Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1995 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 223 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

The best car I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any major issues with this car. I have had it so long that I don't even remember what year I bought it (used). I even hate to sell it, but I have the opportunity to buy another used car with less than 100k miles, for a great price."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Gd running car. Power w/locks. Air and heat

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "taged up for 1year"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"some body work neede on doors."

check engine light(1997 nissan sentra

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,800

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "nice car, good gas"

Cons: "ck engine light"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I purchase car used 2012. 2 months later ck engine came on, place where I got it said just drive it will go off. NOT. Replace all the censor, battery, starter, alternator, why is the ck engine light is on. Had to replace axle on both sides. So, I'm thinking I got a lemon. Can with a Sony radio, very clean inside. It is low being that im tall. Not use to low cars.my 1989 Mazda 626 didn't give me any problems til 6 years after I had her. She was 25 years and I had her for 13 of those year before I let her go. Transmission went out."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great little car

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value, reliability"

Cons: "No trunk opener on the remote fob"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car new in 1999, and have had a great experience with it. Very reliable, peppy 4-cylinder."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

CHANGE YOUR TIMING CHAIN!

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 228,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great on gas, reliable"

Cons: "Small, weak car, front end issues are common"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car at 177K 4 years ago. Apparently this model often has front end issues, I ended up changing both front axles and a hub, which cost me the value of the vehicle, but after that everything was pretty good and reliable. It's a pathetic engine but that means awesome mileage and the car maneuvers very well. Mine had no power options of any kind, but was an automatic. Watch out though, apparently 98's switched mid-year between a timing belt and a timing chain,I had a chain, and that chain lasted me until I hit 228,000 miles. Then it snapped and completely WRECKED the engine. If only I had changed my chain, I'd still have this car for many more years!"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Runs Well Forever

By on Tuesday, January 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price and gas mileage, low maintenance costs"

Cons: "interior may seem cramped for larger people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used from the dealer with 5 miles on it for $10,000 in 1997. It was a dealer "perk" car that received no use. I've had it for over 16 years, and it has run like a champ consistently. Of course, regular maintenance is necessary, but I've never found it to be outrageously expensive. I have a very good and honest mechanic. Mine is certainly not a luxury car, it has only the standard features, but I believe this is the best car I've ever owned because it's so cheap-to-keep. I recently did a mileage test and found that after all these years (and 180,000+ miles), my car is still getting 40mpg on the highway. I'll definitely be looking to Nissan first for my next vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the best car i ever had as far as gas milage

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its great"

been run hard treated bad still runs great.tough c

By on Sunday, November 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 232,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "gas milage.small but roomy."

Cons: "tilt wheel.lacks power up hills."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"been run hard treated bad still runs great.tough cars."

Bought used at 80,000m

By on Sunday, October 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"It's low and small so the car handles great. thought it was a junker at $500, but is really fun to drive. og transmission works great-shifts smoothly, light rattling when car first idles. a lot of fun to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

convenient

By on Friday, September 27, 2013

I don't own this car

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Runs well. Needs a paint job and electric window doesn't work. 4 cylinder .standard."

Love this car!!

By on Wednesday, September 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 272,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Only minor repairs, great gas mileage, zippy!"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new 17 years ago! Wow, did I get my monies worth! It's a 5-speed and I've never had the clutch nor the transmission replaced. The car as only needed minor repairs. It has gotten as high as 45 mpg and typically 32 in town. It's a solid car. The best car I've ever owned!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Wednesday, December 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "even after 14 years she still rides smooth"

Cons: "there really weren't any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've taken great car of her.. and never has she let me down.. the only flaw she ever had was no interior lighting on the shifter.. she was always first off the line and really loves to crusie."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very nice worth buying

By on Tuesday, November 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "GREAT gas mileage, VERY Reliable and last forever!"

Cons: "Some common issues. Interior could use improvement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought with 140k miles. I picked it up for only 750$ manual transmission. These cars have common issues including a windshield wiper arm that stops working and sometimes a power steering pressure hose leak. Rear breaks last til about 150k. HVAC resistor module also goes out on these. Other then that these cars require very little maintenance and gets EXCELLENT gas mileage and go a lot longer than ANY american made (ford,dodge,GM) vehicle will go!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I would buy it again and again and...

By on Saturday, September 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "40mpg, enjoyable on long trips."

Cons: "Maybe a bit more power..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had minor issues with this car. I put almost 150,000 miles on it and put little money into it. It's easy to work on and parts are inexpensive. Very proud to own it."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

very dependable

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,530

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "great gas mileage. if you do maintenance will last"

Cons: "maintenance will kill the pocketbook."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"If you can deal with the Nissan dealers prices then this car will be a good car. However, there is no grace from the dealer when it comes to prices of maintenance. I will also tell you not very many people know how to work on a nissan.. I have been to the other guys and they have cost me more than I save.... buyer beware of the maintenance."

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

My first and only car for over 13 years now.

By on Tuesday, June 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been with me thru my teens, twenties and now thirties, and its still getting 30 mpg. However, it is showing its age now. The air conditioner isn't working, and the headliner is falling down. Sadly, I think its time to get something else."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my Sentra

By on Saturday, May 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

He is a work in Progress!

"My first official car turned out to be my lil Sentra and I love him <3 He takes me everywhere and makes sure I get there safe. Only had one problem and it was overheating because I needed to replace the radiator and water pump. And yet it still got me home that day. I will never rid of it!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

He is a work in Progress!

Love this car!

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Great MPG, Cheap Matience,"

Cons: "No remote access."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's been such a good car for being 15 years old! Only broken down once on me, and i just had to replace the alternator. It has given me trust in Nissan. I get great mileage as well."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car for the price!

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 267,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable car"

Cons: "parts are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really do love this car and would hate to part with it. Have kept it up as much as monetarily possible. It is very reliable and still great on gas. Interior and exterior still look good. I could stand to wash it more. It is a great car and should I get another it will be a Nissan."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable trasportation and daily driver.

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, easy to maintain"

Cons: "auto transmission could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought new, never had any problems. Easy to maintain - filter access, no timing belt to worry about, etc. Sporty handling, though the factory shocks were too soft. The biggest gripe is with the auto transmission. Third gear is too close to fourth (only about a 500 rpm difference), so now you are left with a giant gap between second and third. Basically you are driving a three speed transmission. Also, it tends to up shift too early, so you are lugging it all the time. Get the five speed manual if you can."

Great first vehicle for any new driver!

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good in winter with the right tires and is very comfortable for lengthy drives. My car was in rough shape when I got it and needed some TLC, but once it was all fixed up it runs great, even with high mileage. It also gets good gas mileage, a good first car for any new driver. Sadly, I will be saying goodbye to my Nissan in the next month or so. It's been a good three years old buddy!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Car!

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 322,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, fun to drive, dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great gas mileage, dependable, bought new and have over 322,000 miles on it with no motor or transmission work ever on it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

i love my car

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned this car since 1999 (13yrs!) while the paint is peeling off on the exterior, the car is most reliable, has never left me stranded, great mileage. i get about 300 miles/gallon and more if it's more highway. i have to part with it b/c having a baby and 1 thing is me ok in this old car but another is a baby. otherwise, i would keep it forever. i would love to give it to someone in need of a relic that can provide the car with tlc."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great frst car

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have only bought a new alternator for it for the whole five years that i have owned it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good dependable car

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great on gas"

Cons: "just a bit on the small side if your 6' or bigger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned 4 sentra's and have never had a problem with them. Very dependable cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details