Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2012 Porsche Boxster

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 83 Ratings for the 2005 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.8/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

S Model is the Best Roadster!

By on Monday, November 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We tested the 911s, Cayman, Z4, and Elise and came away with a Boxster S black on black. The jump in hp with the S is noticable and needed. If we could, we would drop in the 911 S engine. With that engine mounted mid-engine in the Boxster the car would be awesome. As it is, the car handles very well in its design envelope and can be driven comfortably as a daily driver. The 911 is rear biased, but has good power - no. The Cayman is closed up - no. The Z4 is front engined - no. The Elise handles well at the track but is not well sorted with a huge blind spot - no. The Boxster could handle a bigger engine but Porsche will never put as powerful of an engine as any 911 engine into this car. 911 owners would cry foul! Overall the Boxster S has everything we were looking for - a droptop, decent power, very good handling, and a classic design. The Bose stereo is very nice at full volume but you will want to turn it off when you get on the throttle as the boxster engine makes a very nice growl wide open. Mileage is ok at 19 combined. Oh, and get the short shift kit on the 6 speed manual for sweet snappy shifts in the power band. At the track you will definitely want more power, but most times you will be driving on city streets so for that, the S has power a plenty. If you really want and need therapy, this car for what it is, will no doubt make you one very, very happy patient... ;-)"

46 people out of 46 found this review helpful

A Practical Porsche...The Perfect Porsche

By on Friday, November 05, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Pros: Supercar Worthy Handling, Supercar Worthy Brakes, Porsche Flat Six Exhaust Note, Very Solid Gearbox and Clutch, Two Usable Trunks, Good Mileage for the Performance, Porsche Build Quality, Top Down Motoring, Nearly Flawless Ergonomics, A traction control system that when defeated, doesn't ruin the party. It will step in at the last moment however, and keep your ham-fisted self from spinning completely. Cons: No factory I-Pod connection ($500 aftermarket). Even with more sedate driving, tires don't last very long (15,000 miles on Continental Sport Contact 2's). Unless you've owned a Porsche before, feeling like a chump for the first few days of ownership when you automatically try to insert the key into the right side of the steering column (It's to the left of the steering column, on the dash, in classic Porsche racing tradition). The low ground clearance coupled with a longish front overhang, requires slow negotiation at entrances to driveways. Suck it up! It's all totally worth it! General Comments: I wanted the best, daily driver roadster that $40,000 or so could buy and for me, this is it. The two trunks provide enough space for a couple to pack not all that lightly for a week long road trip. 30 mpg on the highway(at legal speeds) is easily attainable. Xenon headlights are far superior to the ones on my BMW X3 (and they were great). The wind deflector that mounts between the front seats is invaluable if you intend to keep your hat above 90 mph. (I can personally attest that this works up to 140, for research's sake of course.) Basically, I recommend buying the newest, lowest mile Boxster you can afford and prepare to smile every time you get behind the wheel."

22 people out of 22 found this review helpful

2005 Boxster

By on Friday, November 09, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is the second Boxster I've owned. The first one had a manual transmission and my current 2005 model is a Tiptronic. I would be inclined to say the manual was more fun to drive, even with less horsepower. The Tiptronic feels slugish and overall, doesn't really feel quick. I was outmatched by my son's 2007 GTI with the DSG transmission. The Boxster's handling is outstanding and the heated seats and Bose sound system are a must for top-down driving. Go for the manual transmission and consider a Boxster S, for the added zip. Otherwise, this Boxster has been an outstanding ride."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

The perfect adult escape

By on Thursday, May 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Engine/exhaust note, interior comfort, quickness"

Cons: "wimpy cup holders.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Despite a screw rattling around in the passenger vent and a top motor malfunction this car is like nothing else. It corners beyond this middle aged man in crisis' ability to break it responsibly from the pavement. Its strong acceleration from midline to redline is thrilling and braking is equally as compliant. Road manners are excellent and comfort exceeds expectations. With a little responsibility it even shatters EPA numbers despite the 19" Carerra wheels and tires (about 1400 a set online). This car is a rush from the time you put the key in the left handed ignition. I could hardly imagine what the S version would be like. In this price segment, if you can find one used in adult driven condition - JUMP at it. You will never have a single regret!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This is a dream car for me.

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very quick, handles amazing, topless in seconds."

Cons: "Be prepared to pay high for small maintenance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you are not interested in having kids, are young and in a good career, or just something for the weekend, I recommend the Boxster S. This car has power in all gears and speeds, handles very smooth. Ride is a little rough, that just being a sports suspension. If you like flashy, people notice it, however, I feel like I tend to babysit it quite a bit. As in parking it closer, or finding places away from most traffic or other people parking. For a sports car it is not to expensive as far as maintenance, but it will run you much more than your average cars out there. This is my daily driver and am very happy with it. I hope this helps others who are looking to buy a Porsche Boxster S."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great roadster.

By on Tuesday, October 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Practical daily driver."

Cons: "Poor interior finishes and materials. Low MPG."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After almost 7 years with this car it is still a wonder to drive. The great handling and balance of this mid-engine convertible are remarkable. Power and accelleration are more than adequate. It is surprisingly comfortable for long trips and local errands, and it has excellent cargo capacity in front and rear trunks. Reliability has been excellent, with some warranty covered convertible top problems as the only service issue. My only real disappointment is the gas mileage of 22-23 MPG in mixed driving. I plan on keeping it another 20 years."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great appearance,reliable,wow factor even after

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great drive head turner,dependable"

Cons: "Extras and parts are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"45000 miles,still turns heads,handles better than any car I've owned,and it stays out of the shop! Great buy!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Third Boxster - love the car

By on Thursday, January 06, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I am on my third Boxster. Pure enjoyment and still practical as a daily driver. The S is well worth the extra $$, you can feel the power difference. In California, you can get the car pool lanes with driver + 1 passenger in a 2 seater, that's one advantage over the 911. Once you are into Porsches, it is hard to switch to anything else. The overall quality is top notch and everything just works and feel right. How many products are like that now?"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nothing but love....

By on Sunday, October 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Second Boxster for me. Bought it new a year ago and had absolutely zero problems. It makes every day a pleasure, even if all you do is look at it in the garage. I don't play golf so I could care less if clubs fit. Year around, top down, even here in Northern California. The design, quality and experience of this car are well worth the cost - which is actually quite affordable, all things considered. I can't imagine not always owning a Porsche."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very Fun and Stylish

By on Saturday, March 05, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have always wanted a roadster, but never thought they were practical enough for my lifestyle. I finally purchased a CPO Boxster as a 3rd vehicle last week, and I love it. It has very responsive steering and acceleration, and it corners amazingly. I thought storage space might be a problem, but I was wrong. If you are going to stick with a factory radio be sure to get one with the Bose package."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great driving dynamics. Could use more power.

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Open air options. Retains value."

Cons: "Lacks sufficient power. Cost of maintenance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned a 2006 base boxster for two years. It has been a great car with no mechanical issues. Extremely fun to drive, but lacks power. Wish I would have bought the Boxster S. My intention is to upgrade to a 981S in the future, either a Cayman or Boxster. Recommend buying used, as the new ones with options are extremely expensive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

First Porsche

By on Thursday, November 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sharp, crisp and has the roar of a race car"

Cons: "radio sound is poor......"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"And may be my last.....I love this car......it turns heads......its fun to drive......has ample storage for a two seater. Pure fun"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Have to drive to appreciate

By on Thursday, July 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling"

Cons: "Small radio station buttons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has it all if you want a true sports car experience. The mid-engine results in great hold in curves. The braking is unsurpassed (as rated in Consumer Reports). The only thing I don't like about it are the small buttons for stations on the radio. The Bose sound system is great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2nd Porsche is the BEST

By on Friday, February 25, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought a 2002 Porsche 911 new and thought I would love it; I liked it, sold it after 3 years, but still missed it. Drove a 2009 Cayman and loved it. If they made a Cayman Targa, i would have bought it in an instant, but since they don't, I could not fathom a sports car completely closed in (NO sun/moonroof available), so I looked at the Boxster, drove it and was 100% sold. 6 Speed, Black with sand Beige; 18 " Boxster S wheels and a few other extras was all I needed. I would not recommend it if you can only have one car, but it is a great therapy vehicle. Not been unhappy with anything about it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Red Hot Cool

By on Wednesday, December 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2011 Guards Red Boxster S, manual. That's all I really need to say...right? Oh, the black leather Sport seats with guards red stitching, the guards red seat belts, the guards red instrument panel, more than icing on the cake. How does it drive? Better than it even looks, if that's possible. If you've never driven a Porsche, go to your local dealer. They'll let you drive one and you can see for yourself. That's what I did. Enjoy life to the fullest with the top down."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

AWESOME!!

By on Tuesday, August 10, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Purchased in 7/10 after lots research and can is the best choice ive made after owning corvettes in the past. Love it!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Allways a Porsche !!

By on Sunday, January 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my first Porsche and wont be the last! great performance and if you know a little how to take advantage of manual gears its enough power to enjoy every second of driving . doing 23 mpg city and 31 hyw and using midgrade gas also. so far looking to change rear tires(22K miles) and are expensive but it is worht it belive me !!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Just Drive one!!!

By on Wednesday, December 23, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"If you enjoy rolling hills, S turns and on ramps to the highway, you have to get this car. Just the sound of the engine at idle is enough to get your heart pounding. Read the reviews see what others say but to truly appreciate this vehicle, you just need to drive one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1st Porsche, Won't be last

By on Tuesday, September 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Beautiful car, get compliments all the time. Fantastic performance, not one bit of trouble in 3 years. Not cheap but as they say, there is no subsitute."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome Driving Car

By on Friday, May 22, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased my 2005 Boxter with about 9,500 miles on it and have been loving it ever since. I only had a couple of minor issues including the horn stopped working and the light in the visor stopped working, but the warranty covered both. The only negative is that the car just doesn't have enough power. I should have gone for the "S" with closer to 300 hp. The car is very fun to drive here in NW Atlanta with all of the hills and curves. Not as much fun on the straight roads. I'll probably pay this one off and buy a Cayman "S" next."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Ride

By on Thursday, April 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"had the car two years this month. 24k miles and absolutely no problems. Two trunks is great. Formerly owned SLK 320 and you had to choose whether you wanted to carry luggage or drive with the top down + the Merc. had tons of quality issues. I would definately recommend the Porsche to anyone who wants a stylish, dependable German thoroughbred."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Total blast to drive

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, storage is surprisingly ample."

Cons: "Sticker price is high"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great fit and finish, power and design."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Top world class convertible

By on Monday, January 11, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"No need to say much, just the best convertible in the world for the money, look and performance (love it in neutral for accelerating on downhill, nimble passing power and great exhaust sound)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best of Three

By on Sunday, November 15, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had three Porsches... a 968, a 993, and now this 987. This is the best Porsche I have of all of them. Everyone thinks the 911 is the best... given the same motor, the Boxster would eat its cookies!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Theres nothing like a porsche

By on Thursday, July 16, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Some car are faster, some cars are flashier. Few compare to the maneuverability and handling of a porsche. Lets face it, this is one fun car to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Porsche Boxster near Honolulu. See local deals