Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2005 Porsche 911

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 121 Ratings for the 2005 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.8/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

phenonomonal beautiful ride

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"beautiful classy car under warranty certified pre owned"

The best porsche I have owned…. of seven

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Stops me from dreaming of more..."

Amazing Handling and Performance

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Performance, 4-seats, Ride Not too Agressive"

Cons: "Basic Stock Options are limited"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The vehicle is well balanced and not too aggressive for daily driving. The four seats work in a pinch for short trips and as Z06 owner, this car puts the power down with no hesitation or tire spin..."

Great car and practical as a daily driver

By on Friday, November 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast, solid, reliable and iconic."

Cons: "Can be costly to maintain/repair. Skip the PCCB's"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

With Cargraphic lowering springs and HRE P-43 wheels

"I ordered my 2006 Carrera S new, including some very pricey options. I now have nearly 120,000 miles on the car including more than 2,000 track miles and have to say the Carrera has been an excellent car. It only comes up short in a couple areas. 1. It is expensive to buy and maintain but that shouldn't be a surprise. Thankfully, it's been a very reliable car despite being driven very hard at times. 2. Some of the interior aluminum-looking parts are actually plastic and haven't held up that well. On the newer models (type 991) they are real aluminum so the quality has improved. I've only had a couple major service issues. The clutch was replaced at 110,000 miles. The air/oil separator failed at about 80,000 miles. The serpentine belt has been replaced twice. And, the windshield has been replaced three times. It might just be bad luck but I've never had glass that was so easy to chip and crack. At $1,000 a pop, replacements are painful. What would I do differently? I ordered this car with PCCB ceramic brakes and X-51 Powerkit. The PCCB's are great on the road but I ruined them on the racetrack. Porsche said I overheated them and I ended up switching to Porsche iron rotors instead of paying $10,000+ to replace the PCCB's. The X-51 Powerkit does provide a bit more power and nice top end rush but isn't worth the price in terms of performance gain. And, if/when I sell the car, I don't think I'll see much gain in resale value for this $16k option. Otherwise it's been a fabulous car and I hope to drive it to 200k miles before moving on to something else."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

With Cargraphic lowering springs and HRE P-43 wheels

Best Porsche I have owned out of 6.

By on Sunday, October 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great driver."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great driver in all regimes. The active PASM in the sport modeallows me go have the lateral stabilty in turns matched to that of the Boxsters I have (2). I can make fast turns without worrying about tail skids. It feels as a 50/50 weight distribution. In normal setting ifgives a comfortable ride for long ddistance driving. Plenty of power and gearbox combination makes it a real pleasure to drive. 2d and 5th gears provide great, fast acceleration response for any situation. Interior is comfortable well appointed. The M97 engine gives peace of mind compared to the M96 engines I have owned."

Nothing else comes close!

By on Friday, August 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, ease of use, perfect record"

Cons: "Tiptronic limits performance somewhat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '06 Carrera S Cab this past year with 28K miles on it. It was been everything I expected it to be and more. It has the Tiptronic transmission, which is convenient, but does limit performance somewhat. It's still incredibly fast! Mine has the Sport Chrono package, which is definitely worth it. The ride setting are dramatically different and allow for optimization depending upon use. The car has been flawless and has had no warranty work ever. We love the full power top and like that you don't have to stop to put it down or up (can do so up to 30 mph). It was a real value to buy it pre-owned from a private party. It's been a great car."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The car is a great sports car

By on Monday, June 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mechanically it is fantastic to drive."

Cons: "Computer and nav are awful"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything is great except the computer system on the car. It is an absolute nightmare to use. Even the radio is combersum to use. This car needs to scrap all the computer systems then it would be a dream to own."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A wonderful sports car!!

By on Wednesday, April 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Real sports car ride and fun to drive"

Cons: "Expensive to service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Makes me smile every time I get behind the wheel!"

Easy car to own and operate

By on Thursday, January 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to own and drive"

Cons: "Strong engine and drive systems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent second car. Great road car and fun to drive. Very reliable and cost to own and operate has been very low compared to a VW I previously owned."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car on earth

By on Wednesday, October 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling!"

Cons: "Everything Porsche has their name on min $100"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Look out

"Great car to drive! Best car I have ever owned. Water pump went out and the tach went out thank god I purchased the warranty!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Look out

Every woman should drive and own one!! lol!!

By on Friday, July 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive..beautiful sports car"

Cons: "cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A perfect machine that saved my life with its performance!It drives me! Its sexy fast and perfect! Watch out men you could be replaced;0 Love my 911 C4S Cab!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazing machine

By on Thursday, June 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling,breaking, fun, fast top"

Cons: "trunk/ cant have every thing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I should have been driving Porsche's years ago. MB,BMW,lex, don't old a candle to the overall versatility of this car. There are faster line cars on the road but nothing handles in traffic like this car. It almost has a mind of its own cutting thru traffic messes like a knife thru butter. While I just used to think about cutting in and out this car has all ready moved around three cars. Breath taking performance."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

GT3 - the best 911

By on Tuesday, May 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive- great styling, excellent performance"

Cons: "Seats are tight - maintenance can be pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third 911, a 2007 GT3. I have owned a 1996 and 2006 911. The GT3 is the best of the best. Performance - over the top; Looks - always turns heads; Comfort - above average; Fit and Finish - top quality. Very strong engine, pulls through gear and rev range. Be sure to change your oil every 4,000 to 5,000 miles. Keeps all the internal parts clean and working efficiently. Should be on everyone's bucket list!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this car!!!

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Expensive but well worth the money."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 997 body style is timeless and forward thinking. The evolution of the 911 proves that it is not only a car bearing a pedigree in a historical icon, but also continues to hold it's appeal in modern design aesthetics. This is a surpurb car that turns heads, and even better, delivers an incredible drive and feel for the road."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The best vehicle I've ever owned!! Fast, reliable

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Style, handling, quality, fun factor, etc."

Cons: "Cost of operation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Quality build. Expensive to maintain. Replacing tires will be outrageous, but WORTH the fun. Too much fun to drive. Get's thumb's up all the time from bystanders. Sound of sports exhaust is great. Handling dynamics never disappoint. Brakes? C'mon, it's a Porsche 911. Wide body looks awesome. This is my second 4S!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

excellent car

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great all around car."

Great car

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent warranty"

Cons: "initial and service costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car sounds great in sport mode. Its driving dynamics are wonderful. The heated seats and great heater allow you to drive with the top down even when it is cold out. The PASM allows you to get the tailout a little before it reels you in. The car make you appear a better driver. Oh and it gets 28mpg cruising on the interstate with the top up."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Greatest car I've ever owned!!

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a true drivers car. If you are looking for a quiet, isolated feeling this is not the car for you. If you love to drive and appreciate the refined feel of a true sports car there is no better auto for you. I've had Corvettes, M3s, a Cobra kit car, and multiple others. My 911 Carrera S is heads and shoulders above them. The feedback, ride, handling, etc all combine for a near perfect experience. As a bonus, I am 6'4" tall and this is one of the few cars I fit into comfortably. It was designed with a lot of leg/headroom which is a real plus. I have a cabriolet which I highly recommend as well as the sport button which allows you to toggle between smoother/firmer suspension settings as well as milder/linear acceleration curves. This isn't must have for driving around Dallas on our choppy roads."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car the most fun that I ever had driving"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing car!!

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sexy looks, very fast, great handling"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's expensive, but it's worth every penny. Amazing ride, very fast acceleration, amazing handling, and very luxurious inside. Exterior looks are classic, and especially from the back it looks very exotic."

Best car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall best sports car for the money in every aspect."

Bucket List buy for everyone

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, brings a smile every time you drive"

Cons: "narrow sport seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I use it for my daily driver. Great handling, does everything well. Sport wheels/low profile tires require being constantly aware of pot hole presence."

Incredible engineering and quality

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful, great handling, great brakes, feels good"

Cons: "Frameless windows, cup holder design."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love, the car. A ton of fun, looks and reliability. If I have to pick a flaw....cupholders. Which is irrelevant in a car like this. I have had no issues, and it makes me happy whenever I drive it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best sports car ever. Targa is unique

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Targa is a head turner. Joy to drive."

Cons: "no negative comments"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Targa 4S is fun to drive, reliable and great looking."

great fun for a few days in a row

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "like a fast motorcycle but safer"

Cons: "you only live once decision"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it is a motorcycle with four wheels. great driving experience. could not drive on a daily basis due to tight fit and tight right it starts to wear on you but in moderation it has to be one of the most fun cars in the world to drive"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Porsche 911 near Honolulu. See local deals