Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1997 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 231 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

By on Monday, April 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my sentra for 6 years. I have put maybe $1200 into her maintenence and 1/2 of that was for basic tuneups over the years. I highly reccommend a Sentra."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love Nissans!

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my 99 Nissan Sentra SE for 140,000 miles, and it has hardly had any major problems nor required any major tune-ups. I love these cars because, unlike EVERY American car I have owned, this one will last way beyond 200,000 miles. I have never gotten an American made vehicle past 120,000. I strongly suggest Nissans, though the Maxima tends to have transmission problems and the Sentra does not seem to have such issues."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very Reliable

By on Sunday, March 16, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Like the title said, this is a very reliable car. I live in Alaska and this car starts up with no problems in the negative degree weather. The only thing i don't like about this car is the interior. The seats aren't very comfortable and everything is made out a cheap feeling plastic. Thats my only complaint about this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

nissan shift

By on Thursday, February 28, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"i just bought my nissan it is a very smooth ride and fun to drive"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Saturday, February 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I can take this car anywhere!! It has not given me any major problems. The extent of the problems it has given me would amount up to less than any other car. One thing I have trouble with is the power window motors, they are slow and stop working. Otherwise this is a great car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

'Ol Reliable

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my '99 Sentra SE in 2002 used and have loved the car. Other than usual maintenence stuff, I really haven't had any major problems with it. It has began to creak the last year or so, but it's just starting to show it's age is all. If you can find a low-mileage one used... I'd scoop it up!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very Reliable!

By on Thursday, January 10, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I deliver pizzas 4 aliving. This is very hard on aa vehihicle, I have only had to replace the brakes on this car! It Rocks"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my sentra

By on Tuesday, November 27, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I own a Sentra SE with the 2.0 engine, 5 speed manual. This car has no problems on power or speed. It also gives me about 29m/g in the city and 32 m/g on freeway. Try to beat that!!! Own this car since new in April 1998. I've only replaced the alternator and starter on it. 181,000 miles and still got another 200k to go. I would recommend this car to anybody. Love my sentra."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid car

By on Monday, November 26, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"My wife and I bought our 96 nissan sentra new. It now has 157,500 miles. It has proven to be a tough car with good bones. Never had problems with Engine or Manual Transmission (i guess you don't have probs with this). The Air Conditioning still works without performing any major maintenance. Complaints include the Emissions System. Since 2003, the car has suffered through various device failures. Speed sensor, exhaust recirc valve, throttle position valve, etc. I cannot keep the check engine light off for more than 4 months or so. The car keeps on driving fine, but this has proven to be an obnoxious nuiscence. I have had to replace the starter recently (around 153k miles) and the cooling fans around same time. Gone through CV joints (which is typical for front wheel drive cars). Otherwise, I simply have done the most minimal of preventative maintenance (oil changes, brakes, tires, etc). Oh, yeah, and poor car has been through a few collisions. Got rear-ended fairly badly and one minor front bumper bump. It has basically lived most of its life outdoors and in some industrial environments. This has killed the pain job. In my opinion, it isn't the prettiest car in the world, either. But, all in all, the car just keeps on running. This has been to my amazement, in fact. It runs smoothly, efficiently (still 30 MPG in city), and drive-train has been solid. I would recommend this car as a good car for a first time driver or a "work" car. If you shop around you should be able to get value for this vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, October 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have been driving this car for 9 years with absolutely no problems at 160,000 miles. Would recommend to anyone."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

just keeps running,& running.....

By on Tuesday, October 09, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Most reliable car ever. 40mpg hwy. 1 breakdown was alternator at 200k..Keeps on running just change oil. Not the most comfortable ride but still the best money I've ever spent on a car.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

an excellent starter car

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"a very reliable car. I used to travel Maryland/North Carolina 5-6 times in the last two years with this 8 years old car, and I never had any mechanical problems. Gas mileage is good and accelerations on highways are also good. Great for the first car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great frst car

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have only bought a new alternator for it for the whole five years that i have owned it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good dependable car

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great on gas"

Cons: "just a bit on the small side if your 6' or bigger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned 4 sentra's and have never had a problem with them. Very dependable cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"reliable and gas efficient."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

unstopable!

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"rips through snow and runs forever also very quick"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love my lil nissan

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price, easy to drive"

Cons: "cup holders kind of interfer with radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I hasve owned this car for about 4yrs now, when I bought it, it was a one owner car, and only 75k miles on it.. it has been great for me. I get 36mpg, even though there is a lil rust on it.. I love it.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car i ever owned

By on Thursday, February 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"this car has never let me down....and over the years i did'nt treat the car that good....it does have somewhat of an electical issue ...tail lights quit working which wasnt a cheap fix for a mech. to do but if u know anything about wiring u can chase the problem down yourself....i would definatly own another nissan"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Old Faithful!!

By on Friday, February 11, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought this car new Jan 1999. Have had it for 12 years. Only had to replace battery once. Just recently have to repair heat/ac. but this car has has always been reliable. I love it more than my money pit escalade."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Still going strong

By on Wednesday, September 08, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"250,000 miles, this car hasn't needed anything except a battery and an alternator under the hood, and the alternator wasn't replaced until 240K. I asked the local dealership to FIND things wrong with it and they couldn't. I expect this car to run another 100-150K miles easily. Not a powerful sports car, but quite zippy. Has no problems merging into heavy interstate traffic. A great car all around!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Truck or Car?

By on Friday, July 16, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had this car since '98 (yes first owner) and it has been with me everywhere. I've crossed the country a couple times, used it to move from apartment to apartment and after 140,000 miles it still runs good. I affectionately refer to it as my truck as I've hauled so much in the trunk and back seat. I've never had a major mechanical issue with the car and look forward to a few more years with it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I like my car

By on Thursday, March 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had this car for almost six years. Wrecked it a month after purchase on a rainy mountain road with loose gravel. I had to replace most of the front end; axel, front right tire, rim, quarter panel, brakes, etc.. Thanks to an insurance mix-up I had to pay for all of it out of pocket-around $2600. Couldn't afford to replace the airbags. I've had to give it routine oil changes, tune-ups, and tires. Had one problem with a censor somewhere under the hood a few years back, but that was an easy fix and not a vital problem to begin with. No problems other then that. Don't really like the limit on trunk space, but it's not a big issue. Over all an excellent car and will probably drive it to death before I replace it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very good car

By on Saturday, November 07, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have this car for 15years it has been a good car. I have replaced the starter, 5 speed trany and thermostat only. Way to go Nissan."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, August 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 24, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals