Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Nissan Versa

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 474 Ratings for the 2007 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Great sedan.

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "Fabric Seats attract animal, human hair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"After owning a late 1990's Camaro, the change to the Versa was quite a difference. On the positive note, I wanted a change to a Sedan that was inexpensive and the Versa fit that need. I purchased my used Versa on 06/23/2012. It is very reliable, more nimble than I expected, and the acceleration is good."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent car if you want a money saver."

Cons: "Not to good for big guys."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So far I have not any mechanical problem with this car, only the regular maintenance, oil change,new tires, etc. It was a good invesment."

love this little car

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Absolutely love this car - 7 years put 280,000 trouble free miles on it - don't feel like you are sitting in a small car - Only had to do regular maintanence and change the oil - great mileage 33/35 mpg - great get up and go."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

love this little car

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Absolutely love this car - 7 years put 280,000 trouble free miles on it - don't feel like you are sitting in a small car - Only had to do regular maintanence and change the oil - great mileage 33/35 mpg - great get up and go."

no problems at all

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good car/relaiable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent shape bought it brand new out of showroom floor"

Great reliable no frills transportation

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Interior Space, Reliabliity, value"

Cons: "Engine and road noise, uninspiring interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very reliable but somewhat unrefined. Lots of plastic inside. Engine has decent power for the class but has a loud tick when cold. Incredible interior room inside. Sits high enough off the ground so you don't have to climb in and out of it. Handling is good. Rides good on the highway. Gas mileage is decent, average about 24-25mpg in combined driving. Overall a very good commuter car, which is what I bought it for."

Great car.

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Overall cost, room , MPG,reliability, speed"

Cons: "Leg room for tall drivers, muflr weld brk @ 80K."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wanted a basic car. I don't need all kinds of bells and whistles and have had great experiences with several Nissan vehicles over the years. I chose the hatchback Versa and it hasn't let me down. I bought it new in 2009 and it has a little over 104,000 miles on it. It has gone everywhere I needed it to go, has enough power to scoot pretty good when need be and can carry items that you wouldn't think would fit in the car. I bought a full size recliner and was able to fit it in the back. The only 2 problems I have had with it is the muffler weld broke around 80,000. It broke from the flange so it was an easy fix. The other is leg room. I am 6ft and for extended driving it gets a bit uncomfortable as I can't stretch out even with the seat all the way back. Oh well, I still love my little car. I know I can get in it and it will start and I can get to where I'm going. The gas mileage is still around 33 MPG or so if I am not doing 80 with the AC on. The gearing in the transmission is really interesting. The car has 122 HP and 127 FT.LBS. of tourque. I have had motorcycles that have had more. BUT when I'm driving and I need to pass, the pick up from 60-70 MPH to 80-90 is pretty amazing. It is pretty quick for what it is at these speeds. Overall it has been an outstanding little car. Everything I need and nothing I don't. Great little car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned; Better than my Honda!

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a beautiful snow-white Nissan Versa SL, with black & slate interior, and in immaculate condition inside and out. Expect a high ride with your Versa, compared to other smaller cars, and this one comes equipped with a 3-speed automatic transmission, cruise control, tire pressure monitoring system, CD player and an awesome sound system."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my car!

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love Nissan, this is my second one and I will buy another!"

Red, sliding sunroof, spoiler, hatchback,

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. New tires. 35mpg hwy. Only selling because I am buying a friends car that she is selling and I have been waiting on it a few years."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great Car Overall: Body of the car is flimsy

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Cost, Reliability, Ride, Handling"

Cons: "Body, small cup holders, width"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"2010 Nissan Versa: bought this car to replace Grand Marquis that broke down with only 30K miles. I have 60K miles on this Nissan and have had '0' mechanical issues. I had a 1991 Nissan Versa and put 100K miles on it in 3-years w/out any issues. Nissan's have been reliable and great value for your money. Even for a small sedan this vehicle is a pleasure to drive and my kids (x4) love to ride in it. Nissan's even come with a spare tire which in this time of companies skimping back is a plus especially when you get a flat (which we did). There is allot of power with this car to the point that sometime there is more power in comparison to acceleration (then the transmission can handle). The body of the car is flimsy and susceptible to easily being damaged. The front and sides crumples easily in light impacts."

