Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2008 Pontiac Solstice

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 261 Ratings for the 2006 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next

head turner

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

"I bought the car two years ago. Fell in love with the style the first time I saw it. Just like 50s corvets. It is an American sport car. Rough and tough. I put in 24000 miles. No leaks or drips, runs better now than new. The only draw back are the seats, unconfortable and too low, Poor rear view visibility."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Sunday, April 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good gas mileage, looks great"

Cons: "Manual top, damagability of lower front"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Ready to hit the roads!

"Have had my Solstice for 5+ years. Drove it to work daily. I am petite so it fits me perfectly. It is very comfortable. Seats slide forward and then power up and down. It is Mean Yellow (yes that is the actual name of the color) and turns heads. The 5 speed turbo is powerful. Road noise for a convertible is less than normal with the acoustic top. The handling is nice and tight with no slippage on the curvy back roads. Couple things I wish were different. I wish the convertible top was powered up and down, rather than manual. I wish the seats were heated as leather is cold in the winter, but the car warms up quickly. Lastly, I dislike the little metal piece that goes across the bottom of the front of the car. The car sits so low that it gets scratched when parking if it hits the concrete "bumpers" in parking lots."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Ready to hit the roads!

2008 GXP owner...the bad stuff

By on Wednesday, March 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Handles awesome, turns heads, fast"

Cons: "Temperamental, repairs are costly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"We all know that American cars aren't built like they used to be. But expect some surprises with your Solstice. While I hands down have more of what you would call a "love affair" with my car, it can definitely be temperamental. Be extremely careful with the coolant system and never open the coolant reservoir when the engine is warm. There is a tendency to get air bubbles that will overheat the engine. In addition, I've had to replace my water pump and thermostat while still under power train warranty, and just today 1 month out of the power train warranty, I had to have a new coolant fan assembly installed for a whopping $840. On a car just over 5 years old, garage kept, and regularly maintained, I expect more. All said though, you'd be hard pressed to have a more fun, nostalgic convertible, and it's a real head turner."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great ride with a minor flaws.

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fast, Reliable, Great Design, Killer Handling"

Cons: "No trunk space, no power top, tough to get in/out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my GXP with just under 8k on the odometer in 2011. I've put about 9500 miles on it in the past year and can say that I'm very pleased overall with this car. The acceleration is on par, if not better than, my 1998 Camaro Z28 Convertible. Build quality appears to be top notch as well. Handling is fantastic and I'd put it up against just about anything out there, past or present. My biggest complaints? While it's no Lotus Exige, getting in and out of this car is a major pain in the butt and you'd best be a contortionist to do so. Also, the trunk might be big enough to hold a change purse or maybe a gym bag...and that's it. It holds NOTHING if the top is down. The only other complaint would be the lack of a power top. It's truly a pain to open/close the top. Given its shortcomings, I would highly recommend this car. As an everyday driver, perhaps a little less so. As a weekend cruiser, second car, or your track/canyon carver...definitely. Biggest mistake GM made was NOT keeping this car as a performance option for, say, Buick."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Fun to drive auto. Will attract wolf whistles

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun sports car to drive"

Cons: "limited room for baggage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This auto very fun to drive and it is a true sports car. This car bought by my late wife and although I have driven it in the summer only I decided to sell the car. It has been stored in my garage during the winter from Nov. to April every year."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Pontiac Solstice near Honolulu. See local deals