Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2010 Nissan Xterra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 460 Ratings for the 2005 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

in love with my Xterra

By on Tuesday, May 26, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The only problem I have with my Xterra is the dealerships. (All Nissan Dealerships around my area are VERY RUDE) My Xterra is awsome! I have taken off road severaly times, never hit anything on the bottom! It has enough power to move the suv, and very comfy on road trips. every six months my family (myself, husband and two boys four and five years old) ride in this car easliy for 400 miles. The only thing with that is when my boys get bigger there is only little back seat room...We bought ours NEW!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful

By on Sunday, April 05, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best vehicle I've ever owned...would have another one and will once I drive this until it can't go anymore!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2006 Xterra 4X4 review

By on Sunday, March 29, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Great beast for off-road duties. I patiently waited to sell off my 1996 Isuzu Trooper 4wd for the Nissan. It was worth the wait. I couldn't afford a new one at $27+K. Now I've acquired an '06 for $13K out the door, with 46K miles on it and plenty to go. It has a simple yet durable interior that is suited to me just fine. The off-road package wasn't equipped on this one, so I purchased the skid plates and installed them myself (easy bolt-on job). I've lifted it 4" (3" suspension/1" body) to clear 33" BFG K/O Mud tires. Fantastic off-road ability and the 4" of increased track from the BFG's has provided a very stable ride. The aftermarket suspension/body lift really made all the difference off-road, along with those great BFG's. My next mods will be front and rear air lockers and rocker panel sliders. She's been a good beast to me, with apx. 16mpg. Heck, my '96 Trooper got 16mpg with a 190HP engine and similar off-road abilities, so I'm not disappointed at all with the mpg's. Now's the time to buy the Xterra, and save yourself $17K over new. No need to buy new unless money is no object."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

awesome truck

By on Monday, March 23, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have always been a die-hard Chevy guy, but the new ones just were not comfortable for. So I shopped around and tried some of the other "suvs" - although I may not push my trucks that much, I still wanted to buy one that was based on a truck frame, had decent power, looked different than all the others on the road and would allow me to do some off roading and not have to worry about driving in the New England winters. The X was just about the only suv that really fit my requirements and I was sold as soon as I sat down and put my foot on the pedal! There is no stopping this thing. Gas mileage is no worse than other pickups or SUVs I've owned. Looks sharp driving down the road. 26,000 miles and only oil changes and a battery... Only 2 things I would change - 1: everything scratches too easily (paint as well as interior plastic), 2: if the back was just an inch or 2 longer I would be able to put full 6-foot long items in the back (tables, etc) in the back and still close the hatch (not that I do this too often). If they are still making the X when it's time to buy again I will be getting another - and we are so happy with Nissan that we just bought my wife one of their cars today without any second thoughts."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Sportsman Trcuk

By on Thursday, March 19, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love this car because it allows me to enjoy all my out door activities and then some. Great for fishing, camping, cycling, and any outdoor lifestyle. We bought it to pull our boat and it does so much more. Definitely recommend it to any person with and active lifestyle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2006 Xterra 2WD

By on Monday, January 26, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had my Xterra for 2 years and no mechanical problems so far. Mileage is terrible 12 city/18 hwy. Ride is stiff, but handling is great. I have 3 kids and it's a great vehicle for all their surf boards and boogie boards. Easy clean surfaces. The paint seems to scratch easily and I'm not happy about the resale, but I plan to keep it until it dies and I only have 13,000 on it now."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great

By on Monday, October 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is so good for people who like 2 camp and do things outdoor. Only down side is gas but what do u expect to get with a suv. this is what i get 15.5/23"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

USED BEST BET

By on Sunday, October 12, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I purchased this 2006 Xterra S used in June 06 after my pickup was involved in a crash. I needed something to tow my 3500lb boat and also give me a safe feeling on the road. This was my 3rd generation Xterra but first used(prior rental). The drivetrain is better than ever, fuel mileage with synthetic oil runs around 22-23 mpg. Towing my boat uphill is never a problem, the vehicle seats due give a little back ache on long trips, we are in late 50's. Would buy a fourth Xterra! Only repair in over 40000miles has been battery."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun truck

By on Friday, February 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought this '08 6 months ago. Very pleased with performance. Unlike most people I find the front seats very comfy. Not a lot of passenger leg space for my very tall husband. Stability in rain and snow (3 ft. this year so far) excellent. Not too many bells and whistles to worry about going bad. I believe a better value than my sis's Toyota 4-Runner. Great for camping and road tripping."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Ole Squeaky

By on Saturday, January 19, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"2005 Xterra S Suspension is stiff and squeaks after a bit of ridge running, but Xterras hold their own 4-wheeling. I checked the VDC on an icey road, it works like a charm (took awhile to sort a skid out and turn it back on). If you are in a hurry, this truck is for you; but, it winds up loud. Gas mileage is poor (15 mpg hard driving) to good (19 mpg when light-footing it up to 63 mph). I can get 22+ running sustained 85mph on the highway (I can't figure why). Trust the warranty it is good."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Sunday, January 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"THIS IS MY FIRST SUV, I HAVE ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE OF THE XTERRA! I MOVED FROM TEXAS TO FLORIDA BACK TO TEXAS; HAD GREAT GAS MILEAGE ( 20.5). I HAVE FOUR DOGS THAT LOVE TO TAKE A RIDE IN MY XTERRA, PLENTY OF ROOM; ALSO EASY TO CLEAN,WHEN THEY GET MUDY FEET WITH THE NO CARPET IN THE BACK CARGO AREA. I FEEL VERY SAFE DRIVING IN MY XTERRA, WOULDN'T GET A SMALLER CAR!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good if you don't have kids

