Go

1996 Oldsmobile 88

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 236 Ratings for the 1992 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next

Fantastic Car

By on Friday, January 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned this car for almost a year now, and love it very much. It's a very strong, well built, styling luxury car great for a family. It drives and handles excellent in the snow and rain better than any car I've ever owned. Plus, this car has never leaked a drop of oil or any type of fluid ever since I've owned it. I like this car better than my Pontiac Transport Mini Van. I would encourage anyone to own a Oldsmobile Delta 88. Parts are also still available and for the price and dependability, it can't be beat."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best GM Production Car

By on Saturday, September 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,755

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Handling"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a Bright White 88 with 168000 miles and it runs like new. I bought this car used in 2000 and the only thing I had to change was the radiator and some cylinder head gaskets. Great Car. Love the mileage and engine. This car's a BOSS."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Be careful of 3800 Engine

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"Think twice about buying this vehicle with the 3800 engine in it. There is a problem with the upper intake manifold at the EGR valve "burning" through. This causes coolant to leak into the engine. It has happened 3 times on the one we own -@ 42K miles and again at 90K & 125K. Dealer could not explain this. Repair will cost $500+."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

this IS my father's Oldsmobile

By on Friday, May 09, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"This full-size sedan matches many compacts for mileage at 26 MPG mixed (city / hwy). 138,000 miles with minimal maintenance surprises. GM got the 4-speed auto trans right on this model - no issues. Good power to pass on highways, acceptable handling with a comfortable ride, quiet and comfortable on long trips. Six seatbelts and yes, you can carry six people (as long as they get along real well!) Huge trunk. Unexciting styling."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable car

By on Friday, July 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very reliable, safe, cheap"

Cons: "sucks a lot of gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Thanks to the Oldsmobile 88, I can always got where I was supposed to go. I parked outside in the below zero weather and it always started. There was a little mishap with the battery cable, but it was never a huge deal, since it was fixable on the spot when it came loose. It had some cosmetic issues such as no AC or radio, but I think that comes with age. Unfortunately, it sucks a lot of gas due to age and the fact that the engine is a V6. But, it is a reliable car for a teenager and is safe. Highly recommend!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Oldsmobile 88 near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement