Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2004 Porsche 911

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 199 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.8/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Great car for the price. Only year of the Cab C4S.

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Its a work of automotive art"

Cons: "Radio is less than stellar given todays standards."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2004 C4S Cab has to be one of the best values around for a true performance sports car. It's my 2nd Porsche in 30 year. Quick, great exhaust note. Real head turner and for a 14 year old vehicle, it still looks and feels current. Great gas mileage considering the performance characteristics. I average 24 on most trips."

8 people out of 17 found this review helpful

The supercar it once was back in '01 still thrills

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Character, reliability, speed, confort, upgradable"

Cons: "The new models are su much better and faster..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is such a gem. You have to own it to learn that 600+HP on an American car will never be the same as 500HP (ECU tuned) on this car. This is classy, modern, reliable and will always be a PORSCHE 911 TURBO. I've own it for 14 years. 24,500 miles so far. Oil and filter changed every year. Garage kept. It looks new. I wouldn't sell it right now as it still puts a smile on my face every time I drive it."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great used car value.

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Driving pleasure and quality of engineering."

Cons: "IMS issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2004 C4S cabriolet is the eighth Porsche that I have owned over the last 36 years, starting with a 1974 914 2.0 in 1978. The other seven have all been 911s. I couldn't be happier with the performance and value of this car. Although the IMS issue is a concern, there are liabilities with almost any vehicle. I owned a 2005 BMW 645ci convertible for a short period between 911s (in 2012). Although they are beautiful cars, all of the electronics and battery issues made it a real headache, and it couldn't compare to my joy in driving 911s. I hope that I'll be fortunate enough to drive my '04 C4S cab for years to come."

20 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Fun car to own and drive

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,111

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love the car and enjoy driving it. Highly recommend the car."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

my 2003 carrera 4s

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price,set ups dont by fstuningea and p of or"

Cons: "cup holders fact"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"has over $41,000 invested car is xclean.the most fun to drive for less than a $100.000.been driving porsche for last 18yrs."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Best Porsche I have ever owned. Highly recommend!

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Read the credible reviews. They are all true."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,888

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive, great fun with the top down"

Cons: "Vehicle service is expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned the vehicle for 6 months. The car is a great driving experience. The engine is great. Great sound and great acceleration. Always a head turner, even though the car is 14 years old. There are many great options for upgrading the body and wheels. Can't wait for warm weather road trips."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

fast and fun

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "looks fantastic, drives like on rails"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"purchased 2001 Carrera 4 2.5 years ago with 35k miles for $29k. car was over 100k new-have sticker. fun, fast beautiful, dependable a true joy to own and drive-for the price of a new camry. take your time looking and wait for the right one-low miles, great shape, records and then live a little."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

By far the best vehicle I ever owned.

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, looks, fun."

Cons: "Lack of technology; leather starting to crack."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A wonderful car in all respects. Fun to drive, a solid, quality feel, and difficult to give up because it is so reliable."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

A True Drivers Car

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's been a dream of mine to own a Porsche since I first laid eyes on one during a visit to Germany in the early seventies. In fact, I came close to owning one in the early eighties when a friend of mine wanted to do me a straight up trade for his 911T and my 78 Silver Anniversary Corvette. Though that deal fell through, in 2011, after three months of research and another three to negotiate the price, I purchased my C4S. I must say that of all the cars I've ever owned or driven; and there have been many, nothing quite captures the real drivers experience of this car. Once you get in, you truly become part of it. I could go on forever, but could never explain to those who've never shared this space. Like I did and for those who continue to dream of owning one of these machines I can only say... keep your passion alive."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best car folr the money that I have owned

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a really excellent vehicle in all respects."

Best Driving Car EVER. $Maintenance Required$

By on Saturday, January 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "FUN, responsive, affordable, quick, classy"

Cons: "Expensive and regular maintenance. $20K+ engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I was looking to replace the thrill of my motorcycle with something a bit more safe. I FOUND IT. This is the most responsive car I've ever driven. I feel like a race car driver in this thing (and I think they want you to feel that way). It's very easy to control while cornering, stopping, etc. 0-60 in under 4 seconds (sport bike quickness) and doesn't feel "scary" while doing it. Refined and controlled. Here's the bad part. Fairly regular maintenance that isn't cheap. Lots of things CAN break. Many of them can kill the engine which is north of $20K to replace. So, you'll end up likely spending about $500 every 5 or 6 months to properly maintain this beast. The question...is it worth it? Well..I didn't spend $105K when this was new, so for the 19K I DID spend..the maintenance IS worth it thus far. Ask me again later if I ever blow up the engine. lol Probably the MOST fun a regular guy can have in a rich guys car. This WILL hang with nearly ANYTHING on the road..give or take a length...AND chicks dig it."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "no gps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"looks like the day it left the dealer and has been serviced there since"

Show room condition with carbon fiber, new tires

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "$39,500 firm, cd player, sunroof, full leather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Black on Black in showroom condition, new tires, carbon fiber package, always garaged, no dents or scratches. Very well maintained with work records. Wide body/shoulders."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

You would be most fortunate to own one

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You want C4 if you have doubts at all about your skills as a driver. I do, that is to operate at a level that challenges the car. I have no interest in spin outs or all four corners smashed. I do drive spritely. I like AWD. It is proven to beat two wheel drive in all conditions. I do have expensive time to time problems. I did the IMS. I could afford it and I did it for piece of mind. The bearing was fine and I got a new clutch and other things done at the same time 4400 bucks. If you gasp, tires are expensive too. This is about identity. This is about driving a fantastically novel and nimble car. Make your choices. Be happy ith them and dont complain about them later. You are among the rarest of drivers to ever own a 911. Look down upon all mankind. In your nursing home bed someday you will not think of the money you spent, only the pinnacle you acheived. Buy it.The newer ones are only marginally better. Not worth the cost . 25 k for a nice c4. You are all good. Have it Porsche inspected pre purchase for God sake."

