Go

1999 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 233 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Bed Rock

By on Monday, August 25, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"Fred Flinstone can accelerate faster,and his feet are probably more attracive. However the MPG and mechanical reliability is amazing. I have 173,xxx miles and cannot remember the last time I took it in for repairs."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever!

By on Saturday, March 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I acquired my ‘96 GXE from a friend in 2002 - making me the 3rd owner. This car was a dream, I mean it wasn't the most stylish car or the fastest, but it needed very little work, just the basics - breaks only once, it drove from ND to NV, NV to NH and many trips from ME to NH & ME to MA. I owned it for 6 years and it never failed me - unfortunately it was totaled in a recent accident and now I'm left looking for a new car- so far no car compares! I don’t know what I’m going to do with out it! I would recommend this car to any one and anyone who has one, just take care of it and it will take good care of you! On a side note, I was hit almost head on by a Prius and my Sentra held up pretty good in the accident, walked away with only bruises from the air bags. That car served me well! In the end she had 120,000 miles and was still going strong. She did her job & did it good!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

97 nissian just keeps going

By on Thursday, February 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my '97 Sentra GXE used in '98 with 35,000 miles on it and it has been very dependable and reliable. I now have 245,000 miles on it and it continues to meet every need. I have change the oil every 3-4k miles. rotated tires every 5k. the only problem I have ever had is after 230,000 miles it developed a small oil leak and the alternator has been rebuilt twice. not an issue for any car with 245,000 miles. This car has mae me a NISSAN fan for life. I will drive it until it gives out but as of right now it shows no signs of that. I will keep you posted/"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Car!!!

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love this car. My wife bought it used 4 yrs. ago. It has been great to us. She bought a new car, and I could not trade the Sentra in. I am considering selling it, but it is hard to knowing how reliable this little car is. If your a power nut, this is not for you. If you want great gas mileage, you should consider a Sentra. I get 35-40 mpg and the car is 13 yrs. old!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great first car

By on Wednesday, January 9, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"The Sentra is a great first car! Very easy to learn how to drive in a sentra. The MPG is fantastic at 39MPG. There is not any performance in this set up, but just a enough pep in it to keep a begining driver excited."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very Dependable

By on Sunday, September 16, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have had minor work done on my vehicle over the years, and I have to say that it has held up through thick and thin. I have made the necessary provisions to increase its longevity by keeping up on the maintenace, but overale I cannot complain. Great running car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best for the vlue

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"great car. i traveled california/arizona/utah about 25 days and this 12 years oldcar didnt cause any problem. with the right tools easy to fix.ex change of oxsijen sensors etc. some of this years model has some a/c issues i know."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 6, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought this 96 sentra new off lot, and have owned it for 11 yrs. nothing special as far as stylish, however, have never had any mechanical problems. oil changes, tires, brakes, battery. has one of the coldest air conditions ive ever seen. it has been very efficient. gas mileage is 32-35 MPG. great car"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Runs Well Forever

By on Tuesday, January 7, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price and gas mileage, low maintenance costs"

Cons: "interior may seem cramped for larger people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used from the dealer with 5 miles on it for $10,000 in 1997. It was a dealer "perk" car that received no use. I've had it for over 16 years, and it has run like a champ consistently. Of course, regular maintenance is necessary, but I've never found it to be outrageously expensive. I have a very good and honest mechanic. Mine is certainly not a luxury car, it has only the standard features, but I believe this is the best car I've ever owned because it's so cheap-to-keep. I recently did a mileage test and found that after all these years (and 180,000+ miles), my car is still getting 40mpg on the highway. I'll definitely be looking to Nissan first for my next vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car for the price!

By on Tuesday, April 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 267,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable car"

Cons: "parts are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really do love this car and would hate to part with it. Have kept it up as much as monetarily possible. It is very reliable and still great on gas. Interior and exterior still look good. I could stand to wash it more. It is a great car and should I get another it will be a Nissan."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great first vehicle for any new driver!

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good in winter with the right tires and is very comfortable for lengthy drives. My car was in rough shape when I got it and needed some TLC, but once it was all fixed up it runs great, even with high mileage. It also gets good gas mileage, a good first car for any new driver. Sadly, I will be saying goodbye to my Nissan in the next month or so. It's been a good three years old buddy!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Car!

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 322,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, fun to drive, dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great gas mileage, dependable, bought new and have over 322,000 miles on it with no motor or transmission work ever on it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

i love my car

By on Wednesday, February 8, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned this car since 1999 (13yrs!) while the paint is peeling off on the exterior, the car is most reliable, has never left me stranded, great mileage. i get about 300 miles/gallon and more if it's more highway. i have to part with it b/c having a baby and 1 thing is me ok in this old car but another is a baby. otherwise, i would keep it forever. i would love to give it to someone in need of a relic that can provide the car with tlc."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 29, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

She's Been a Wonderful Car!

By on Thursday, January 14, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Had this car since new in '97 and has been great. One small wreck in '99 only dinged up the front bumper and was inexpensive to fix. It's now at 132,000 miles and still running well, though starting to have little things go out on it here and there. Given the way I've driven it through high school and college I'm amazed that it's done so well!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Quality car

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"My sentra has 93k miles and NO MAJOR PROBLEMS what so ever, just regular oil changes brakes rotors and tires"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car Value

By on Thursday, January 29, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I purchased 1 yr ago w/ 120k miles. 153k now. gr8!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice little gas getter

By on Friday, June 20, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this car w/ 110000 miles. Got 29 mpg. Put in new plugs and K&N filter and its getting 39.66mpg. If the tranny and timing chain hold it will pay for itself in gas savings in about 2 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Got Lucky

By on Sunday, May 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this Nissan from a private owner as a 2nd car to save on gas. I have had it almost three years and other than brakes and CV joints and routine maintenance this car has been the most dependable gas saver I have ever owned. I have had many cars over the years and I swear this is the most reliable, comfortable car I have ever had. I don't want to ever part with it. I have about 175,000 miles on it and it runs like new. I wish I would have bought a Nissan years ago. Best of all I only paid $1500.00 and that was 3 years ago. I don't know how many miles I get to a gallon put it has to be a least 40. I LOVE MY NISSAN."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car for a smaill budget

By on Thursday, May 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 1999 Nissan Sentra brand new. It is the most reliable car I've ever known. I have only had to replace brake pads, tires and just last year the water pump. I just made 100,000 miles and even though I would like to buy a newer fancier car, I will not be trading this one in. With today's economy the gas mileage is outstanding."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, April 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my sentra for 6 years. I have put maybe $1200 into her maintenence and 1/2 of that was for basic tuneups over the years. I highly reccommend a Sentra."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love Nissans!

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my 99 Nissan Sentra SE for 140,000 miles, and it has hardly had any major problems nor required any major tune-ups. I love these cars because, unlike EVERY American car I have owned, this one will last way beyond 200,000 miles. I have never gotten an American made vehicle past 120,000. I strongly suggest Nissans, though the Maxima tends to have transmission problems and the Sentra does not seem to have such issues."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very Reliable

By on Sunday, March 16, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Like the title said, this is a very reliable car. I live in Alaska and this car starts up with no problems in the negative degree weather. The only thing i don't like about this car is the interior. The seats aren't very comfortable and everything is made out a cheap feeling plastic. Thats my only complaint about this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

nissan shift

By on Thursday, February 28, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"i just bought my nissan it is a very smooth ride and fun to drive"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Saturday, February 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I can take this car anywhere!! It has not given me any major problems. The extent of the problems it has given me would amount up to less than any other car. One thing I have trouble with is the power window motors, they are slow and stop working. Otherwise this is a great car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement