Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2001 Nissan Xterra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 562 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 113 | Next

Awesome utility vehicle!

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 277,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price, reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been an awesome SUV. While there are a high number of miles on the car, several things have been replaced/are new (AC hoses & electrical, upgraded stereo, tires, battery, spark plugs & wires, O2 sensor, thermostat, radiator, etc.), giving it a much longer life. It was taken very good care of and I can show you all paperwork. Still in very good condition."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great performance and fun to drive."

Cons: "Heater weak in really cold weather (-5 degrees)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. It has never been in the shop for a mechanical problem. I've simply changed tires, brakes, shocks and washed off the mud!"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS CAR

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, RELIABLE, tough car"

Cons: "no vanity mirrors, fuel pump can be a concern"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my very first car. I bought it after I graduated from college in 2005 so it was already a few years old when I got it. It has been the best car ever and has never let me down. I will tell you I have been hard on it, too. I do my best to get the oil changed every 3,000 miles but sometimes I would forget. I have driven this car from Texas to Connecticut and no problems. It has been a dream car. It handles well and doesn't feel like a BIG car, very maneuverable and easy to drive. I went from driving my parents' Jetta to this and the transition was very easy. In recent years it has begun to show its age, it is 15 years old after all so it is to be expected. If I could I would buy another one or even better keep this one forever but I just got into law school and I will have a very long commute to school and I need a car that is easy on the gas. It goes without saying that the Xterra is not easy on gas, but I do not consider that a flaw because it is an SUV, they guzzle gas, it's what they do. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this car and the day I have to part with it will be a very sad day indeed."

12 people out of 20 found this review helpful

I love my Xterra

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect in every way. Workhorse!"

Cons: "Mileage could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car from first release in 2000...finally buying one in 2001. My X-car has served me well as noted in my ratings above! The mileage isn't the best, but every car has to have at least one drawback. My car has made many trips in all kinds of weather and conditions and has never failed me! Yes, it's been off road and dirty - very dirty. I think it almost prefers a rugged drive in snow and ice. I've made it home while dodging BMWs/Benz's stuck in snow/ice! Yeah! This car will have to fail me completely before I make the choice to buy another! Feels like my best friend."

16 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Very satisfied overall

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Daughter has same vehicle and drove it for years. Has been most reliable, very high mileage, still running today. Great for hauling sports equipment around, as well as handles great in the snow with good tires."

18 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 113 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Xterra near Honolulu. See local deals