By on Tuesday, December 04, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"I bought this vehicle Dec 06 then found out I was pregnant in Jan. I was happy that I bought this vehicle til I went to install the car seat and sat in the back. There is hardly any leg room to get in and out of, plus installing a car seat was awful. The car seat says to put the carrying handle down but you can't because there isn't enough room from the front seats. Plus it has to be in the middle to have room to drive. We tried to put it behind the drivers seat and if we wanted to do that, the drivers seat had to be pushed way up and I can't drive that way. I am really disappointed because my friend has one that is a 2003 and her back seat has plenty of room. I don't know why the makers would change it that much. I didn't think about sitting in the back seat before I bought it, but now I know!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"This SUV comes highly recommended and is my second Xterra I have owned. It will hold its value for future trade-in or when it't time to sell. The only drawback is the gas mileage, being an SUV has something to do with that."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome SUV

By on Thursday, June 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,068

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, solid frame, off-road prowess, reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage, transmission / radiator issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2005 xterra was the fastest 0-60 SUV in production that year. Faster than the Porsche Cayenne. Even after 100,000 with regular oil changes it still rips when I want it to. I learned of the flaw with the radiator and had a trans-cooler put in for $300 before disaster struck. I also had to sink $1200 into the transmission and for that I give it an 8 in quality. Compared to some other brands $1500 over 10 years is pretty darn good. What I like best about this SUV is its solid build. It drives like a truck, not like a car with a truck body. It has alot of torque and climbs and four-wheels like no other. Very functional interior for outdoors or events, especially with the rubber floor mats and hard plastic fold down hatch. Lets just say that when I am ready to trade this one in, I'm getting another."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

awesome fun to drive

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price- great looks- fun to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Second xterra that I have owned! Love the size and the way it handles. Very dependable and just what I needed. Controls are basic but I did not want a BMW that is why I went back to my 4WD Xterra. If you want a dependable suv with good looks and all the power you need. I highly recommend !!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Built solid

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Tough"

Cons: "Steering wheel controls and fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this truck. Handles week, feels tight, excellent sound system, safe and reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever owned.

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Perfect for hauling dogs, dirt, and gear. Mileage (worst 16.5, best 24(!had to check twice!) on a road trip, flat across CO/NE/IA/MN, with a tailwind. Usually around 18.5 in mixed driving. Have the Pro-4X because of the options. Great truck. I'm a "25000 and trade it" guy, have 50,000 on this one and will be keeping it for a long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Handles like a champ in all terrains and weather.

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handles well in all weather conditions."

Cons: "Needs some work done at about 60k miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our second Xterra, and we have been very happy with both of them. We take it over the mountain pass several times per year, and never hesitate to tackle the toughest weather conditions. It handles well off-road as well. The 4-wheel drive function works extremely well while driving. I would recommend the Xterra to anyone looking for a good SUV 4-wheel drive. It has plenty of room in back, and the seats also fold down. Only issue we have seen is that you have to have some work done at about 60k miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My favorite SUV of all I've owned

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,550

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Size, handling, feels very solid, looks"

Cons: "Only 18 mpg, key fob alarm too sensitive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in Dec 2009 and have put a lot of miles on it. Currently has 114,500 and I have yet to put brakes on it - which is unbelievable. Get regular maintenance done every 5,000 and I'm coming to the end of my second set of tires. Plan to get 200,000 on it before I trade it in for another one. I really like it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun & easy vehicle to drive.

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new. Love, love it. Has off road pkg. & I have gone off road many times. Never let me down. Love hill holder & hill decent control. Plenty of power & rides ok for short wheelbase vehicle. Not an economy car. Gas mileage 12 - 19. Fit & finish are excellent. Interior is plastic but very easy to maintain. Styling needs refreshing. Overall the best car I have ever owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent, tough, good looking and highly function

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Tough, Dependable, unstoppable, Powerful."

Cons: "A little top heavy when cornering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall a great vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this SUV

By on Monday, November 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, easy ride, decent gas mileage"

Cons: "None that come to mind"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love my Xterra - so much so that I let my brother drive it while I was away for a month. I came back and he had bought one of his very own!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned to date

By on Sunday, May 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fun truck to drive. Needs styling update."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great suv

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great suv but i wish it got better gas mileage ..lol but really thats the only down fall .. get a 4x4 it nice ..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my Xterra!

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Xterra is tough enough for back woods adventures, and slick enough for the city. It plows through mud holes and slides in easily at parallel parking. It has storage everywhere, so no matter what my adventure is, I know I'm covered. I could go on...this thing rocks. I used to name my cars...but this one is unable to be named. ...it is the most interesting SUV in the world. :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Xterra near Honolulu. See local deals