20 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Best Value High Performance Car

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best value of any high performance car"

Cons: "AWD is not for everybody, but I love it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the 3rd owner of this more rare wide body C4S coupe. It has all the bells and whistles of a stock S model, is silver with light grey interior. The car is stock except for FabSpeed Headers, Cats, Muffler, and Competition Intake, which reduced some weight and added maybe 35-45 horsepower. I have not driven other high performance cars like Ferrari or Lambo, Aston, but this car I guarentee has all the power and handling capability of those cars at a much better value. The acceleration is awesome in 2nd, 3rd , 4th and 5th, i use first to get started only and am only talked about revs to like 4500...this car is so fast and powerful especially for the street. Braking is unreal, and the stock pads are so sturdy and longlasting, and do not sqeak at all under any driving. I know a Ferrari enthusiast who also owns Porche as well, and have to agree that for your money, sturdines, and pure driving experience with incredible power and handling, nothing is equal to a Porche."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A great car for touring, a blast to drive

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A great car to drive."

Cons: "The IMS will need to be replaced sometime"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a used low mileage (8000 mi) C4S with no regrets. The 4WD handling is precise and secure. There is more than enough power for any sane person. Perfect for the road conditions here in the mountains. The interior is flawless; the electric seats are the most comfortable I've sat in. Only mechanical problem I've had was the passenger side electric window regulator failed, which was likely due to not being used in 10 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Invokes emotional connection - For sure

By on Saturday, September 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Appear to be a bitt fragile"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The 996 is an amazing driving experience when things are working...When they don't(I've had major electrical gremlins with my car), there are a lot of expensive annoyances. I had a failed ignition switch, bad coils and a failed headlight light switch all happen within 3 months. This is in addition to a failed display panel for temp..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

nice condition damage but has a salvage title

By on Sunday, September 22, 2013

I don't own this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"what us a fair price to pay..... thank you car has been repaired professionaly"

Great road car!

By on Friday, August 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable"

Cons: "Can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We took the C4S from the Bay Area to Sun Valley, Idaho, 2,200 miles all on the back roads. Very comfortable and a ton of fun. Averaged 23 mpg while crusing 80-90 mph. Very happy overall with the Porsche."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

WOW.

By on Thursday, August 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun, Fast, Attractive, Refined when driven lightly"

Cons: "Slim seats (I'm 175), Less than impressive speaker"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this because I'm getting too old to ride a crotch rocket motorcycle. My reflexes aren't what they used to be and that can equal death on a motorcycle. This IS a crotch rocket on 4 wheels. The engine has a similar higher rpm powerband and propels the car like a slingshot. Additionally, the rear engine and racing tone give me sort of a "street" indy car feeling. I'm afraid to break it but can't help but "use" the performance every now and then. It doesn't disappoint. @ $22k for an engine...I PRAY to never blow it up. The car feels more comfortable @ 90 than 45...etc. I find myself taking the freeway for things like getting ice cream, gas, etc. A pure addiction, I LOOK for reasons to take it out. FUN CAR."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I should have waited!

By on Monday, July 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Wow! Step on the throttle!"

Cons: "I can't take it on every trip."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I should have waited, but after 20 years of being an absent Porsche owner I would have been better off going with a normally aspirated 911 4S. Instead, I bought a 2004 911 Cabriolet TURBO. This car is awesome. Every time I turn the key my heart jumps. When you accelerate know before hand where you want to go...because that's where you'll be once you release the brake. I am so very happy with this car. I just wish my wife of 45 years could understand that this beauty is second only to her. She thinks it rides rough. I say it handles precisely...etc. Where ever I go in this car it draws attention. Park it to run into the store and when you return it will have accumulated a small audience."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

what a great car!

By on Friday, June 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price on a 2000 is in the affordability range for"

Cons: "Needs to be garaged, you don’t want your baby gett"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just a beautiful car that performs well. Everything about it is quality. Very fun to drive; I look for excuses to drive it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

BEST USED SPORTS CAR FOR THE MONEY

By on Friday, April 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"PURCHASED TIPTRONIC COUPE 2-15-13 THIS CAR IS AMAZING-THE PRICE WAS A BARGAIN FOR THIS BRAND, IF YOU HEARD THAT THIS CAR IS NOT REALLY A PORSCHE-BELIEVE ME IT IS!--JUST TAKE YOUR TIME AND DO YOUR RESEARCH WHEN BUYING---GET A TOTAL INSPECTION OF THE CAR FROM TOP TO BOTTOM, IF THINGS CHECK OUT, YOU WILL NOT REGRET YOUR PURCHASE."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Amazing!

By on Friday, October 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extremely smooth freeway ride, phenomenal braking"

Cons: "cupholders could be better for this orig $94K car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this used 40th Anniversary Edition 911 in January 2009 just as the economy began its downslide. In terms of value, the dealership originally wanted $52000 before the economy slid, and I was able to buy the car for $41000 with 23000 miles on the odometer. Amazing deal, and amazing car! Very reliable with immeasurable handling and meticulous fit and finish. This loaded car, albeit without GPS is rare, with only 1963 produced. This is a keeper car for sure and it's in A1 condition. Not for sale, ever, this car exudes power in it's 345 hp configuration. If you can find one, I highly recommend it!"

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Porsche 911 near Honolulu. See local deals