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Fits me perfectly!

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles well and is economical to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wasn't too sure I would like the Versa after having the Sentra for so many years, but I believe I like it better. The only thing I really don't like is that the middle arm rest in the front doesn't come forward enough for short people like me. Otherwise, I am extremely happy with it!"

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

the versa is rock steady on the road.

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "as above"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"versa is a delight to drive. holds the road like velcro. incredible leg room in front, and back. my only issue is the rear shocks or the suspension. wish it was more comfortable when going over bumps/humps. love the car has a blast driving it on the freeway. does great on mileage. am almost sixty, but behind the wheel i become a early twenties young man.love this car. i had a 1993 altima which held the road just like this one. love this car."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

most reliable car I've ever owned...

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "love the front wheel drive and cvt is great!"

Cons: "does have some road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had new plugs put in at 90,000 miles; mechanic said the engine still looked like new and needs no additonal work. This has been the most reliable car I've ever owned! Drove it to work 50 miles round-trip every day ..... no problems! Even drove like a champ on ice...."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

good for the money

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "roomy interior, fuel efficient, reliable"

Cons: "noisy interior, flimpsy exterior dents easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Very reliable small car. No mechanical problems with just regular maintenance. It has a noisy interior and if you're caught by a strong wind, hang on! If you might get in a major accident, chose something sturdier. Fuel efficiency is great and easy to squeeze/park in the crowded city. The interior is very spacious and 4 people can ride long distance comfortably."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

First foriegn car

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "handles great, fun to drive in the country"

Cons: "windows weren't child proof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I usually buy American made but my son took me for a drive in his car and it was a smooth ride. I can put my scooter in the back and it's easy to get it in and out because of the size of the compartment behind the back seats, the hatchback makes it so easy. I get great miliage sometimes as much as 340 miles a tank, depending on where I'm driving and if it's on the thruway, country roads, or city driving. The only thing I didn't like was the windows were child proof and my dog rolled the window down and jumped out at a red light, lol, thank heaven the car wasn't moving. It's a good car and because it is I'm not sure what I want to buy next."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Tan seats (but I have seat covers)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car in 2010 brand new and I get all my oil changes on time and I have never had any problems. I love this car because it has never given me a hard time. It is ready whenever I am ready to go! I drive it everyday downtown and back home. I love it! It is also surprisingly spacious. Freshman year of college I was able to make one trip with all of my stuff for my dorm. I have also comfortably gone on trips. It is all around a great car and I am lucky to have the reliability."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

one word best describes this car-"adequate "

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "economy..reliabilty..low cost"

Cons: "no arm rest, minor cosmetic problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Good solid car. Get 30 MPG on regular basis.clunking or knocking in front steering since new, dealer could not fix. Gets blown around on highway on windy days.Never broke down, only needed battery (40k) and tire pressure sensors at 65K. Good value if basic transportation is your goal."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Steady reliable car. Excellent car for students"

Cons: "Can't think of any cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

MANUFACTURER INTERIOR (CAR INTERIOR IS DARK CHARCOAL GREY)

"This car has served its purpose for high school and college. It has substantial leg room in the rear seating area compared to other cars in its class. Gas mileage is consistent. Split seats offer the flexibility to haul items locally or to your Dorm. Comfortably seat 4-5 adults. This car has not been in an accident."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

MANUFACTURER INTERIOR (CAR INTERIOR IS DARK CHARCOAL GREY)

I LOVE my Nissan Versa!

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,939

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, roomy, & DEPENDABLE!"

Cons: "People pass it up thinking it's too small."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car during the "cash for clunkers" deal, and because it was cheap. I needed a car to get me from A to B, and was good on gas. Never, did I expect to LOVE this little car! It's roomy, great on gas, handles like a dream on the winter roads of WI, and has no problem starting in 50 below weather. My next car WILL also be a Nissan Versa!"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

my best car ever !

