Go

1997 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 232 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

Excellent starter car.

By on Wednesday, March 10, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I got my '98 Nissan Sentra in 2002. It's survived deers, ditches, berms and parking garage girders. It has been an exceedingly reliable vehicle, has great gas mileage a decent interior and modest cargo room. I am very happy with this car. Its only flaws are, moderate road noise, the interior will fog up if you are not continually fiddling with the defroster and poor acceleration. Which is probably the biggest flaw. If I died in this car it would be because I could not accelerate while merging. But.. This poor acceleration is perfect for learning drivers and should prevent any sort of (successful) racing unless your child is a gearhead. Thus, Excellent starter car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best investment, by far!

By on Wednesday, September 30, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is the first and only car I've ever purchased/owned. I purchased this 1996 model with less than 9,000 miles back in 1997 and it's still going strong (2009). It won't take anyone off the line, but it wasn't a slouch on the Autobahn either. Whether driving in the city (e.g., D.C.) or highway, she's consistently stayed between 35 to 40 mpg, saving me hundreds of dollars on gas every year. Over the past 12 years, I've only had to make minor repairs like replacing the brakes and tuning up the transmission. By far, the greatest investment I've made in my life!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A Winner

By on Monday, August 24, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car in 1999 with 35,000 miles I now have 181,000 miles on it and the motor runs like the day i bought it.regular routine maintenace.It's a fantastic car.I had a Ford tempo before this that I bought new.It was at the dealers for repairs more times than it was in my driveway.Thanks Nissan."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car for the Money

By on Sunday, August 09, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car off the lot for $12K in 1997. Since then I have had only to replace:alternator, wheel bearing on the left side and both drive axles. Did I mention I have 183K miles on it!!! This car was a gem. It regularly gets 40 mpg plus on the highway with the A/C on going 75mph. Nissan hit the target on this one. The only draw back is that it's not the most comfortable car in the world but I don't want to sound like I'm complaining. I would buy another Nissan tomorrow if I needed a new car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Owned for 8 years

By on Monday, June 22, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Has been a great car. Very reliable, still getting over 30 MPG. Drove to and from Canada in 2008."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nissan Sentra 1997

By on Saturday, June 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Excellent value, great gas milage"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

86 years old best ever

By on Thursday, December 04, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"owned since jan.2000.bought new as a 1999 hold over.never had a prolem.best car with the most extras ever owned .plus good gas millage"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Bed Rock

By on Monday, August 25, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"Fred Flinstone can accelerate faster,and his feet are probably more attracive. However the MPG and mechanical reliability is amazing. I have 173,xxx miles and cannot remember the last time I took it in for repairs."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever!

By on Saturday, March 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I acquired my ‘96 GXE from a friend in 2002 - making me the 3rd owner. This car was a dream, I mean it wasn't the most stylish car or the fastest, but it needed very little work, just the basics - breaks only once, it drove from ND to NV, NV to NH and many trips from ME to NH & ME to MA. I owned it for 6 years and it never failed me - unfortunately it was totaled in a recent accident and now I'm left looking for a new car- so far no car compares! I don’t know what I’m going to do with out it! I would recommend this car to any one and anyone who has one, just take care of it and it will take good care of you! On a side note, I was hit almost head on by a Prius and my Sentra held up pretty good in the accident, walked away with only bruises from the air bags. That car served me well! In the end she had 120,000 miles and was still going strong. She did her job & did it good!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

97 nissian just keeps going

By on Thursday, February 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my '97 Sentra GXE used in '98 with 35,000 miles on it and it has been very dependable and reliable. I now have 245,000 miles on it and it continues to meet every need. I have change the oil every 3-4k miles. rotated tires every 5k. the only problem I have ever had is after 230,000 miles it developed a small oil leak and the alternator has been rebuilt twice. not an issue for any car with 245,000 miles. This car has mae me a NISSAN fan for life. I will drive it until it gives out but as of right now it shows no signs of that. I will keep you posted/"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement