Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2004 Nissan Xterra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 558 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next

Very satisfied overall

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Daughter has same vehicle and drove it for years. Has been most reliable, very high mileage, still running today. Great for hauling sports equipment around, as well as handles great in the snow with good tires."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Underrated and Understated!

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Moved on

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Strong frame, rugged design, very comfortable"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"All of the car makers are trying to move to lighter, more efficient, economical car designs... this leads to cars feeling flimsy, plasticy, and just flat out dissatisfying to drive. The Xterra is really the last of it's kind (along with the 4runner) to offer a rugged, truck-frame based design that is built with substance. The doors are heavy, the frame is heavy, and because of all of that mass the Xterra has great ride quality, soaking up big and small bumps with ease. It is also very capable off-road and in snow. Reliability was excellent when I owned mine. Didn't have a single problem with it and it drove like new the day I (unfortunately) sold it. I would have purchased a new model, but was looking for something with better gas mileage so I bought a Subaru Forester."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

My Nissan Xterra has served me well!

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gets through any snow storm"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My Nissan Xterra has been the best money I spent on a car ever! I really love everything about this vehicle. I have driven in serious weather and I have never been nervous with this car. It is sturdy and tough. I live at 7500 feet and go up and down hills daily. I needed a reliable tough car. This one fit the bill for the last 14 years! Great job Nissan for making an indestructible car."

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great fun car/truck to drive

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "see above"

Cons: "17mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the V6 has a lot of pickup, i have 223,000 miles and it handles better than most new cars on the switchbacks, good acceleration. have had the care for 4yrs now and relatively no problems"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Just need a tune up

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,166

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "3500"

Cons: "great truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just need a tune up"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

BEST SUV EVER!!!

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Wonderful to drive and handles very nicely!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I ever owned. The only work needed was regular maintenance. I have 245,000 miles and it's still going strong. Nissan Cars are the BEST!!!!!"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

It's been a good car

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Dependable, good looking"

Cons: "Poor design on back seat fold down."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I don't like the way that the back seat folds down.. You have to remove the seat portion, there is nowhere inside the car to store them, and then the back portion folds down, but not completely flat. Also the back seat is not real comfortable. Other little things, like the power supply covers are little plastic peices that do not stay in place, and the headliner has dropped down, I've always driven my cars for 10+ years and this is the first one I've had this issue with. It has been a good car for me though, gotten me over 125000 miles, lots of trips."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Greatest car I've ever owned

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, love off-roading"

Cons: "horrible gas milage (9mpg)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is amazing. I've owned this car since september, and absolutely love it. I take it off roading all the time, and am amazed at how well it handles. great all around vehicle, and will definitely own another one again."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best, most reliable vehicle we've ever owned

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good price, very reliable"

Cons: "not comfortable or powerful enough for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This has been the vehicle we've owned the longest. We love it, it's our everyday vehicle, best on gas and maneuvering into tight spots. We own other model vehicles and still love the XTerra the best!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

encountered a lot of problems...

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "good size, great for off-roading, cute exterior"

Cons: "everything else."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased this car after my sister got one and loved hers. I fell in love with mine shortly after buying, but the quality of the car progressively got worse. I never had an accident or wreck, yet the car started rattling and messing up. The alternator is shot and the transmission is in terrible condition. I can't stay at a drive thru without my car overheating in the 5 minutes it takes to pay for and receive my dinner. Overall, I wouldn't even recommend this car to my worst enemy."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Xterra near Honolulu. See local deals