Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Pontiac Firebird

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 714 Ratings for the 1994 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 143 | Next

Designed with a specific person in mind.

By on Tuesday, April 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "315hp that the common man can afford."

Cons: "Not for the weak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great reliability coupled with terrific performance and price. The interior is like stepping back in time before quality materials, the ride is harsh and punishing coupled with a loud exhaust that makes 95% of the population wince in agony. However, if your looking for power, performance and styling that is out of this world then this car is for you. This was the only car that I found was immediately intimidating to drive. But after several weeks I learned to love the beast. In this day in age with smartphones, hybrids and flappy paddle transmissions this car sticks out like Clint Eastwood in a hipster cafe. Firebird-"Man up or sit down""

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Sports Car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, October 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,959

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great fuel mileage"

Cons: "only holds four passengers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been dependable and has had very little maintenance needed over the 9 years I've owned it. It's a shame they no longer sell the Firebirds anymore."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

'97 Firebird Formula 5.7L V8 - A Phoenix

By on Friday, June 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, v8 5.7L engine, heavy-duty"

Cons: "back seats a bit confined"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Took this pic after a fresh wash!

"Value: 9/10 because it is a bit dated, but still runs like a monster. Driving Dynamics: 10/10 everything is to-par. excellent on maneuvering at fast speeds. Reliability: 10/10 excellent cars, if they are kept in good condition and maintained well, i.e. taken care of. Design: 9.5/10 very sleek and appealing. a bit confined in the back two bucket seats, but you can fit people back there if need be. Quality: 10/10 excellent workmanship. engine is good. car parts are made with higher-grade materials meant for lasting. Interior is comfortable. Comfort: 9/10 only because the back two bucket seats are a bit confined with less space, but they are there if you need them."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My video 

Took this pic after a fresh wash!

My fiancee Burning a lil tire around the corner

Still Gets 25mpg with 258,000 miles DOAH!

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 258,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun Drive, Dependable, Powerful High Mileage Car"

Cons: "Tight fit for people over ~5ft 9in tall"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Other than a replaced transmission at 180,000 miles and new gaskets around 200,000 miles, this car runs clean with NO smoke no oil leaks. And did I mention 25mpg at 258,000 miles?!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Put more money into it than I got out of it!

By on Friday, October 17, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"2 weeks after the warranty ran out, the fuel pump went, had to replace numerous headlamps due to poor design - rain ran into the sockets and continually shorted out the lamps until I applied sealant, after 5th yr, the lights would not pop up had to spend $1,000 to get the mechanism replaced-dealer said headlights were corroded from rust, yah think?! Went through 4 sets of brakes, replaced rotors and drums, had to have 4 way flashers replaced twice along with numerous rear bulbs due to poor design which allowed moisture to creep into back tail lights, tee top leaks slightly when rain is heavy, only good thing is its appearance, good gas mileage, design and has good pickup"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 143 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Pontiac Firebird near Honolulu. See local deals