Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 224 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

Reliable trasportation and daily driver.

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, easy to maintain"

Cons: "auto transmission could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought new, never had any problems. Easy to maintain - filter access, no timing belt to worry about, etc. Sporty handling, though the factory shocks were too soft. The biggest gripe is with the auto transmission. Third gear is too close to fourth (only about a 500 rpm difference), so now you are left with a giant gap between second and third. Basically you are driving a three speed transmission. Also, it tends to up shift too early, so you are lugging it all the time. Get the five speed manual if you can."

Great first vehicle for any new driver!

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good in winter with the right tires and is very comfortable for lengthy drives. My car was in rough shape when I got it and needed some TLC, but once it was all fixed up it runs great, even with high mileage. It also gets good gas mileage, a good first car for any new driver. Sadly, I will be saying goodbye to my Nissan in the next month or so. It's been a good three years old buddy!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Car!

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 322,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, fun to drive, dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great gas mileage, dependable, bought new and have over 322,000 miles on it with no motor or transmission work ever on it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

i love my car

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned this car since 1999 (13yrs!) while the paint is peeling off on the exterior, the car is most reliable, has never left me stranded, great mileage. i get about 300 miles/gallon and more if it's more highway. i have to part with it b/c having a baby and 1 thing is me ok in this old car but another is a baby. otherwise, i would keep it forever. i would love to give it to someone in need of a relic that can provide the car with tlc."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great frst car

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have only bought a new alternator for it for the whole five years that i have owned it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good dependable car

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great on gas"

Cons: "just a bit on the small side if your 6' or bigger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned 4 sentra's and have never had a problem with them. Very dependable cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Recommending you to buy 1 either New or Used

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Extremely Reliable"

Cons: "seats are alittle too firm but still comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car used and with Normal Maintance will pass car to my teen with in the year. I have NEVER had this car break down or leave me standed. I recommend anyone and everyone to buy a Sentra if you want a car that doesnt need to go to the shop and that you can truely rely on. Mia"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Marvelous car; has served me extremely well.

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "cup holders skinny, fenders catch dirt in dip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Buying used cars means not having a whole world of choices. I had no experience with Nissan Sentras though I've owned a small Nissan pickup. I have been completely satisfied with this car, amazed at its excellent gas mileage, and have had no repairs other than the ones consistent with a car which is now 13 years and 170,000 miles old. Great value, great car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car

By on Friday, December 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"original owner. awesome little car. i plan on driving till the wheels fall off. never given me problems, outside of regular wear"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"reliable and gas efficient."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals