Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2012 Porsche Boxster

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 80 Ratings for the 2005 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.8/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

great handling, great to look at, fun to drive

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "squeaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great car: however not worth the price: does not hold its value as well as i thought it would. Expensive to purchase, but when trading in most dealers do not come close to blue book value"

13 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Total blast to drive

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, storage is surprisingly ample."

Cons: "Sticker price is high"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great fit and finish, power and design."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Disappointing!

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Workmanship, ergonomics pricey to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I bought this car new, and have had this car four years. At 50,000 miles wear and tear are catching up with poor design and workmanship: radio goes out all the time, floor mats won't stay in place, cup holders break, seat leather is breaking down. I had a 1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS-T before this, and that car held up better. While the car was on warranty, I didn't mind so much taking it in 2 or 3 times a year when things randomly broke. But 2 years I bought a Honda Element, and the overall quality of ergonomic design and materials is so superior to that of the Porsche -- and nothing ever breaks down. Getting the Porsche fixed is expensive, too, especially since the only thing the dealers will do is replace parts; they can't fix anything. I will definitely not buy a Porsche again."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Awesome...Shame it EATS rear tyres

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Goes round corners quicker than electric"

Cons: "V bad tyre wear due to the agressive porsche set u"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A really fun car to drive..brilliant"

Great car to drive

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even my wife drives it with the convertible manual to automatic transmission. Corners like a race car"

Great car i would recommend this to anyone!

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very Fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is great to drive! the way it corners, and brakes. it is truly a great peice of enginering! I have takin her across many roadtrips and is always fun to put the top down and fly past people. the S version has an amazing sound, i dont know about the non S but i would think its sound isnt to bad either."

Good power, brakes and balence. Good fuel mileage

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Golf clubs fit in rear trunk, great engine sound"

Cons: "Feeds on rear tires."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 3rd Boxster, and I used to race Formula Fords. The handling is as close to a race car as you will find on the street and still enjoy driving it."

Have to drive to appreciate

By on Thursday, July 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling"

Cons: "Small radio station buttons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has it all if you want a true sports car experience. The mid-engine results in great hold in curves. The braking is unsurpassed (as rated in Consumer Reports). The only thing I don't like about it are the small buttons for stations on the radio. The Bose sound system is great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2008 Boxster RS60 Spyder

By on Saturday, July 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Extremely good handling and performance, solid build quality and materials, fun to drive."

Cons: "Expensive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In my opinion, with exception of the GT3, the Boxster is the best car Porsche makes. The engine is in the middle, so its driving dynamics are impeccable. Also, there is a purity to the Boxster that older Porsches possess, but the 996 and 997 Carreras may have lost, with all their complicated systems and rear suspension set-ups employed to tame their rear engine configuration/bias. The Boxster is light, honest, fast, gorgeous and absolutely wails when you give it the spurs (especially in RS60 trim) - just like a Porsche should. And its a convertible. The best convertible. (More structurally robust than a 997 Carrera Cabriolet, due to its shorter wheelbase.) It features great build quality (at least the 987 (2005 onward) model cars do) and has been problem free in my experience. I give this review on the Boxster while also owning two 911 Carreras and a Mercedes and having owned BMWs (even M cars), other Mercedes, supercharged Jaguars, etc. Boxsters really are great cars, coming from someone who has been around a few cars."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Awesome

By on Saturday, April 16, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my second Boxster S. I originally purchased a 2004 Boxster S. The 25 extra horses and chassis improvements are noticeable. Dual trunks make the car practical for everyday driving. You'll generate frequent looks and compliments from colleagues and passersby. The only negative is not offering an iPod connection; dealer-installed aftermarket only that provides audio engine feedback during high revs. Be prepared for expensive servicing. A simple oil change will run $500. It's like living in NYC. Once you've done it, nothing else is quite the same. And the sound of that engine......"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Porsche Boxster near Honolulu. See local deals