Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1994 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 135 Ratings for the 1991 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

very reliable car

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "economy, easy to drive"

Cons: "some electrical charging problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought it last year 93,000. i hope they start making cars like these again"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

If you can find one, buy it.

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Mileage-cost to maintain-small for city parking."

Cons: "Hard to find a manual. It will only last forever."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 93' with 185,000mi for $500. It had been sitting for 6 mos. Jump started it and drove home and 3 mos later replaced the clutch, which had never been replaced. I should have made necessary rust repairs but I didn't have time. At 235,000 5yrs later, because of my neglect, I had to let her go. Purred like a kitten too, but the cops were getting to interested. HA HA! I knew alot of them from the pizza shop I delivered for. I made sure to get another one, 94'with 130000mi for $600. This one is 2dr coupe. I might mention both had manual transmissions, as I would never drive an automatic. I could drive this anywhere except on a soft-sand beach. I go everywhere and snicker at those gas-guzzling SUV's. I live in New England but snow is never an issue for me, I look forward to driving around in the storms. I'm a 43yr old guy with 25yrs of professional driving so I can't say everyone would have the same results as I have. I've done a lot of off-road with these as well. obviously not a 4wd but you would be surprised at what these can really do, I have never gotten stuck. The only, I guess you could say complaint, would be they are swayed by heavy cross winds but I find it fun. Again if you can find it, buy it. 91'-94'. You won't be disappointed."

Just Won't Die

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 268,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I received my Sentra in 1997 with 70K miles on it. It has now has 268,000 mi. It is one tough little car and one that will cruise down any road. I have the coupe version, which kind of looks like an older BMW 3 series. It has A/C, cruise, and power mirrors, which still all work today. Even the all the dash and control bulbs still work. Never had to replace any of them. Just the usual maintenance, oil, tires, fluids. One of the fuel injectors went bad at about 190K mi., which caused stuttering on acceleration. It was about a $200 fix. Thermostat went out around 200K mi. and so did the transmission. Which, was one of the biggest expense cost, it was $800 to replace. I'm sure if you went to a junk yard to part one, it would have been a lot cheaper. Other than that, the car refuses to die. I have left it sitting a couple of times for over a year. I just charge the battery and it fired right up, kind of like Frankenstein coming back to life. Over the years, it has become a great, reliable car that never left me stranded."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

this is a great dependable car.

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,523

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"this is a good running car, good gas milage, good comfortable,adjustable seats back and seat, and cruise control,heat and air,radio /w cd player."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Treat it right or not, it keeps going.

By on Wednesday, October 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,954

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cheap, reliable, fun to drive, unkillable."

Cons: "Small cup holders, backseat lacking."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car when I was 15, back in 2005. I've been through 7 different vehicles since, and the Sentra has beaten all of them every step of the way. Back when I was a teenager, I drove like every teenager did: Awful. Speeding, tight turns, pedal to the floor, all of that. I was also insanely neglectful and unlucky. Here is a list of all the things that have happened to my Sentra: Oil change once a year (sometimes 2 years. Driving with handbrake until I could replace the actual brakes. Took a hill at 90mph with a 250lb passenger, went airborne, flew about 80 feet, crushed oil pan after bottoming out at the bottom of the hill. Lost oil pan plug 25 miles outside of town, drove to town anyway instead of calling a tow truck. Doing constant 180 degree turns on dirt roads. Backed in to by an old lady with a Cutlass who mixed the gas and brake pedals up. Let sit out in the sun for a year and a half while driving other vehicles. There are definitely more awful things I have done to my car, but you get the idea. I want you to fully understand that I am the person who kills cars, and this thing refuses to die. Besides usual things (Brakes, tires, oil), I've only ever replaced the CV joints and some brake lines. Total, I may have sunk $500.97 in actual repairs over a course of 8 years. Every time I have taken it to a mechanic, it checks out fine. The few parts I have replaced have been cheap. Fuel economy sits around 35+ on the Highway, which is good because I am broke. This is the car that you can put $5 in the tank and still go out around town. The air conditioner is the most powerful, coldest thing I have ever felt. No other car I have ever been in has had an A/C unit like this one. The car is essentially all windows, giving you amazing visibility all around. It's easier just to look to your side than it is to use your mirror, as you can see everything around you. Now, there are cons. Not many, but there are a few. The pullout cup holders were designed in the 90's, which means these things will only hold cans or small cups. Your 87 ounce sweet tea will have to go somewhere else. Think of it as this car trying to help you lose weight. The backseats are also designed more of a utility than a comfort. Do not expect to fit large people back there. Kindly offer them the front seat or something. Be tactful. Skinny people can ride in the back. The automatic shoulder seatbelts are a fun novelty, but they tend to go out. Fortunately they are covered under a lifetime warranty through Nissan, but they go out all the same. Lastly, the power can leave something to be desired. I used to be young, dumb, and stupid and would drive all over the place with the pedal flat. If you're looking to hot rod, you'll be disappointed. Every passenger added destroys the acceleration. Now that I'm just dumb and stupid though, power isn't an issue. This car will get you where you're going. You might not be the first there, but you're guaranteed to arrive. This car will never give you up or let you down. It is the Miyagi to your Daniel Larusso, the utility belt to your Batman, the Sancho Panza to your Don Quixote. It will follow you to the ends of the earth, and faithfully drive you back when you decide that the ends of the earth are boring and there's probably something good on TV right now. The '94 Sentra is such an amazing car that it is still being produced today in Mexico, under the name 'Tsuru'. Somewhat cheaper interior materials, but still being made. How can you ignore the savings? The efficiency? The legacy? I have been through a '65 Mustang, two '91 Geo Metro Convertibles, '04 PT Cruiser, '81 El Camino, '05 Mustang, and an '02 Elantra. And through all of these, the Sentra has always won and always kept running. I love this car, and always will. I will be buried in it so if I ever come back from the dead, I'm guaranteed to have a dependable car. Oh, and this particular model was manufactured in the US at Nissan's factory in Smyrna, TN. So you can rest easy knowing you're buying a product made in America, even if the badge is Japanese."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Monday, June 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, great visibility, dependable"

