Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 369 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 74 | Next

Decent GM Sedan

By on Thursday, October 23, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Pluses: Best looking version of this GM platform, good acceleration, comfortable ride, leather interior has held up well, decent handling under normal driving Minuses: Gas mileage is not great- 18mpg average, 3 of 4 power window regulators have went out, excessive wind noise in the cabin at 70mph and higher, engine could use a little more low end torque"

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

great moter with plenty of power 3.5=fun

By on Monday, May 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "amazing performance, grerat handleing, roomy"

Cons: "parts are kind of expensive and some labor is expe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the only thing about the olsmobile intrigues is that the moter is so big that all the parts are tucked under the engine. which means matenience is preety pricey. the tabs on the hood that holds up the black lining put a hole in my power steering hose. they say part is 130 dollars with 4 hours labor at 70 dollars. FOR A HOSE!! so make sure you bend that tab up. on the upside the moter has 215 horses with 230 ft pounds of tourgue. i put a cold air intake on mine and it runs great!! just keep your oil changed and the moter will last forever. the pull from the car when you give it about half throttle is amazing, it kicks down a gear and has variable valve timing around 4 thousand rpms and kicks hard to about 7500 rpm rredline to switch. ITS GOT SOME POWER, i love my oldmobile because its a great disquise for my moter :) i put a performance chip in it with the intake and ive been clocked 0-60 in 5.9 sec and beat a bmw and a hemi charger. i love it, but just the little things are the worst, labor and parts are expensive but its a fun car and im proud to own it"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, August 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have 137,000 miles on this car and this has been the best car that i have ever owned. runs great, the only tune up i have done so far was at 100,000 miles. done rack and pinion, rear shocks and brakes. those have been the only repairs that i have needed to do and it still runs like new. i have owned this car now for over 6 years and may own it for another 6. too bad they don't make them anymore."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

"granny Missile"

By on Monday, September 22, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought a gls off of some guy with about 85k miles. It was neglected badly, which show the engine quality because it runs great. IT DOESN'T SMOKE BUT IT BURNS ABOUT .5 QUARTS PER 1k MILES. The features are great, engine has great power and fuel economy, but the trans is a 3 speed with overdrive so acceleraton can be slow at certain speeds ex: floor it at 40 miles per hour and it blasts up to the redline and you are up to way to fast in no time, but floor it at 50 and it stays at about 2,000 rpm and gets going slowly. Handling is typical front wheel drive, it understeers when you are turning at high speeds (then again mine has almost 90k on it) Governed at 110 after 100 the car feels like it is hovering VERY BAD!!!! be careful!!! The traction control is a real pain if you ever have to drive on gravel or pavement with a little dust/grit on it because it always engages. All in all its a good car, not bad power, bad handling, grown up looks. P.S. My grandma likes my car more than I do."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

So long Olds / GM

By on Thursday, January 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my Intrigue GL used w/3500 miles in 2001, She now has 100k and just had to replace both tie rod ends and a front bearing. Two sets of tires, and brakes. Driven to Miami - Detroit and many places in between. 25 mpg city and 31 hwy. Has all options with exception of Sun Roof, Heated Seat, & Pwr Pass st. Bullet proof in snow of Pittsburgh or the heat of Atlanta. Awesome ride! When GM gets it right, they discontinue it. I've looked at other rides to replace my Intrigue, several times. There are a lot of new toys in new cars, but its not worth the price of entry when I have something this good."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 74 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Oldsmobile Intrigue near Honolulu. See local deals