Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2000 Nissan Xterra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 563 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

218,000 miles strong

By on Friday, August 07, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"We bought a 2000 XE in 2005 w/ 98,000 and have put over 100,000 miles in 4 years, including quite a few miles in 4wheel. She's still going strong and we love her. She could certainly go a little quicker up the big hills on the interstate, but when you put her in 4-low she'll crawl her way over anything it's sensible to drive up, and we're talking some of the worst, two track, off-camber roads in the lower 48. She's been to just over 20 states, withstood the heat of Arizona and the cold of Montana. We've had to replace a fuel injector and do a little work on the exhaust system cause the previous owner let the underside rust up a fair bit, but otherwise she's going strong. We also do quite a bit of work on her ourselves, it's a bit of a hassle to change the oil as you have to remove the skid plate, but changing the transmission fluid is easy enough and the shocks aren't so bad... brake rotors rust up pretty quick, but again, that might have been the previous owners not dealing with the salt in the midwest :( She's been a pretty easy vehicle to sort out and handle regular maintenance on our own, but if you drive a lot of gravel roads, put some lock-tite on the skid plate bolts as it's easy to loose those guys when you're not being careful!"

19 people out of 19 found this review helpful

GREAT BUY

By on Sunday, February 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned mine for about 3 years and have to say WOW. I bought used for 3200.00 and it has been the best vehicle I have ever owned. The only bad thing is milage. Mine has over 220,000 miles and other than a forced timing belt replacement (I put it off too long) I have had no problems at all. I have installed a power converter and a 3 screen dvd system on the factory charging system with no worries. Its been through the NC mountains 8 times to TN,KY,GA,FL and VA.NO worries....HINT INSTALL DOUBLE PLATNIUM PLUGS FOR BEST MILAGE (18-20)"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Buy One-Even Used!!

By on Wednesday, November 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid Reliability"

Cons: "gas milage. passing power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the 2nd owner of this car. I bought it with 22000 miles on it. The truck has been solid!! I put a K&N Cool Air Intake and It made the pick-up and gas milage better. It also eliminated the knock when passing someone when using low grade gas. Over all I have about $2000 into the car since Ive bought it in 2004. Typical replacement parts such a the altenator, starter, timing belt and water pump were replaced after the 200K mark as a precationary measure. Had to drop $600 to repair the a/c but other than that this thing just keeps going. If you own this truck, use nothing but synthetic in the transmission and engine oil and change regulary. I do mine about every 5K miles. This by far has been the most reliable car I have ever owned. I typically drive more than 17k miles a year in Florida."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

ONE OF A KIND!!

By on Friday, September 03, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 2004 Nissan Xterra XE 4x4 ive done just about every and anything u can think of that will push a vehicle too its limit. winter,trails,crossing rivers,hill climbing hauling ATV's etc.... a stock Xterra gets 16/22 mpg... Not mine i get 21/26 how?? it's simple K/N cold air intake, tornato,flowmaster 40 seri exhaust this has saved me hundreds of dollars in fuel. im pushing 125.000 gone threw 3 sets for tires and 2 brakes and still SOLID like the day i bought it. Just do your minimum maintains services and you can easily go 300xxx no problems..... I hope this helps you in some ways times are tough and fuel prices are still crazy all in all SOLID TANK"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Saturday, October 18, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought an '02 model in late '01 for my wife. Now has over 150,000 miles with no problems. Extremely tough, goes anywhere. My wife drives it to work 32 miles each way every day in northern Michigan winters through snow over bad roads with never a problem. At 100k miles, I had all the stuff gone over and replaced (water pump, plugs, wires, all fluids, filters, timing belt, other belts, etc) even though it had nothing wrong. We plan on driving this car until it stops running. I think we can easily get 300k out of it with no major problems. I couldn't pry it away from my wife anyway unless it is for a new one. It's like her pet."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I love my XTERRA

By on Sunday, February 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,245

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, lots of room, great interior"

Cons: "center counsel is very tiny in my car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Xterra. This is a great vehical for around town but as well as being out in the outdoors. we are able to put everything in my xterra for camping and still sleep in in when we get to our location. Its a great car for carpooling and i love the room i have inside! Its very reliable and ive had no problems with my xterra!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!!!

By on Tuesday, September 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive........"

Cons: "Gas mileage is the only downfall. 20mpg average"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this vehicle. If it got better gas mileage I would trade in for another. Hoping to get another 150000 miles out of this. Awesome for the Pa snow. Really comfortable for long trips. Lots of cargo room."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Vehicel

By on Friday, January 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Realiable, Durable, and a BEAST!!"

Cons: "Bad on Gas mileage!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Xterra! It has NEVER left me hangin! The ONLY complaint i have with this vehicle is the fact that the gas mileage just isnt great! Its wonderful for a first time driver I think! Im 25 and have had it for the past 6 years! Ive made a few repairs like my radiator but not because of something i did! A big truck threw a rock and put a hole in it! It was so simple to replace and cheap! All I do is keep up the oil changes and the fluids up on my car and it gets me where i need to go! The bumpers are defected like they get to where all the black on the bumper wears off so mine isnt that attractive in the front but its a beast! It NEVER lets me down! Its ALSO 2 wheel drive and well im a country girl so i like the mud and granted its NEVER GOTTEN STUCK! haha!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I'm 60 - my FAVORITE car ever!

By on Friday, September 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, huge cargo area, will go in any weather."

Cons: "Not so great on gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most versitile car I've ever owned. It will go up my 45 degree incline driveway in snow. It has such a huge cargo space - both wide and tall - that it will haul just about anything I have ever tried to put in it. I have moved myself once (7 rooms worth) and my parents twice(5 rooms worth). Only had to pay someone else to move the large appliances and an oversized china cabinet. All other furniture could be moved with the Xterra - saved HUNDREDS of dollars in moving and delivery over the years. It's 13 years old and still a work horse. Not likely to get rid of it until it drops out from under me."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

110k miles and going strong

By on Thursday, May 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased this SUV in 2005 with 22k miles on it already (2003 model). This vehicle is excellent on the beach, in the snow, general off-road, and just plain driving. My friends with similar sized SUV's (Explorers, Trailblazers, etc.) always get stuck in that mid-summer, baby powder-consistency sand, even when they air down. My Xterra has only been stuck in the sand once, and that was when it was driving behind a super slow truck going up a 30 degree incline sand dune, and even then, all that was needed was to air down a little more, and rock it from reverse to drive a few times. No manual excavation necessary. This ONLY complaint I have is the gas mileage...it is pretty awful, but that was to be expected, with it being underpowered and relatively heavy. It gets about 18mpg hwy and 13mpg street. Other than that, the car gives a somewhat bumpy ride, but again, this is expected since it is an SUV. The interior is very roomy, and driving is extremely comfortable. I do not mind long road trips (I drive an hour to and from work every day, so my idea of "long" might be a tad bit biased). Not much has been needed to be replaced, only the battery, brakes/rotors/calipers, and air-filter that was upgraded to a K&N. Also, what I love about this SUV is that there are so many ways to accessorize the vehicle to make it unique. This car is EXTREMELY reliable, and has never failed me by not starting, unless I have left the lights on or something. I highly recommend this SUV to anyone who enjoys the outdoors, but not so much to the long-distance commuter. Reliability, ruggedness and super comfortable - all in this SUV, and for not nearly as much money as comparable ones."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Xterra near Honolulu. See local deals