By on Thursday, December 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,888

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very good"

Cons: "no front reading light"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the best because the room is big and the car is good to find parking in small space,I fuel up every 2 weeks, runs very good."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2007 Versa sedan

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, smooth riding, comfortable"

Cons: "tire pressure sensor leak, not reliable with snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"For the most part, I love this car..... However, even with snow tires it gets stuck easily. Also not very fond of having to fill the tires every three weeks or I have flats. There is a leak in the tire where the tire pressure sensor is. Nissan has "fixed" it several times and so has a private garage. They were able to lessen the leak, but the tires still lose air."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great for the money.

By on Monday, December 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, comfortable, great price."

Cons: "Side mirrors look like Mickey Mouse Ears."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am really happy with this car overall. I purchased this car used with about 35,000 about a year ago and have had little to no major issues other than standard maintenance (brakes, tires, etc.)I have put about 40,000 miles on the car in a year and it has been very reliable. It is comfortable to drive and extremely roomy for a small car. I was looking for something affordable, but nice. This car does it for me. Very happy with it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

So reliable dealer bugs me constantly to trade it

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, roomy, decent power for a 1.8L, reliable"

Cons: "interior rattles, come with bad tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Stopped in Gilroy, Ca on a 2,300 mile trip the first month of ownership. It's an absolute pleasure driving the Versa.

"I flat out said I wouldn't trade it for anything. This car has been incredibly reliable. The only thing that has gone wrong with it was a passenger power door lock actuator which was under warranty. I will say this about the Continental tires it came with. They had tread separation problems and they produced poor milage results. For the first year (about 12,000 miles) it never got better than 25 mpg. When I replaced the tires around the 35,000 mile mark I instantly started seeing 29 or 30 mpg depending on how fast I drove and if the AC was on. Verdict: Continental tires suck your gas milage. Ditch them for better tires. I'm betting when I replace the shocks I'll gain a few more mpg. This car is Roomy with a capital R for it's class and the seats are very comfortable. On a trip my mother and I took the first month I had it I easily drove 6 or 7 hours a day with only short stops for a quick meal and to use the restroom. I never drove more than 5 hours a day with previous cars I owned. I love it and you can't have it!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Stopped in Gilroy, Ca on a 2,300 mile trip the first month of ownership. It's an absolute pleasure driving the Versa.

I cried when I had to trade it for a bigger car

By on Friday, November 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "roomy, fuel efficient, peppy"

Cons: "arm rest too short"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Baby! The best car I ever owned.

"My Versa was an SL model, which I bought new in 2007. I test drove it b/c it had the largest interior space as any car in its class-- and I did sit in every one to compare cabin space. The Vera was by far the roomiest. It also was the most gas efficient vehicle at that time that could store a full-sized real estate sign in the hatchback with out a lot of gyration(including the Prius). What sold me was the Continuous Variable Transmission. I thought that this little 4 cyclinder vehicle would never give me the pep and confidence of my previous 6 cyl cars- I was wrong. The CVT (and whatever else they put in there)gives you so much power over reg 4 cyl vehicle. I was shocked. Second nice surprise, feeling the shift is almost non-existent. Great pick-up, and with the size of the Versa, I was able to zip around the highway so freely that I received the only 2 speeding tickets I ever got in my life during the first 2 years of ownership. I had to learn to hold that puppy back! I was pleasantly surprised, too, with the all the features and extras I got with my vehicle. My friend bought the Toyota "peer" in the same month. My Versa was more comfortable, had a smoother ride and had way more options and features as her Toyota at the same price. For the first 4 years, I rode it hard: over 22,000 miles/ year. Over recent the recent 3 years, it has carried me from VA to CA, and to Canada and back- twice. It has been virtually trouble-free: just brakes (once), tires (twice) and recently, the CVT transmission went out (at 105K miles) and Nissan replaced it at $0 cost to me. One other thing I had fixed recently was a wire in the steering wheel that got twisted, taking out the audio controls on the left side of the steering wheel-- a convenience item. I could not have been more thrilled with this vehicle. I think it get ignored or under-rated. I cried when I had to trade-up to a larger vehicle. Guess what I bought? A Nissan. -from a former Chrysler/Chevy/Oldsmobile/Ford/Honda owner"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My Baby! The best car I ever owned.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Versa near Honolulu. See local deals