Cons: "That would be it - no cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this new and absolutely love this car. It has been very dependable, only has 98K miles on it, and mechanics are always asking me to sell them the car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

50 mpg highway, 30-35 in town!

By on Wednesday, February 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fabulous mileage, cheap to run and insure, cute"

Cons: "cheap interior except seats good, holds up well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"never had any other car comparable. got this 1993 nissan sentra e 2 door, fire engine red. cute as a bug! 214000 miles on engine, never an engine problem yet! replaced clutch recently, $750, some battery charging problems, not strongly built, but boy is it reliable and cheap to run! easy on gas, inexpensive insurance. actually clocked it at 50 mpg from michigan to chicago and back on the highway. couldn't believe it! there will always be money in your pocket driving it. people try to buy it from me all the time. 30-35 mpg in town. 10 gallon tank = 300+ miles. skirting rusted because i didn't have a garage, only a carport, but rest of car is okay. great in snow with michelin arctic tires and some ballast in the trunk."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

BEST CAR EVER

By on Sunday, October 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle new in 1992 as my first car and it has been with me through thick and thin and it continues to go. Other than regular scheduled maintenance and normal wear and tear components, my car has not given me any problems. I average 300 miles to one tank of gas."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Reliable!

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,777

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Easy to park. Awesome turning radius"

Cons: "Sm cp hld, man wdw and lck, stck intr is blah."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my Sentra for 6 years and it has been an extremely reliable car. Only problem was replacing the clutch which is expected after 15 years. Easy to park, fun to drive, quick to wash. Very small car with limited capacity but for a college kid it was a great car. I've been everywhere in this car and it has been reliable and steady on every trip. Now that I'm older and making a 3 hour commute each day this car is still holding up but it's almost time to retire the old friend."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Extremely Reliable

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great gas. Doesnt break down"

Cons: "Women hate it :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car as a 16 year old(8 years ago) I was neglectful as all kids are and the car is still going. I have driven coast to coast and all over the country. It is a ugly little car but the most economical and reliable vehicle I know of. I have owned a few used cars (mustang, Cadillac) and when they need major work I simply sold them off and dusted off the old Nissan from the back yard. Best car ever."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great First Car!

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, small"

Cons: "no middle console/extra storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first car and I've had it for over a year now. I wasn't very excited about the car when I got it but I have fallen in love with it. I haven't had any major problems with it and it's pretty easy to maintain the car. It drives great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good car, malicious mechanics

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,272

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good but old now"

Cons: "old and no mechanics who want to repair them well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this old car, I know is old, but I feel that with a good mechanic, it can last for good. I believe that this is a good car, but needs maintenance and care, with good mechanics and not the usual ones that want to fool a woman, this would be a nice, affordable and lasting car, despite its age."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great mpg, reliable

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price,mpg,runs good,quality built,leg room"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this car on feb 1 2011 for 100 bucks even though its worth more than that, and have put about 6000 miles on the car and everything is still original all ive had to change was the water pump and oil seal. they were due for change though because they still said nissan on them lol. i love this car wouldnt trade it for nothing."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great gas mileage and reliable car

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economical and reliable"

Cons: "no get up and go, especially difficult in altitude"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is not a fast car, but it has excellent mileage and has had practically no problems over the years (12 1/2 years as owner). I bought this car with 10,500 miles on it and have had to replace 2 CV boots, alternator, brakes, belts, an O2 sensor... the usual wear and tear stuff. I bought it for 7400 used and have put over 133,000 miles on it. It just keeps going...very little cost per mile...no signs of stopping now. I plan to keep it until I can pay cash for my next car--likely a similar compact, well-built reliable car as well."

Great on gas and super reliable

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good mpg, reliable"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i've owned this car since 30k miles on it and i now have 182k miles on it. during that time parts i had to replace were: alternator 2x, starter, fuel pump, battery 2x. solid solid car.. Transmission is starting to stick in second a bit but getting a full tranny service on it for $100 should clear that up. Great mpg and with bigger rims and tires it shreds corners."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My first car which was one of my best choices

By on Thursday, October 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable, strong motor and transmission"

Cons: "no middle storage dept, no space inside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car was my first car i bought it for $1000 and i've had the car for a year now. i've kept good care of this car with regular maintenance and checkups. Luckily my grandfather is a mechanic becuase i've hardly had to put any money into my car. I've gotten my $1000's worth. i am looking to get a new csr and i will keep my Sentra and maybe give it to my little brother. The only thing i can say i dont like is that the inside is small and there's no kind of middle storage department like other cars."

Great Car

By on Tuesday, September 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to repair, parts are cheap, great on gas"

Cons: "small cup holders, lower seat cushion is a bit hard and not comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had a lot of cars over the years, from new Porsches to Accords to Mini Coopers, and by far this has probably been the best and cheapest car to own, Very good on gas, parts are cheap and its easy to work on. I only paid $100 for it 4 years ago, it won't die on me, passes emissions and inspections with ease, I use it as a car to get to work, its never let me down, good in the snow. Only complaint, the seats are not the most comfortable, but I can live with it. It was a well built and designed cheap car, I love it. I wish I could find another some day with low miles."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

how can u beat walking?

By on Monday, September 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,200

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "not sensitive like newer model cars today, parts consider cheap if avail"

Cons: "no A/C sys, no garage or parking so bad body paint, rust runs fast,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"13 mi fr NYC, still have mine is 1990 2 dr silver got 12 yr ago,not perfect,leisure stop"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

bullet proof

By on Friday, September 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "cheap to fix, great gas mileage"

Cons: "ugly, old, and randomly has things wrong with it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This was my very first car and ive had it for 4 years now. I've had a few issues with it and it makes some crazy noises but for being so old, its a pretty reliable car. I wouldnt buy this car if i was picking something out because its ugly but its cheap to fix, cheap to drive (gas wise) and i feel like it will never break down."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

38 mpg

By on Wednesday, August 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Economical and reliable when properly maintained"

Cons: "Weird electrical hiccups coming on with age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car at 63560 miles for $3000 in '07. I now have 182000 miles on it in '11. I had some initial problems that were probably due to lack of exercise before I got it. Anyway, for a 50 yo woman, I work on it pretty successfully. But, yes, sometimes it helps to be a contorsionist! When I first got it I averaged about 35 mpg. When the injectors started going bad, mileage dropped to about 30 mpg. After replacing them, I average 38 mpg - no kidding."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best

By on Saturday, August 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"reliable"

its fair .

By on Sunday, August 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its dependale for me"

GETS ME AROUND TOWN

By on Wednesday, April 27, 2011

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

"THIS VEHICLE HAS RETAINED IT'S VALUE IN THE 4 YRS. I HAVE HAD IT. BUT AS FAR AS PICKUP AND MILEAGE...I FEEL LIKE BARNEY RUBBLE DRIVING A DINOSAUR ,GAS MILEAGE HAS BEEN POOR..AND IF I AM GOING UP IN ELEVATION...I NEED TO GET MY FEET TO THE GROUND & RUN 'EM ! ALL THAT ASIDE, IT HAS GOTTEN ME WHERE I NEED TO GO. ALWAYS A PLUS"

Decent car pain to work on

By on Tuesday, April 26, 2011

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
3/10

"Really decent car have had problems with the timing chain which is apparently a common problem, ridiculously hard to replace took me more then a few days and a whole lot of foul language"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, March 13, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals