Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1996 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 223 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Very reliable vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 08, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I brought the 99 Sentra used in 2000. Served me very well for 10 years and still runs great. Never had any major issues, never got stranded on the road. Regular oil change, maintenance and normal wear tear is all that I had to worry about. And great on gas mileage too. Averaged around 29-31 miles per gallon."

great car

By on Tuesday, February 08, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"i have had this car for 16 years and its only had very minor problems its a great car and it drives great."

By on Tuesday, January 11, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Needs better cupholders"

By on Friday, January 07, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Mom's old car

By on Friday, December 31, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I received this car from my mother who bought it new. And I love it. It's small and has enough zip and zoom to it. Yes I have run into occasional problems with it. But with any cars that age, almost anyone will run into problems. But overall its a good car."

Good highschool/college/first job commuter car

By on Sunday, October 31, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

"It's not the prettiest, or fastest, or the most comfortable, but honestly it's a decent little car. If you want a reliable, cheap to operate, and easy to maintain vehicle, get one of these cars. Also, it does better in the snow than one would think..."

Most reliable vehicle in the world

By on Monday, September 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned this car for 9 years and have 246,000 miles on it - it remains the car that all of my friends borrow when their newer and fancier cars break down. This car has been extremely low maintenance since my purchase in 2001-oil changes and tune ups and its good to go."

Still going strong

By on Wednesday, September 08, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"250,000 miles, this car hasn't needed anything except a battery and an alternator under the hood, and the alternator wasn't replaced until 240K. I asked the local dealership to FIND things wrong with it and they couldn't. I expect this car to run another 100-150K miles easily. Not a powerful sports car, but quite zippy. Has no problems merging into heavy interstate traffic. A great car all around!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 29, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Truck or Car?

By on Friday, July 16, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had this car since '98 (yes first owner) and it has been with me everywhere. I've crossed the country a couple times, used it to move from apartment to apartment and after 140,000 miles it still runs good. I affectionately refer to it as my truck as I've hauled so much in the trunk and back seat. I've never had a major mechanical issue with the car and look forward to a few more years with it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, July 11, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Car ows me nothing!

By on Thursday, May 27, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car in 2002 with 41K miles for $6000. It now has 238,000 miles and runs great without burning oil! The front main seal did cause an oil leak for awhile, but if you are at all handy it only took 45 min and $15 to replace. The hood and headlights get changed occasionally with the help of the local deer, but other than that the clutch is the only major work ever done! I have changed tires, brakes and basic wear parts many times but that is just maintenance. I wouldn't hesitate to jump in it now for a long trip. My biggest complaint is probably bad cup holders (picky I know but it matters) and limited power with the 1.6L. On the positive side the gas mileage had been 32 mpg with combination city/hwy driving. It also handled very well in the NY winter snow for a small 2WD. Highly recommended car if oil and maintenance was kept up. I bet mine makes it to 300K at least, assuming 4 legged critters allow it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Monday, May 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

IT'S MY SENTLY

By on Friday, March 26, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my Sentra XE for 11 years this month. I bought it in 99 and it had 11 miles on it. It currently has over 130,000 and it still going strong! It survived one major wreck and 2 small ones and keeps on going. I have only had to do regular maintenance and had the condenser fan replaced which cost approx $130. I got married last year and now driving a Honda Element because my new husband drives further to work and my Sentra gets so much better gas mileage. The only thing I don't miss about it is that it is a 5 speed and I am sure there is more traffic out now then 11 years ago so I do enjoy the automatic. Excellent car!"

I like my car

By on Thursday, March 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had this car for almost six years. Wrecked it a month after purchase on a rainy mountain road with loose gravel. I had to replace most of the front end; axel, front right tire, rim, quarter panel, brakes, etc.. Thanks to an insurance mix-up I had to pay for all of it out of pocket-around $2600. Couldn't afford to replace the airbags. I've had to give it routine oil changes, tune-ups, and tires. Had one problem with a censor somewhere under the hood a few years back, but that was an easy fix and not a vital problem to begin with. No problems other then that. Don't really like the limit on trunk space, but it's not a big issue. Over all an excellent car and will probably drive it to death before I replace it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent starter car.

By on Wednesday, March 10, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I got my '98 Nissan Sentra in 2002. It's survived deers, ditches, berms and parking garage girders. It has been an exceedingly reliable vehicle, has great gas mileage a decent interior and modest cargo room. I am very happy with this car. Its only flaws are, moderate road noise, the interior will fog up if you are not continually fiddling with the defroster and poor acceleration. Which is probably the biggest flaw. If I died in this car it would be because I could not accelerate while merging. But.. This poor acceleration is perfect for learning drivers and should prevent any sort of (successful) racing unless your child is a gearhead. Thus, Excellent starter car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this sentra!

By on Monday, March 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had this car for 7 years. Bought in 03 with 48,000 miles on it and thought I hit the jackpot. All we have had to replaceis distributr cap and front axles. Giving I drive like a bat out of he and hit curbs etc and take it four wheeling this is a perfect car for a woman. I am going to give this car to my mom and am sad to see it go when I get my new car this week. I always said I would drive it until the doors fall off and think I will cry. My dad and step brother backed into it and it did minor damage. Also did well thru two hail storms. can't beat this car except the cup holders in same area as ashtray."

By on Thursday, February 04, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

She's Been a Wonderful Car!

By on Thursday, January 14, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Had this car since new in '97 and has been great. One small wreck in '99 only dinged up the front bumper and was inexpensive to fix. It's now at 132,000 miles and still running well, though starting to have little things go out on it here and there. Given the way I've driven it through high school and college I'm amazed that it's done so well!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good vehicle so far....

By on Saturday, January 02, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"i purchased this vehicle (99 gxe model)approximately 6 months ago,when i bought it i knew that the axles had to be replaced and i also knew that this model did not have a timing belt,it actually has a chain.for those of you who dont know this is good because you dont have to worry about your timing belt snapping on you and losing your engine.i gave the car a complete tune-up and so far runs like a baby,very good production year."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, December 13, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, November 18, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

very good car

By on Saturday, November 07, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have this car for 15years it has been a good car. I have replaced the starter, 5 speed trany and thermostat only. Way to go Nissan."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, November 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Awesome Vehicle

By on Monday, October 05, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 97 Nissan Sentra XE in 2004 and am the 2nd owner. It had 148,000 miles when I bought it and now has 227,300 miles and still going!?!?!?!? The interior looks horrible but thats due to three kids, I hit a deer at about 25mph (I slowed down as much as I could) and it only dented the hood slightly, broke the grill in half, and left a headlight dangling. This is my 2nd car and I didn't want to get it at first because it wasn't "pretty" but It will be with me forever now. It this car can handle my driving it can handle anyones. I tend to think its a four wheeler....lol Wouldn't trade "Ol' Bessie" for anything."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details