Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 Pontiac G5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 171 Ratings for the 2007 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

nice sporty compact

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I find this car to be a decent value, good gas mileage, and sporty. Nicely equipped base model. My only fault I find is over 60 mph the gas mileage drops off dramatically. Could have geared it a little more for highway without losing it's get up and go. Still average over 30 mpg (mixed)' just had to keep it under 65 on the highway."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very nice vehicle

By on Thursday, January 03, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am very pleased with this car. I would say that the problems I've read about here are real. Small trunk opening and bad blind spots. However the snow driving I can not agree with, with the opitional traction control system, this car is very drivable in the snow. Over all a great little car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good little daily and long haul driver

By on Sunday, September 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good price, sporty, good acceleration, Reliable"

Cons: "Poor clearcoat above windows on doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"A resonably priced vehicle and has been extremely reliable to me. i have driven it across the west coast twice now had no problems with it ever. Its a GM product if you take care of it it will take care of you!!! with a few mods here and there it can be turned into a more sportier and way more reliable car then the 2.4 lt GT edition! The only thing i can say is that it was a poor clear coat of paint on the upper portion of the doors. i has peeled and faded off of mine and i have seen it happen to quite a few others. This is a great first car to buy for a student. Or a great car to have your first loan out on. Or just a great commuter!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Short Commute Car

By on Saturday, April 02, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"Pros: A great short commuter car. Good gas mileage (I average 28mpg) and it handles well. The interior cabin has little road noise and the ac/heat unit works great. Have had no problems with the stereo and love the mp3 player jack. The cruise control which is great for highway trips. Good pick-up for the engine type and it rides well on the highway. Cons: There were 2 recalls(one for the power steering and one for the fuel system). Mine also has an issue with the front suspension/brakes causing intermittent unnerving rattling which has been unrepairable. It gets fixed and then starts up again. The backseat is almost unusable due to the lack of leg room. If you're tall, you have to lean the seat back all the way to be able to see out the front window completely without the rear-view mirror getting in the way which is uncomfortable because the driver seat offers no lumbar support . The trunk is huge but it's difficult to use because of the small opening. If you're driving short distances it's a great car but if you have over a 30 minute commute, you may want to look at another vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Tuesday, March 15, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love my 2007 G5. It gets great gas mileage (about 30 MPG AVG) Its a great car for me as I use it to commute in. I bought this car new and plan to drive it until the wheels fall off. I do not regret my decision to buy this vehicle at all. Would not be a good fit for families that need a back seat."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Pontiac G5 near Honolulu. See local deals