Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2000 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 778 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

Still in great condition til the end

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: car was totalled in accident

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very economical, lots of room, enjoyable to drive"

Cons: "Regular looking sedan, not very fancy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my 2002 Nissan Sentra GXE brand new in 2002. It had manual transmission, which was my preference. Car was very roomy, drove great, lots of space in the trunk. I had very few mechanical problems with my Sentra. I changed spark plugs for the first time around 110,000 miles. The mechanic inspected it at 128,000 miles and said the car was in great mechanical condition and would still be on the road for a long time. Unfortunately, I was in an accident 2 months later that totaled the car with around 144,000 miles (although I think it might have still been repairable & drivable). I was so sad to lose a great running car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I have owned Nissan Sentras for about 15 years now

By on Sunday, April 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, reliable,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have found Nissan Sentra's to be very reliable and have continued to upgrade mine through out the years with good resale value."

Love driving my little stick car.

By on Friday, April 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, power, fun"

Cons: "Cup holder can't hold a normal size drink."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great power and maneuverability. Love driving the stick. This is my 3rd Sentra and it is the best one. I like the square-ness of the car. Makes backing, changing lanes, parking very easy. Broke my right hand and had to drive a 2011 Camry, sports version, while I was in my cast. I hated it. No pick up and go like my car. Visibility was bad, parking a nightmare with one hand. I am so happy to be back in my Sentra."

sporty gxe

By on Tuesday, April 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "sporty, durable, looks good"

Cons: "the paint tends to fade on some spots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Since I drove this car when it had 60000 miles to now all i have changed is the cat converter, normal wear like brakes, belts ect, and the radiator, outer tie rod, crank n camshaft sensors for it had a recall on this, besides that fun to drive! Was convinced Nissan is heading into the right direction, ever since have been following up with Nissan and they seem to be the leader in new technology, plus their engines are made reinforced for they can even withstand a turbo kit while just being stock which means impressive power, durability, and strength, still driving!)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Always There For Me

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Great on the curves"

Cons: "Upholstery is horrible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am a crazy driver and my car has never failed me. Completely safe. Never broke down, not even new brakes and I'm rough on them. Had this car for 7 years and 110,000 miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Exelent

By on Sunday, March 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A lot of power."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Outstanding Vehicle. Just the perfect car. I am actually looking for another one for my wife."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing Car

By on Sunday, March 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, gas saver, smooth driving"

Cons: "cup holders are not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Nissan Sentra. I had a 94 and now an 02. I purchased this vehicle a second time because they run forever and I save so much money on gas. My 94 was wrecked or I would probably still be driving it. I have drove these cars all over the United States with several miles on them. I plan to buy a new one when I purchase my next vehicle! They run forever."

Reliable

By on Friday, March 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "very small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had this car for 6 years. I got it because it was the only car on the lot that had 4 doors and power windows. When i bought my nissan i didn't know it had been salvage. i am so happy i got this car. It has taking me everywhere without a problem. I have put so many miles on and it works so good even though i never took care of it, like i should have. Just make sure maintenance the car or it will cost you."

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Tuesday, February 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, comfortable, handles well."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 7.5 years and it has been a reliable, comfortable car both for long road trips and driving around town. I keep the surplus junk out of the trunk (only a spare, jack, etc, no "storage" of extra stuff to weigh it down) and I get 32 MPG in the city on super unleaded. Drives great and handles very well, even in snow and on wet roads. Great car! Love it!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

DIVES GREAT intell you get to 200k then headgasket

By on Friday, January 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "drives great in the snow with michillin tires"

Cons: "hard to diegnose when it over heats 9out10 headgas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"headgasket blew at 200k after fixing hard to get timming right for it no book on planit can help and a frunt wheel bearing went out and had to get a new one weldid in after that still drives great 300k here i come"

TOBY IS A GREAT CAR.

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GOOD ON GAS!"

Cons: "LOOKS LIKE A GRANDMA CAR!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I LOVE THIS CAR!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

fun ride, smart looks, decent speed, very reliable

By on Wednesday, December 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun ride, smart looks, decent speed, very reliable"

Cons: "little easy to lose traction in rain or snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"overall great car for the money. fun to drive, awesome manual 6sp gearbox. enough power to have fun with but still very economical, high 20s mpg average."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car good reliability good on gas

By on Friday, November 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive easy to park great on gas"

Cons: "none that i can think of ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"well i've owned the car for 7 years now when i bought it from my dad it had 98,000 on it in those seven years i've put a lot of miles on her. great comuter, and very reliable never really left me stranded only two problems in the 7 years, one was the cam shaft sensor went out, the other was the altinator other than that no problems i changed the oil religously at 5000 miles running mobile 1 clean 5000 since 150000 miles before was mobile 1 synthetic every 3000 miles religously from day one when it was new now with 213000 miles on her i still use her everyday to comute 75miles a day to and from work. great car would love to pick up another with 100000 or less awesome car"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

One of the best vhicles I have owned!

By on Wednesday, November 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent fun, value and service for the price!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The 'S'pecial 1.8L model of this vehicle has met our family needs and exceeded them. The car has very good ergonomics - seats fit well, the back seat in this model is comfortable and seats 6' people well. The A/C is powerful and cold. Handling is great in cornering, center tracking and easy to maneuver. The dash is loaded with instrumentation including a digital display of over 10 different functions and information packets. The car came with a single CD player and a factory installed 300watt Fosgate 6CD system with 9 speakers. Excellent! Cargo carrying is very good with fold down back seats and a roomy trunk. Amenities galore! Great wheels and tires too. We service regularly and have had NO mechanical problems with the car. Good going NISSAN! I'm glad to see the 2013 model emulating this body style since it give more interior space!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my Betsy Nissan

By on Monday, November 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and very sporty!"

Cons: "Can't think of anything!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought Betsy Nissan on 2/14/01 and she has been a love of a car. Although she did have some problems with stalling out, my mechanic fixed her and she was as good as new! But the poor girl is getting on in years and I am thinking of getting a newer vehicle. Betsy has been with me in all kinds of weather and many a snowstorm. I am grateful that I have had her. She handles well and still has a lot of pep."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

except for paying too much. has been very reliable

By on Saturday, November 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun and good gas mileage great pick up"

Cons: "fabric tore on passenger seat seam -1yr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"very happy with mechanics, not so much on paint fading so soon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Saturday, October 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good mileage, family car, compact so easy parking"

Cons: "Basic radio/cd player, no frills"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I used to buy Toyotas until I got my first Sentra in 1994 and I've been sold on Nissan ever since. Excellent value for your money. I kept my last Sentra 12 years over 150k miles then sold it to a friend. No major mechanical problems. Current Sentra is 10 years old, running well, again trouble-free."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

good small car great mpg and handling

By on Sunday, October 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "mpg-handling-looks"

Cons: "small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am really surprised by all the bad reviews on this car,my 06 1.8 special edition runs great handles great and gets 33 mpg in city.I have never had any issues with this car other than it is small but I am 6ft 7in tall and still can get resonably comfortable in this car.150k and still runs like new.also awesome sound system"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

210,000 Strong Brutal Harsh Miles

By on Saturday, October 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Cheap Price great reliability"

Cons: "revs to high"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car at 120,000 miles with everything working and no leaks. Around 200,000 miles the MAF sensor went bad so i replaced it, the CAT was also replaced. And thats pretty much it. Ive kept up with the regular oil changes except for the transmission. So i am driving it with the same transmission fluid since 2004, that was the last time it was changed. Im afraid to change due to risking having transmission problem so i guess ill go ahead and let the tranny die on me. Something that i really like about the car is it is very nimble and easy to drift lol. One thing i dont like is it revs high for example 60mph and im at 2.3k rpm"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not A Great Car

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "nice radio, comfy seats"

Cons: "everything else and to many to list."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned this car for 6 years and dont like this car at all. It vibrates really bad. It has not get up and go. the cup holders are in front of the cd changer. after the 2nd year the door hands on the passenger side inside started to come apart. there is no storage room at all since only the back seat on the drivers side fold down cause of the bass speaker on the other side in the trunk. the amp for the stereo in in the trunk in the middle on the top so you have to be careful when putting stuff in. there is a bar for the trunk hood that comes down and can and has gotten stuck with stuff in there. but i hear that is with all of there cars. the mpg is ok. on trips to the cost i do about 31 in city about 28. DONT BUY this or any other car from nissan. we are trading it in next year thank goodness."

1 person out of 10 found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 10 years

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Great zip and steering"

Cons: "breaking & traction horrific"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"It has great zip but traction has been horrific. Slips in rainy or wet weather and breaking is awful no matter what tires on it. Also, ride is bumpy."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Won't buy another Nissan ever!

By on Friday, July 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun, Fast, Nice designs,"

Cons: "Problems with fuel pump, etc from day 1."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I own the 2003 GXE version. I bought it used from a private seller which was probably problem #1. At 30,000 when I bought it, I first noticed a fuel pump problem. Spent the money to get it fixed and the fix only last 2 months. Till the days (owned it 5 years) it cranks every time I start it and won't start on the first try. At about 90,000 miles my head gasket blew. At about 100,000 miles steering column goes out. Nothing but problems with this car. I am still driving it but am looking for something better. I can't lie, it is a sporty fun little car. And it did serve it's purpose. I got 100K miles on it myself in 5 years. But I'm scared to buy another Nissan because this one has been problems since day 1."

5 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Very reliable car

By on Monday, July 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, pretty fast, stable."

Cons: "People get upset in traffic (manual transmition)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this car for 3 - 4 years now, not a single problem so far, just maintenance gas and pedal to the metal, I have a heavy foot and I can say that I have mistreated this car and still with 94000 haven't got a single problem, thanks god!! LOL"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

i love my sentra!

By on Friday, June 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "great gas mileage for the miles on the car"

Cons: "the ac switches going out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"been having this sentra for 10 years this bad girl has 180,000 no leaks! and still runs like a champ :) Only issue i have is the nobs going out on the ac switches went out and it got stuck on heat. Other then that she runs like a champ im looking forward to a lot more years out of her :)"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Super fun cornering compact car. Great performance

By on Tuesday, May 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,125

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Zippy,fast, never lets you down"

Cons: "Noisy cabin, no room in rear seating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truly a fun car to drive, while offering good fuel economy. Some down sides, could use more sound deadening inside cabin area. Has road noise. Acceleration is great for the 2.5 motor. You are able to get full use do the 6-speed tranny, teaching up to 5,800 rpm. Ice cold air and stereo sound system proves to hang tight when selection your favorite tunes. Roomy enough for a starter family and even up to their teens. Overall great car for the money and an awesome play riding car in some tight twisty roads."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals