Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 229 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

very dependable

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,530

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "great gas mileage. if you do maintenance will last"

Cons: "maintenance will kill the pocketbook."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"If you can deal with the Nissan dealers prices then this car will be a good car. However, there is no grace from the dealer when it comes to prices of maintenance. I will also tell you not very many people know how to work on a nissan.. I have been to the other guys and they have cost me more than I save.... buyer beware of the maintenance."

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

My first and only car for over 13 years now.

By on Tuesday, June 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been with me thru my teens, twenties and now thirties, and its still getting 30 mpg. However, it is showing its age now. The air conditioner isn't working, and the headliner is falling down. Sadly, I think its time to get something else."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my Sentra

By on Saturday, May 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

He is a work in Progress!

"My first official car turned out to be my lil Sentra and I love him <3 He takes me everywhere and makes sure I get there safe. Only had one problem and it was overheating because I needed to replace the radiator and water pump. And yet it still got me home that day. I will never rid of it!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

He is a work in Progress!

Love this car!

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Great MPG, Cheap Matience,"

Cons: "No remote access."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's been such a good car for being 15 years old! Only broken down once on me, and i just had to replace the alternator. It has given me trust in Nissan. I get great mileage as well."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car for the price!

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 267,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable car"

Cons: "parts are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really do love this car and would hate to part with it. Have kept it up as much as monetarily possible. It is very reliable and still great on gas. Interior and exterior still look good. I could stand to wash it more. It is a great car and should I get another it will be a Nissan."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable trasportation and daily driver.

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, easy to maintain"

Cons: "auto transmission could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought new, never had any problems. Easy to maintain - filter access, no timing belt to worry about, etc. Sporty handling, though the factory shocks were too soft. The biggest gripe is with the auto transmission. Third gear is too close to fourth (only about a 500 rpm difference), so now you are left with a giant gap between second and third. Basically you are driving a three speed transmission. Also, it tends to up shift too early, so you are lugging it all the time. Get the five speed manual if you can."

Great first vehicle for any new driver!

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good in winter with the right tires and is very comfortable for lengthy drives. My car was in rough shape when I got it and needed some TLC, but once it was all fixed up it runs great, even with high mileage. It also gets good gas mileage, a good first car for any new driver. Sadly, I will be saying goodbye to my Nissan in the next month or so. It's been a good three years old buddy!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Car!

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 322,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, fun to drive, dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great gas mileage, dependable, bought new and have over 322,000 miles on it with no motor or transmission work ever on it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

i love my car

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned this car since 1999 (13yrs!) while the paint is peeling off on the exterior, the car is most reliable, has never left me stranded, great mileage. i get about 300 miles/gallon and more if it's more highway. i have to part with it b/c having a baby and 1 thing is me ok in this old car but another is a baby. otherwise, i would keep it forever. i would love to give it to someone in need of a relic that can provide the car with tlc."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great frst car

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have only bought a new alternator for it for the whole five years that i have owned it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals