Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 224 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

good dependable car

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great on gas"

Cons: "just a bit on the small side if your 6' or bigger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned 4 sentra's and have never had a problem with them. Very dependable cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Recommending you to buy 1 either New or Used

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Extremely Reliable"

Cons: "seats are alittle too firm but still comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car used and with Normal Maintance will pass car to my teen with in the year. I have NEVER had this car break down or leave me standed. I recommend anyone and everyone to buy a Sentra if you want a car that doesnt need to go to the shop and that you can truely rely on. Mia"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Marvelous car; has served me extremely well.

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "cup holders skinny, fenders catch dirt in dip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Buying used cars means not having a whole world of choices. I had no experience with Nissan Sentras though I've owned a small Nissan pickup. I have been completely satisfied with this car, amazed at its excellent gas mileage, and have had no repairs other than the ones consistent with a car which is now 13 years and 170,000 miles old. Great value, great car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car

By on Friday, December 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"original owner. awesome little car. i plan on driving till the wheels fall off. never given me problems, outside of regular wear"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"reliable and gas efficient."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable ride

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price, excellent reliability, fuel efficient"

Cons: "basic suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

1998 nissan sentra GXE 4DR

"I have had my 1998 Nissan Sentra GXE 4DR for the past four years and put almost 40K miles into it. I have spent almost nothing other than for new tires and regular oil checks. Safe vehicle, particularly for students with its airbags, nice brakes and good ride. Affordable, fuel-efficient, safe, and fun-to-drive. 1 Sentra!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

1998 nissan sentra GXE 4DR

The Sentra!

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Gas milage, realiability, over all value"

Cons: "Not a lot of power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Rain or Shine, she's ready to drive

"I have owned my car for 12 years now. I bought the car in 1999 with 16k miles on it. Now, twelve years later, its still alive and kicking! This car has been nothing but reliable and a pleasure to drive. Although it is a touch slow with the 1.6 liter GXE version that I have, the gas milage and over all value is great. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone along with most of the Nissan line up."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Rain or Shine, she's ready to drive

unstopable!

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"rips through snow and runs forever also very quick"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very fast and reliable car.

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"too small for a 210lb. driver 6 feet tall."

I love my old Sentra, it just won't die!

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has to be one of the most robust well made cars. I've driven my old Sentra since I was 16, and my older brother did before me. This car got me through high school, college, and work life. We're at over 200,000 miles, and aside from the regualr maintenance and minor repair jobs, this car has never had any thing major go wrong. Some how it just keeps on going..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car...

By on Wednesday, October 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had it for 14 years now and can't bring myself to part with it. It's been the best little car ever!!! Consumer Report rates it as one of the best in its price range. You won't go wrong with this year, make, model. It's been a gem."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love my lil nissan

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price, easy to drive"

Cons: "cup holders kind of interfer with radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I hasve owned this car for about 4yrs now, when I bought it, it was a one owner car, and only 75k miles on it.. it has been great for me. I get 36mpg, even though there is a lil rust on it.. I love it.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

definitely got my money's worth

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, very reliable"

Cons: "no intermittent wipers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 1999 Nissan Sentra GXE. I bought it new with 14 miles on it. It now has 240,000 and I still drive it 80 miles a day to work. Other than tires and a few minor things (new heating element, headlight, timing belt) I haven't had any problems. It isn't a Lexus by any means, but if youre looking for good gas mileage and reliability, you can't beat it. I just bought a 2012 Sentra--am hoping it gets me to retirement!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great for me

By on Friday, August 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,089

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas mileage, thing can't be killed"

Cons: "no extras, doesn't take to cassette adapters to well, visors broke but after 10yrs of service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car when it was 1 yr old and I had just graduated from driving school. I used it all through out high school and my collegiate career. Granted, it kind of stunk in college when everyone I knew had a Benz, BMW, GT, or just a new model vehicle, here I was in my ole realiable. This car will never be called "fancy", there's 2 front seats and a backseat that seats 3. The interior is bland. It has a solid AC, heat, and a radio. Therefore, it's enough for me. Was paid it off long ago and decided to keep it because it gets great gas mileage in a $4 a gallon economy and run it in until my maintenance is more than my gas. Had a few problems with the battery, the engine overheating, the motor on the passenger window, visors, and a few flat tires but all those were fairly easy fixes. It's even been hit side on in a vehcile accident but with good insurance and a great body detalier, it was brought back to life. Again, gas mileage is awesome, it's a nice little compact car, comfortable enough for to and from the office, and for Saturday excursions all over town. It won't turn heads or impress anyone but then again you can always start it and know it's going to get you home."

25 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Extremely Reliable

By on Sunday, July 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Body style"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very low price Very reliable (when I got it, I could tell it had not been well maintained but it still ran beautifully. topped off all the fluids and really I don't have to worry about something going wrong with it) Not the best looking car as you can see from the pictures. It does have a spoiler that fits the body well and the wheels/tires fit the body design as well. The interior seems very durable, not the best looking - but by no means, the worst. Someone put in a review earlier that you could not lay down the back seats, but you actually can, there are little rings you pull in the rear deck of the car and that releases the seats. The original stereo system is one of the better "OEM" sound systems I have heard. It has 2 6 3/4" speakers in the front doors and 2 more in the rear deck. The low end frequency makes my rear-view mirror shake and the higher tones are crisp when at a low volume. The head unit (what you use to control the stereo up front) is double-din (the largest size) It has a clock, radio, and a single cd player. There are 6 customizable radio presets, 2 band equalizer (able to turn the bass and treble up or down) along with the ability to fade the sound back, front, left, or right. It is very generic - nothing special. I recommend buying a new head-unit and having a car stereo technician installing it. Because the original is double-din, you can buy a single din and get a bracket to make it fit, or you can buy the double-din size and have a larger screen. The engine (GA16DE) is 16 valve - 1.6L V4 with twin-cam and variable timing solenoid. The engine obviously does not have much displacement or power but the performance is if nothing else, surprising. There is decent throttle response. Good acceleration from an economy engine built to save gas. It accepts after-market modifications very well, so if you wanted to put new headers or a short ram intake, the application would be simple. Many people use this engine for "tuner" cars because of its smooth power-band (balanced acceleration from low RPMs to high RPMs) The engine idles at around 850 - 1050rpm and redlines at 6800 although the highest rpm I have seen from it was 6200. The gas mileage I see from normal driving habits is about 28MPG but when driving more aggressively it drops to about 25 and when driving for fuel economy, it jumps to around 30. Has all the electrical amenities, power windows, steering, brakes, etc. This car is perfect for a new driver. Cheap so its not a big deal for dings and scratches but still a good car that will perform reliably and is easily upgradable if they decide to keep if for a few years and want a little more from it. It is also a good car for someone who drives a gas guzzler or is in need of a secondary car for whatever reason. This car isn't meant to impress or wow anybody; its meant to be a solid performer that is enjoyable to drive but cheap enough that you don't have to take a huge insurance policy out on it."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

good for college

By on Tuesday, May 03, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

"My parents bought this car brand new in '99, and have always taken pretty good care of it. It gets great gas mileage, and I've only ever had minor problems with it, such as oil leaks and a bad starter. Not much to boast in terms of performance, but not a big deal if you don't care about not being able to go 0-60 in 3 seconds. It's just a good reliable car that meets all the needs of a college kid."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

nissan 98'

By on Friday, April 15, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"This car has been an awsome car, im in need of a newer car and want another nissan, very dependable car!"

By on Monday, April 11, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, April 07, 2011

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, March 25, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

the very best car ever

By on Sunday, February 27, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i bought thes new and have all of the srevice records---gets 21/30 mph"

'99 Nissan Sentra GXE

By on Friday, February 25, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

"We've had this vehicle for over 10 years and it's still running really well, it has a great engine, it's at about 144k miles atm. It hasn't needed any major repairs yet. It could probably handle another 5-10 years. Fairly reliable vehicle imo."

best car i ever owned

By on Thursday, February 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"this car has never let me down....and over the years i did'nt treat the car that good....it does have somewhat of an electical issue ...tail lights quit working which wasnt a cheap fix for a mech. to do but if u know anything about wiring u can chase the problem down yourself....i would definatly own another nissan"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, February 14, 2011

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, February 14, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals