Cayman A Good Sports Car, But Cramped

By on Sunday, April 18, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"The 2.9L Flat 6 sounds great, pulls great. This is plenty of power for everyday use and will easily help with passing cars and freeway onramps. This is also a pretty light car at just under 3000lb. Exterior design grows on you and the front is same as 911 (911 owners pay more for an older design and a "different" driving car with so much weight in the tail). The pop up spoiler is a little small (too cute), but the lip spoiler provides a nice visual touch. Interior fit and finish are excellent with the exception of a minor rattle from passenger side (not constant). Cabin can be claustrophobic on warm days and long drives. Materials are first class and the standard seats are firm, supportive, and look good with beautiful stitching. For a sports car, storage space is sufficient but not great. This car would be awesome on a track or closed course. The 19" low profile tires (235/35; 265/35) with the Cayman's suspension makes for a HARD ride on most California roads. I really wish I had 18" for a potentially better ride and good looks (17" standards are probably better for everyday, but they might look "too small." My car came with the 19" Carrera S II wheels and Pirelli P-Zeros, which give it a beautiful and aggressive look. Functionality versus Aesthetics is a tough battle with these cars. The lack of a spare tire is discomforting for longer trips - the foam stuff only works on some situations, not all. I'm sure the Road Side Assistance is not the quickest or most convenient. In this economy, you can get good deals on Porsche models. In this economy, it is not always that "cool" to be driving around in an impractical, exotic-looking, high-priced sports car. This is NOT a daily commuter car. It is a second or third car or weekend car. For most people, a BMW 335i or MB C350 would provide daily driver practicality, more passenger space, and lower-cost maintenance. For the purely emotional, there is no passing up Porsche racing history and that fulfillment of a boyhood dream."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great Handling, Small Cabin

By on Saturday, April 10, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"The 2009 Cayman is fast enough for street use, so I decided to save the money than going with the 'S' version. I'm still in the break-in period (2k mi under 4200 RPM), so I have not tested it's true potential. But plenty of power and responsiveness come on between 3000-4000RPM. This is a relatively light car at just under 3000lbs., so the base model is sporty enough. The manual gearbox is smooth and the clutch is not too hard. My car came with 19 inch Carrera II wheels, which can feel very hard over bumpy roads. Interior quality is excellent, with the exception of one minor rattle toward the passenger stereo speaker. I got a generous discount since this is a leftover 09 and Porsche is not offering any good financing or lease deals on these. The base stereo sounds weak for a 50k+ car. Xenon, Bluetooth, iPod were all options when they should be standard. Stick with the 17" and 18" wheels for driving around town. The 19" look good, but are better suited for a track."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

best you ever had

By on Thursday, May 21, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"this car is the best car you can buy in 2009 because of all the pulotion and the money problem. If you were to buy this car then you would be very proud in its performance and the condition. And also you would know that you would of made very good deal."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Porsche Cayman near Honolulu. See local deals